We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best neighborhood restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O Escondidinho

O Escondidinho
Ranked #45 of 392 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the top of the hill behind the Tivoli Hotel. Small local family-run restaurant.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A little hard to find but it is worth it. Up the hill behind the bus station. You will share dinner with the locals and have some of the best fish ever! Very inexpensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    103
    25
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish, wine and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night, after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and it was everything we expected and more. Amazing choice of fresh fish, cooked to perfection. Free cold sardine starter was outstanding. We had 3 courses each with a litre of house wine, all for less than €40. We will definitely return before the end of the holiday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank supermunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden Württemberg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The very very Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

you will not find a better one!!! best Amejoas a Bolao Pato!!!!
Best Dourada! Best Beef! Best Mousse de Chocolate....an the Red Wine a DREAM

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing experience for so little!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

i was recommended that restaurant from the hotel i was staying. was told is a family run business. we had a long walk up and seen this small restaurant with pirate-dressed chef :-) we were not given the menus, just asked what fish we liked. was given aperitif and cold starter of sardines (excellent!!). then had some grilled fish(great!) lots of vinho verde, random talk with another guest, dessert and espresso/brandy. we loved it so much, we went back in there 2more times during our short visit! second time had monkfish kebab(omg!!) and third time had to be grilled sardines which are brought to the table freshly grilled until u say stop. all that served with amazing fresh salad, cooked potatoes and veggies.
that is exactly what u expect from seafood restaurant on your holidays.
staff amazingly friendly, busy place round 19-20. i think everyone should have this experience while in lagos!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must for visitors to Lagos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a great time we had here! The clientele feature tourists and locals, the atmosphere is briiliant. The service is very fun and relaxed, and the food is absolutely fantastic; the best fish and potatoes in Lagos for sure! Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Escondidinho also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to O Escondidinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing