We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hello
We have just returned from Portugal with Jet 2 holiday's. We booked half board at the Vila Gale but then we decided to upgrade to all inclusive and this was £30 per day. We found it good value for money as the drinks and food was not the cheapest throughout the day.
We had a room facing the kids pool and this also had a view of the sea. Good sun trap in the afternoon!!! The air conditioning was very good and the decoration was kept very well. Our maid visited us every day with fresh towels and toiletries. She was always very pleasant.
The standard of the hotel staff is first class, they were always busy keeping the place tidy and serving customers. You could tell the management were well organised and in control.
The food was a buffet style restaurant but even within the busiest times the food was constantly replenished, fresh and varied. With the all inclusive you had good wine on tap which was a bonus at dinner times.
We found the kids club/play area to be a nice place to visit but my daughter was overwhelmed with the amount of non English children and was a little uncomfortable.
Evening entertainment was what you would expect from a classy hotel so don't go and expect a kiddy disco every evening. They did however have a late night party for the kids down at the kids club which was fun.
The beach across the road is fab and Lagos Marina is a 10 min walk. A taxi into the town in around 6 euros.
The pool area was lovely and you can hire pool towels from reception with a returnable deposit. You can return then and get fresh one everyday. You cannot reserve sunbeds so don't get up at 6am to get a bed. They police the area and remove your belongings if you are not actively using the beds. They give you an hour to return if they staff believe you are reserving beds. I found this to be re-freshing as you could always find a sunbed.
We found this overall to be a lovely hotel and had a relaxing break.
Please send me a message if you have any specific questions.

Room Tip: Level 3 and facing the kids play area. Good afternoon sun and quiet as there was no noise pollution...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    530
    139
    30
    17
See reviews for
520
552
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for our 20th Wedding annivesary and I had emailed the hotel before our trip. I didnt receive a reply but on arrival at the hotel we were given our room which was very clean and spacious with amazing views Robes, Slippers and candles. We went for a walk and on our return to our room there was a bottle of bubbly and an amazing chocolate cake. So we would like to thank the Management team for this surprise as it made our stayed extra special. There is plenty of beds around the pool and the pool is very large and the area around it very spacious. We used the Spa on a cloudy day and this was also very nice. Th breakfast was equally good with lots of choice and champers for breakfast :-). There is a walk into the town centre about 30 mins but halfway you can stop at the marina and have a sundowner. I would definatley reccomend this hotel and hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: A room at the front is reccomened as you have the view of the beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborinaBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

We were pleased to hear all the positive points that you referred.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed 10 days with a large party of golfers. Took a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor which was very comfortable with a good view over Lagos and the sea. Breakfast was good if not exceptional. We did not eat at the Buffet as we were warned against it - frequently! The A La Carte Restaurant was acceptable but no more. There are numerous restaurants within a 10/20 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride (inexpensive). The pool is unheated and has a very large surface area so was very cold.
Staff were all charming and very helpful.
This is not a Boutique Hotel but it does not pretend to be, it is large and functional. I would probably stay again but should like to investigate Hotels in Lagos first, Lagos is a charming town.

Room Tip: Don't accept a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

We were pleased to hear that you found our staff charming and very helpful.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked a junior suite which is essentially two rooms with an interconnecting door but was spacious and very clean. Very comfortable bed. Great view over pool and sea beyond. We were on the first floor over the bar but was not disturbed by any noise from the bar.
Hotel staff were very friendly except those on reception. When we arrived we were informed that our booking was for the next day and that the hotel was full. Upon production of my email confirming the booking arrangements a room was miraculously found and we were told we would have to wait 45 minutes for it to be cleaned. There was no apology and we were not offered a drink but were told to sit and wait in the reception area. The only bar open at the time of our arrival in the afternoon was the pool bar and as we were dressed in our travel clothes, felt a bit uncomfortable and overdressed to sit by the pool. The hotel staff did not inform us when the room was ready and had to enquire after an hour of waiting, again with no apology.
Breakfast and buffet dinner was really poor with not much choice or variety. On one evening the soup and main course were both cold. Restaurant also very busy and quite dangerous with people going in all directions with hot food and drinks. Al a carte okay. I believe there is an all inclusive option which I would definitely not recommend.
The hotel is in a great location and an easy 15 minute walk either along the beach or the road to Lagos. Also just across the road from the beach using the back entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Would try for a room overlooking the pool/sea on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorp861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

Despite the negative appreciation that you made about some points, that we have taken good note, we were pleased to hear that you like our rooms.


It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Vila Gale, Lagos and we were very happy with the quality and standards in the hotel.

We had upgraded to a sea view room and the view was stunning. Not to mention that area of the hotel was so peaceful. The bathrooms were a great size and spotlessly clean. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean!

The pool area was gorgeous, there was never any problem getting a sun lounger and none of the madness of people putting out their towels and reserving their beds. The hotel was fully booked, so it is a good sign when you can still get a sun lounger. The weather was very up and down and got quite windy at the pool.

Being able to walk out the back of the hotel (just behind the pool) cross the road, across the train tracks and you were at the beach was a fantastic bonus. The Meia Praia beach is stunning and we enjoyed a morning walk and paddle every day.

We were very disappointed with Lagos itself, not finding very many nice restaurants to eat in. We had only gone B&B in the hotel, but ended up eating there between the buffet and the A La Carte restaurant 4 of our 7 nights. We did find a fabulous restaurant called 'Miam Miam Glou Glou' in the old town though.

The food in the hotel was good. However, although we had no children with us we did think that if we had there would have been very little option in the buffet dinners for them. We ate at the pool bar most days and again there could be a few more options on the menu, again for kids there should have been options of burgers etc for them.

We found the staff in the main restaurant, pool bar and fashion bar all very helpful. They work hard and extremely long hours. Some of them did not speak English at all and when this happened, they would get us another waiter.

The staff on the reception in general were fine. But we were trying to keep our room for the afternoon on our last day (you pay €20 and can keep it until 4pm) we kept asking through the week and every person we asked told us something different, but none of them would record that we wanted to keep the room. Eventually on our last night we were told we couldn't as the hotel was fully booked but a very nice girl told us they would hold our luggage from 12pm and that we could use the showers and changing facilities in the spa (which was lovely). I was happy with this, however, when we checked out I was told that we couldn't use the spa by somebody else and we would have to use the changing rooms by the pool. I was not happy with this after being told we could use them, so after a chat with the person on reception they agreed we could use the spa. This was unnecessary I felt, but as there was no record that we had been requesting to keep the room, the guy didn't know I had been assured we could use the spa.

Overall, the hotel made our holiday to Lagos and I would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to stay in Lagos. For us, the weather was not great on the first 2 days and it was cold at night, so I don't know if I would go back to Portugal for this reason, but if we were to go again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are fabulous and extremely peaceful. However, they are at the far end of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharalottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my second review of Vila Galé Lagos, the first having been published on Tripadvisor just a few weeks after the hotel opened to the public in April 2009. So, this is like a follow-up on the first review.
I've been coming to this hotel once or twice every year since it opened. I've seen some good changes, others not so good.
I saw the hotel lowering its standards a bit 2 years ago, particularly on what the restaurants are concerned. What had started as a gourmet, high standard, well prepared food offer with top notch service had given way to fish fingers, chicken nuggets, pasta, pizza and plain boring food, plus a relatively indifferent service. I was shocked to hear the reason why this was so: The guests wanted it!!
Fortunately, since last year, the hotel managed to find a balance: the food is not wonderful as it was in the early days, but it's quite good and well made and the service is much better than two years ago.
A great improvement was to limit children's access to the spa. Now, after 5pm, the spa is a children free zone, and it becomes a real spa (except for the odd adult behaving worse than a child...).
They now have free wifi, but limited to the public areas; you have to pay for general access - definitely something to be improved.
All in all, during these 4 years of enjoying Vila Galé Lagos, two main ideas have developed in my mind:
1. this is by far the best hotel of the Vila Galé chain in Portugal;
2. despite idea 1, this is the right hotel in the wrong place, or the right hotel for the wrong market. The hotel's concept and design are modern, edgy, appealing, slick, but for a smaller, urban hotel. However, the size of the facility and its location (the Algarve, albeit its least spoiled part), cater for the beach holiday makers who, mostly, want to transfer their daily habits (including fish fingers and chicken nuggets) to a sunnier location.
Just a final word: don't get me wrong! I love this place and it will definitely be my top destination for a short break or a short holiday in the Algarve, for many years to come. And Lagos and the Meia Praia are amazingly beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulolisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is a perfectly fine place to stay close to Lagos. We had no major problems but were let dissatisfied with almost every element.
1. The swimming pool area is very overcrowded (outside school holidays) and was very exposed to wind.
2. The breakfast area was again overcrowded and very noisy
3. Our rooms were directly above the kitchen and we could hear every little noise up until about 1am and again from 5am.
4. The room corridors are dark and depressing
5. Staff on the front desk are generally very rude. We managed to check in and out without the attendant making any eye contact.
There is nothing significantly wrong with this hotel it is an OK place to stay but not recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above kitchen - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

All the negative points will be checked and will be improved as soon as possible.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Property: Vila Gale Lagos
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing