We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food with friendly service - still great a year later!”

Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro
Ranked #9 of 405 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open for Lunch & Dinner Everyday.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“lovely food with friendly service - still great a year later!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We visited twice when we were here last year and came back for more this year. It's a small friendly family run restaurant and as all the food is freshly cooked to your order don't come if you are in a rush. However if you want a relaxing evening with good food and wine then make sure you book so as not to be disappointed. We are going back on Saturday for more of the same......

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pottypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    66
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Lagos”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place with good 'trilogie' options for you to try multiple flavours. We had the scallops (favourite), the cod (also amazing), and the salmon tartare (outstanding). Alex, the manager, was very helpful with his suggestions. Avoid the bread, not because it was bad, it wasn't, it's just that the rest of the food is so much better and you'd rather get full on the food and dessert.

Helpful?
2 Thank Shashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Decided to try this French restaurant on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. It's a tiny place near the old town walls and the fire station, but easily within walking distance of the main square, shops and cafés.
The waiter greeted us with a friendly welcome and was most helpful throughout the evening.
I had very good salmon tartare with fresh beetroot, avocado and dill and the smell of the fresh herb was wonderful. My husband was totally bowled over with his scallop starter. I tried some and it really was , without a doubt, the best scallop dish we've ever had- perfection on a plate! Mains were lamb and steak, both excellent. All dishes were beautifully presented.
We shared dessert- Death by Chocolate- the most wonderful chocolate soufflé with ice cream .
If I had the scallops and the dessert as my last meal on earth I would die very happy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefereeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find! A must if you're in Lagos!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

After reading the great reviews of this place, we made a reservation (highly recommended to avoid disappointment) and couldn't have wished for a nicer meal. The waiter was incredibly welcoming and knowledgable about the menu he created (as it is a family-run restuarant). The food was exquisite. Local wine was delicious. Service was professional and warm. To be fair, it's possibly a bit pricier than the other eateries available, but well worth the extra (which is still not that expensive)

A definite must if you're visiting Lagos - if we're ever back we will definitely be stopping here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow wow wowzers.. French delight!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The best meal we've had for a long time. A little out of the way of the centre but knpy by 5 minutes. However I think that its location allows the restaurant to concentrate on perfection with only a few tables to offer.

Alex the owner was the best host and was extremely helpful with my families dairy and nut intolerances.

A pleasure to have experienced and id recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam-Swagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing