We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a 5 stars hotel!”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stay only 2 nights in Vila Gale Lagos in end of August and we had been great days there. I think we have lucky because Hotel was not full.
We stay in a Junior suit with land view but next time we will stay with sea/pool view because pool and gardens are lovely. Junior suit has 1 room, separate living room, bathroom and balcony, very nice furniture, confortable beds, 2 TVs, wardrobe, phone and fridge. They are not very spacious but we are 4, for 2 adults and only 1 child is enought, for us maybe 2 conneting double rooms are better. Room is clean everday and towles change.
Hotel is spotless clean, public areas are lovely and pool area is amazing. We never had problem to find sunbeds available but Hotel was not full! Pool and beach towles are provide.
Breakfast is very, very good, plenty of choice, and staff very helpfull and friendly.
We book halfboard and dinner couldn´t be better! Excellent restaurant atmosphere, profissional staff and excelent food.
We lunch always in pool bar, excellent food and service too. Hotel provides too a nice lunch buffet in restaurant until 3 P.M and a special lunch for kids at 1 P.M.
Hotel foods and drinks are not pricely and are really very good.
Kids club seems to be very good, in a separete hotel area and plenty of activities all day, my boy loved play football with team animation.
By night there aren´t entertaiment like in others Vila Gale hotels, only i open a lovely bar with excellent atmosphere.
SPA seems to be very nice an is not expensive but we didn´t use it, weather was so good!
Hotel is very easy walking to Meia Praia beach, no more than 5 minutes but is a long walking to Lagos city ( 30 minutes walking ).
We really love Vila Gale Lagos, with a few more details like waitress in pool area, could be a 5 stars hotel!
Excellent Vila Gale Lagos!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

The hotel itself was lovely, it was new, modern and very clean… it has great potential.!
The staff weren't very helpful/informative, especially when checking in, they didn't offer up much information about the facilities, times breakfast gets served, pool side towels etc. to be honest they seem a bit all over the place. Dispite booking a double room, we ended up with a twin room (two single beds pushed together).

The pool side was lovely, but very busy - I'm not sure if it was just the time of year we were there i.e. the last week of August but the hotel was completely full of kids and families, so lots of very young screaming kids. So if you are looking (like we were!) for a nice romantic, relaxing and tranquil week I wouldn't recommend staying here. The pool side food was lovely, but service wasn't great, they never seem to remember who ordered what..
The hotel restaurant was manic. We went down for dinner one of the evenings and stayed about half an hour, there was nothing relaxing about it at all and there was no service, so we couldn't even order a bottle of wine... The breakfast also was buffet style and there was a good selection of food but it really wasn't great and it was way to busy and very poorly managed. We discovered going to the restaurant early, before 9, was the best option!.. Also, if you want a lie-in it wasn't possible, the hotel cleaning staff started early and the noise of them moving furniture (dragging them on the floors) woke us every morning.
A positive is that there is a lovely beach is across the road from the hotel and its only a ten minute stroll down to the Marina and town.
Lets just say we wont be back.!
Yvonne, Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina1978_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights from 20th August 2010. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel but feel that althought the hotel is good it could be so much better.

The good bits:
(1) Pool: the pool is massive and the shape of the pool allows lots of sunbeds to be next to it. Even when really busy around the pool, there was always room in the pool to swim and it never felt crowded. See comments below aboput sunbeds though - the "reservation system" needs attention!! There were lots of children at the hotel, and the fun team seemed really good so a recommendation if you have kids, although there are very few British people at the hotel. There was aqua aerobics at 11.30 for 1 hour most days (except Sunday I think) and there was also yoga in the evenings around 6.30 - both are free.

(2) Location: yes the hotel is a 15 minute walk from the town, but it's only 1 minute from an excellent beach. You can't have both close. I always like to be central and other comments on location had put me off but don't let it... unless of course you are travelling with very small children or elderly people who really don't like to walk at all. Taxi's to town are 4-5 euros so we happily walked in in the evening and then either walked or got a taxi back. Walk is pleasant and safe, even late evening.

(3) Breakfast: Yes it gets very busy after 9.30, but the breakfast variety is excellent and unlimited. Like service generally in the hotel, I agree with comments from other reviews that it could be managed better to make it run more smoothly. Overall though, the breakfast is high quality and a plus point for the hotel.

(4) Rooms: The rooms, the bathroom and the shower are excellent. Very modern and clean rooms, cleaned daily.

The bad points:
(1) Sunbed wars!! By 10.30 every day, every sunbed has a towel on it. Although only around 50% had people on them there were none left after this time. We got up quite early and joined in to ensure we had a sunbed. This was not a problem for the first 5 days, but on the last 3 days when we finished breakfast, or came back from a windsurfing lesson at the beach, people had put our towels in the tree and taken the beds, even when our books and suncream was there!! I would totally agree with this normally, how frustrating to come down and see all beds taken but only 50% with people actually on them. However, we would not feel comfortable to move other people's things off beds, and therefore did not expect people to do that with our stuff. I can imagine that if I stayed longer this could have got very annoying!! However, we stayed in August and this is a peak time for Portugese to take holidays, so I think if we came back at a quieter time then hopefully this wouldn't be a problem because the hotel wouldn't be so full.

(2) Iron: this is a 4* hotel but there is no iron in the room and you can't get one from housekeeping!! If you want to iron a shirt you need to pay. What is this about?! Pack a travel iron!!

(3) Twin beds in room: they don't do doubles unless you stay in a suite so you have a slightly annoying gap in the bed. The beds are really comfy apart from that so you just need to mind the gap.

(3) Lunch time meals: Service is really slow at the poolside bar which is annoying. The menu is also really limited so if you have lunch here more than a few times it becomes boring. However, the things you can get are nice, you're just eating the same thing. We also spoke to a couple who had gone half board and they didn't rate the lunches or dinners really for the same reason of limited choice. There is a nice place at the beach just 2 mins away so eat there if you are bored.

(4) Service at the bar & the random entertainment: the main bar in the hotel is really quiet and the reason is that even despite there being only 4 people in there the service is still slow!! On our first night we arrived very late as we were delayed over 7 hours with Jet2. We asked at reception if we could have something to eat, they said that they weren't sure and it depended if they were still serving at the bar. We went to the bar and they had just served a couple, but weren't sure if they would serve us. My boyfriend asked for a club sandwich which came with chips, but as I wasn't very hungry I just asked for a side of chips. However, this caused confusion and the lady had to ask someone whether she could serve chips on there own as she wasn't sure if this was possible?! After some debate we I got a small side of chips.

This hotel is meant to be a fashion hotel - it has mannequins modelling clothes in the windows, large photographs of catwalk models and designer clothes everywhere - as a concept this just doesn't work. For a start, the photos are of 08/09 trends or 07/08 trends but even if they were current, it just doesn't sit with a hotel full or tourists, children and babies. What makes this even more bizarre, is that the evening entertainment is an old man, a keyboard and some panpipe music!! However, we just didn't go to the bar, there are lots of great places in town so this didn't really bother us.

Some tips:
(1) There's a supermarket just across the bridge at the marina and you can buy water, beer and good wine really cheaply there so that's great if you want to have a few drinks on the balcony before you head into town (as the bar in hotel is poor and the hotel don't give you any free water in the room).

(2) We used resorthoppa for a shuttle transfer. Although cheap £25 each return, it was very slow over 1h 45 mins and on our outward journey we waited 2hr 30 mins to get going. Now our flight was delayed massively, however we arrived at 19.05 and the first couple on our shuttle arrived at 19.15 so be prepared that group transfers can offer a significant wait.

(3) Lagos has a train station next to the marina - just a short walk. You can get trains from here to neighbouring resorts if you fancy a day trip, only a few euros each way to resorts nearby. Silves has a golf course near to the station. Also you can get the train to Tunes and then a fast train to Lisbon, if you want a full day out. We got the 8.20 ish train from Lagos and arrived back around 22.30 when we went to Lisbon, so it's a long day but we really enjoyed it. Also, for 10 euros extra you can upgrade to 1st class on the fast train and it makes the journey really enjoyable. Train fare was 50 Euros each for 1st class return to Lisbon. You get free tea, coffee in 1st class and on the way home we got the option of a 3 course meal, with wine and coffee for 13.90 Euro each. The meal was excellent for a train meal and we would recommend it.

(4) Look up the restaurant recommendations on tripadvisor - No Patio is a great restaurant but there are others.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again, but we would look to go back in a quieter month and get a better deal in order to return. We paid around £120 a night for our trip, and in order to go back we'd want to get it cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller81Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

my two youngs sons,partner and i visited the vila gale lagos for ten nights in mid august. we had a truely wonderful summer holiday. the hotel is modern, which we liked and the room and pool were clean and spacious. we found the staff to be very helpful, arranging an early morning breakfast with no fuss and dealing with a faulty safe in record time. perhaps sometimes it's how you speak to people??? the breakfast period was fairly busy but we enjoyed sitting out on the patio area which was lovely and peaceful- a great way to start the day. the variety and quality of both breakfast and dinner was good and neither the children or adults ever went hungry!! the hotel is in a great location on a lovely beach and yes it's about a ten minute walk into the marina area but we quite enjoy a stroll after dinner. there was a good mix of clientel and my 2 sons soon made a few friends around the pool area. my main criticism was the evening entertainment which was terrible.they seemed to make an effort with the daytime activities but once 6 o'clock came that was it!! all in all a very good hotel which could be made excellent with the addition of a little eveniong entertainment. thanks for a good holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank je_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during the beginning of May. This hotel is extremely modern and newly built. The staff are friendly and polite. The hotel room was one of the nicest rooms that we have stayed in (it might not be to everyone's taste) but we liked the modern feel about the room and hotel. We had a room on the ground floor facing the pool. My only issue with my stay was that the hotel was a bit of a walk from the main town and there was a lof of building/road works going on near the hotel when we stayed which did not add to the overall appeal of the hotel. However, we were not disrupted at any time with any noise levels. The restaurant food is nice and the hotel provides free internet access in their library which is great when we were trying to access information on the volcanic ash! Anyway I would recommend this hotel as long as you have a car and are looking for a peaceful break. The hotel has a beach within walking distance however we opted for other smaller beaches nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkelligsKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It seemed to us this hotel was everything that Lagos old town wasn't. To start with it was indeed new, modern, spacious, with the biggest swimming pool we've ever seen. But the appalling services we witnessed and experienced made us wonder if we were actually in Portugal. Their staff needed a lot more customer service and serving trainings. According to the reviews on Tripadvisor, this hotel was opened probably one and half years ago, we can confirm there was still no improvement in their services. We would only recommend this hotel to those who prefer modern decor and huge pool.

(1) Breakfast time was extremely busy, but the set up was dangerous. Lots of guests were getting foods from buffet tables, while waitrors/waitresses were busy topping up foods & drinks. We noticed the coffee dispenser needed to be refilled from the top. It was placed on a table and together the total height was over 6ft tall, which meant the petite waitress had to lift the metal container full of hot coffee over her head, what's worse, the container did not have a lip. When she was pouring the coffee splashed into and over the container, and there were kids and other adult guests standing around her. She got splashed by coffee as well as a female guest and thankfully the children with her were slightly further away.

(2) I was holding coffees in both hands while a waitress knocked my elbows with her tray. She looked over with no expression on her face. On both occassions, no apology was offered to the guests at all.

(3) Strange and unfriendly rules of customer service or perhaps staff training which presumes customers only ask for troubles: we went to the front desk and asked if they could make a local phone call for us to change the pickup time of our airport transfer. We were told to go back to our room and use our own phone, because we need to pay for the phone call. We then asked if the front desk staff could make a phone call for us, and we would pay for the phone call, another girl stepped up and said they were not allowed to help guests change reservations. They could only help guests make reservations, but they won't help if guests are changing their reservations. We asked to speak to the Duty Manager, which was equally defensive and simply repeated the rules, and she could not explain the reasons behind this rule at all. For a hotel that claims to be 4 stars, we found it very unprofessional the way we were spoken to and the way the staff members dealt with the incident.

In saying all these, we still had a great time exploring Lagos Old Town. Not only the food and wine were superb, the people we met were all very warm, friendly and helpful. I had sunstroke one evening at a restaurant, the syndrome only showed at the end of our meals and I was pale. The waitress let us stay at our seats, and gave me lots of water and sugar, even if there were people queuing outside. (It was such a contrast from what we experienced at Vila Gale.) We would recommend:
- O Cantinho do Mar: Beautiful little cosy restaurant, good range of seafood especially crabs.
- Casa de Pasto o Zé: The hostess was a star! Don't miss their daily/seasonal specials.
- Adega da Marina: cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keenjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have stayed in Vila Gale Lagos for about a week and I fully recommend: the location is the best - very close to the best beach in the Algarve. The facilities are also great: the rooms are very spacious, the outdoor pool is amazing and the outdoor lanscape is really pleasant.
All staff is very nice, polite and correct.
However, the dinning room is too small at breakfast, gets too full and imposible to move around. Also, staff capacity for meals is also reduced, particularly on live cooking at both dinner and breakfast.
Another issue is the SPA. The use of the gym and indoor pool are paid and children are not welcome. In a day of bad weather, this may ruin your hotel experience if you travel with children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.7 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $79 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing