We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel!”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super hotel!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, short 5 minute walk to the beach!
Super selection at breakfast! Hard to get a seat by the pool however we were happy on the beach, or by the bar pool!
Overall excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    542
    149
    32
    19
See reviews for
545
561
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in Vila Gale in the end of july - 2 adults a one 3yr old boy.
The HOTEL and surroundings:
very modern building. The entrance looks almost like entrance to a hairdresser (models photos behind the reception desk). The corridors are long and dark, but we did not mind that at all. They had a nice soft carpet, my son loved running through them. :-)
The surroundings are very well kept. During our 4 night stay we constantly saw some gardeners taking care of the plants, grass etc. There is a fairly big kids playground, with outdoor/indoor space and also a kids swimming pool. It was always empty - I suppose because it is too far away from the main pool.
Parking is available on spot and is free (Booking says is 7,50/day which is not true. The garage is 3€/day).
To town it is a fairly long walk (plus is not the nicest one), so always opt for a taxi.
ROOMS:
spacious, comfortable, modern, with large beds, flat screen TV and big bathroom. Also the balconies are well-sized. We had the room in the end of the corridor (just few rooms are there - it´s on the edges of an U). You can hear a bit the cars driving under your balcony (nothing major though), but there is the best view of the sea.
FOOD:
we had just B&B (50€/person is AI) and then chose to have lunchs there as well (all you´can eat for 16€/person, kids under 3yrs free). Both breakfast and lunch were very good. Big selection of any type of dishes (meat, sides, salads, fruits, bread, cheeses etc). Goat cheese with honey and pine nuts was a delicious bonus...as well as the champagne for breakfast - something I´ve usually seen only in better 5* hotels.
POOL:
one huge pool separated by little peninsulas that give the feeling of "many" pools next to each other. Great idea! The water in the pool was actually pleasant (unlike in most PT hotels, where usually it´s freezing).
We did not try the Spa, but I think is charged.
BEACH:
To get to the beach you cross the street, walk for about 5-10 mins through a parking and cross the railway. The beach is nice, long and wide with pleasantly warm little streams and "pools" when the tide is low. The sea water is coldish, but acceptable. There is a bar, but it looks more like a"club", with outdoor pool, so we never went there. Otherwise, there is nothing, so bring bottled water and parasol (if needed) with you.
SERVICE:
very good. Everything is kept spotless, the receptionist are friendly and helpfull. The organization in the restaurant is very well managed - they seat at the table each customer, plus they collect plates very quickly. The waiters are well-mannered, attentive, always try to smile and be helpfull. Everything works perfectly and is well organized.
My only (and major) complaint goes to the chambermaids. It usually took them the whole day to clean the rooms (to our one they came around 2-3pm) and they were making an absolutely dreadfull noise with dragging the beds up and down the tiled floors while making them. The hotel is full of kids and just as our one, they usually sleep every afternoon. This terrible noise of dragging beds that spreads over the whole hotel woke him up every day. It would have waken up a death - honestly!
Otherwise - everything was great.
LAGOS:
Beautiful town, but unfortunately totally spoiled by tourists. Thanks to them it became another "colony" (just as in Greece, Turkey, or Spain) with noisy pubs and lost a bit its charm. In the night it is packed with sunburned, drunk and barefeet (what´s that?) tourists (many young "students").
However, it is definitely worth a visit, as it is still beautiful. Definitely don´t miss Praia da Dona Ana and Praia Do Camilo.
One more tip:
if you prefere a calm place with not many kids, go elsewhere. This hotel is literally packed with kids. However - you can see that most of these kids come from a well-mannered families - therefore they don´t scream over the halls and restaurants and don´t jump onto your head in the pool. :-)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the pool didn´t have any privacy, others looked ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went for my birthday and there were 12 of us. Never had any problems getting tables in bar or restaurant. Didn't get any treats or upgrades though!

Public areas nice and tidy. Free wifi here. Fashion bar was fine. Good selection of drinks and decent service. Lively singer in his white outfit, a fun guy.

Pool bar service not so good, queues and often ran out of the ice creams that were on all inclusive. Good choice of drinks though. Food choice limited and not to my taste, very fast food (but takes forever!). Pool area nice and tidy, lots of loungers and no need to reserve. Pool was clean and there were are few activities such as aqua aerobics but no pressure to join in.

Rooms are comfortable and on the whole clean if a little dusty. The shower head was filthy with black mould around it. Paid for sea view but I think everyone in our party got a sea view even if didn't pay for it. Three adults in a triple room got a sofa bed not a proper one. The dark corridors seemed to keep people quiet as they walked down them.

Restaurant had plenty of choice and items were replenished well but personally I was soon bored by it. There were some poor manners and people not looking where they are going. Don't know how the staff coped with the dodging and weaving! Also the kids love to use their fingers on everything which I find nasty and wish parents would teach them some basic hygiene! Despite this none of our party were ill. I'd have liked to see the water that the ice cream scoop was in be changed more often but nobody seemed put off by this. Service was good in the restaurant.

When we arrived there were only a few kids but as we left there were loads.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkyh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in mid July with a 7 yr old & partner. It seemed like a number of guests were all inclusive which meant that it was busy in the pool area all day. However they did seem to have limited menus despite the AI.
We chose B&B only as we wanted the freedom to eat out. Breakfast had a good selection and well stocked by staff but remained the same all week - cereal, coffee, breads & pastries, fruit, pancakes, & hot choices.
We had lunch at the pool bar only which was a little limited but service was quick. Some items were pricey - €3.50 for a bottle of water - but quality was ok if a little fast foody. We charged all of this to our room and discovered at the end that we were charged on 2 occasions for incorrect items so make sure you keep note as they didn't give us receipts - once we were charged for 4 steak sandwiches when we had ordered 1, and once charged for a tuna salad instead of sandwich. It was all rectified without issue at checkout and could have been a simple error.
We had dinner once which is buffet in the restaurant - €22 per adult and €11 per child. There was a lot to chose from but not great quality so I was glad we hadn't chosen AI. It can feel a little free for all at times which can be uncomfortable. At checkin they give you a voucher for a free bottle of wine when you have 2 meals so it was a nice offer - however the wine was disappointing.

The pool area is quite big and not too deep which is good for kids. The hotel is full of kids so be warned if you're on a couples holiday! They have childrens events on weekdays - games in and out of the pool. The kids play area - swings etc - is away from the pool but seemed deserted when we went down. They also have a weekday aqua aerobics which is entertaining to watch! The hotel also offers diving lessons on weekdays and part of the pool is used for this with an attempt to sell a dive trip after you've tried a free session. They also allow kids to try it which is great if you're into it.

As mentioned in other reviews it is a windy location but within walking distance of Lagos which is handy - 2.5km. The beach is less than 5 mins across the road with a petrol station nearby for water / snacks as the Duna Beach Club is a little overrated. Be advised that the padestrian access from Vila Gale is only open until 10pm so if you stay out longer you have to walk to the main entrance.

Staff could definitely be friendlier at the pool bar and reception. Restaurant staff were significantly better. Our room was ready on arrival and bags were held for us after check out as we didn't leave until late afternoon. The spa area looked nice but was expensive so we didn't use it. The Fashion Bar had live music some nights and seemed to be popular but again we didn't make use of it.

Our room was always clean and had enough space for the 3 of us. Although we did have 2 single beds pushed together as a 'double' they were comfortable and the room had working a/c which was good but a little loud.

While it was definitely better than a 3 star, it just hasn't quite hit the mark of a 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here in July to celebrate my 50th birthday, with my husband, daughter and her fiancé and son and friend. We had a fantastic holiday in this beautiful hotel. Bedrooms are very modern, comfortable and immaculately clean.the hotel is very spacious with a huge pool and plenty of sun beds.reserving of beds is monitored and towels were removed by the pool attendant if beds were left for more than an hour each morning. The poolside snack bar serves tasty snacks and salads with ice cold beer. The restaurant serves excellent varied food and the a la carte restaurant is of a very high standard. We have stayed in many all inclusive hotels in the past and the little touches provided by this hotel mean it is easily the nicest we have stayed in- (chilled carafes of wine, brought to the table in ice buckets, good quality toiletries in the bedrooms etc) a special mention must go to the staff who work extremely hard, always with a smile! I am sure we will return to Vila gale next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location is quite good, ten minutes walk to the long Meia Praia beach, great for morning walks and relaxing strolls.
Although the food is good and the staff pleasant (as much as it gets in Portugal), the hotel is a bit pompous and leaves a few things to be desired: the pool is too cold and the lay-out of the hotel doesnot prevent the ever blowing wind to turn a hot day into a chilly one.
Unacceptable that the access to the spa is closed to hotel guests (where a very nice WARM interior pool awaits those ready to pay 11 euros for access).
Our booking was somehow misplaced but the reception was friendly and found a solution

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Vila Gale Lagos. I wanted to thank the management and staff for make our holiday very special. I contacted the hotel to inform them that while we were there we would be celebrating our 40th wedding anniversay. They immiediately acknowledged my email and as I had requested a top floor room they said they would do their best.

on arrival we were given a top floor room with a wonderful seaview, dressing gowns and slippers. The day of our anniversary we had a beautiful choc cake and a bottle of champ in our room, what a nice touch.

The hotel is very modern and clean, perfectly situated for the beach and lagos. We were all inclusive which worked out very well for us. The food was very good with plenty of choice.

Every single one of the staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly, going out of their way to make everyone's holiday special.

Thank you for a wonderful time Hotel Vila Gale Lagos.

Room Tip: Top floor seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,099 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Property: Vila Gale Lagos
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing