We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“design” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very unusual hotel among other hotels in Portugal: like an oasis in the desert. Huge, modern, clean. The reception staff very friendly and opened for our needs (we travelled with kids). The spa receptionist was very understandable as well-the kids could enjoy the spa area meanwhile we discovered Europe's point. We were uppgraded to Jr. Suite since there were no family rooms close to Superior room which my parents booked. Suite was very very spacious and comfortable. The sink is a little bit small... We liked the hotel very much. Huge outside pool area. The variety at the breakfast was not very big, but we could find everything we needed. But the coffe was not good at all... The only thing we didn't really like was the sound isolation between the rooms-we heard everything our neighbours were talking about. Can imagine that it may be annoing during busy summer times. But we travelled in January and there were not that much guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katjafah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

We were very glad with the comments about the staff.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    498
    123
    27
    11
See reviews for
496
514
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had an enjoyable stay in Vila Gale with my family, it was off season so very quiet,
The room and hotel were clean, Had to pay extra to use the indoor pool as its part of the Spa.
We did not have dinner in the hotel, the marina is close so we had dinner there each evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Vila Gale never fails to deliver.
I have visited this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It is close to the sea and the Marina. The breakfasts are plentiful and there is a good selection. The staff are all helpful and efficient but Ricardo on Reception was exceptionally kind and helpful. I will return to this hotel for at least two more holidays next year!

Room Tip: Choose the 'A la Carte' restaurant it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getupandgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Firstly we would like to thank your comments, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important to us as it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
320 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were part of a large party booked into this hotel for an event close to Lagos in Oct. The hotel itself proved to be considerably better than expected with good rooms at sensible out of sreason prices, extremely helpful & polite staff & good buffet breakfast. We only tried the restaurant once which is a bit mediocre but there are many excllent restaurants in Lagos itself, a short taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for a week on half board in early October. A modern hotel, built 2009, with a very contemporary decor - everything is symmetrical, angular, black, white or red and all spotlessly clean.

We thought the best feature of the hotel was the pool area - a large pool with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and absolutely no need for anyone to reserve their sunbeds with towels (a pet hate). The water was very cold though, OK for swimming but not for lazing around in.

Our room had a sea/pool view and was a good size with a large balcony. The safe and fridge were useful but there were no tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was a bit hard and we would have preferred a separate shower rather than the over the bath type.

This was off season and the hotel was far from full which meant there was never any delay in getting a table for breakfast and dinner. The pool bar was closed and there was no evening entertainment.

The food at the buffets was good but nothing special. The dinner buffet got a little boring after a few days as only the main dishes changed. If we go again it will probably be on B&B terms. Plus points were sparkling wine available at breakfast every day and expresso coffee at both breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is a good 30 minutes from the town centre but you can get there along the excellent beach which is only a short walk from the hotel across a quiet road and even quieter railway line.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly go back to Vila Gale Lagos.

Room Tip: Third floor with a pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Vila gale lagos in October. There were five of us in the group my parents my wife daughter and myself. We were really impressed with a number of things about the hotel- design, rooms, pool area, spa, reception area.

We had a couple of issues that were delt with very quickly by the hotel staff. They really were very good.

Some of the other small issues we had were that the outdoor pool is cold and our 7 month old daughter did not like it. We used the spa pool which was brilliant, but it does cost extra.
The hotel is a fair bit away from the centre of lagos but it is only 5euros in a taxi or a 15 minute walk through the marina.
We stayed half board and the food in the restaurant (buffet) was nice but did get a bit boring after the second night.

All in all we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for the 2nd time in August and once again couldnt fault the hotel for what we wanted. Rooms are a good size we had a family room which is ample for 2 adults and 2 smaller or 1 older child. Pool are is the best i have ever been to very chilled and relaxed atmosphere. There are a few activities ie aqua aerobics but this does not bother you and is fun to join in if you want. Breakfast was very busy but we never had to wait long to be seated and you expect it to be busy in august. There is plenty of entertainment for children and at night in the bar is catered for them. We only went in the bar when we came back at night from town. But again it was august and school holidays and I think the main portuguese holidays. Beach is accrosss a road out of a back gate and is beautiful, long and sandy. You can walk for miles and can also cross the river at one end on a little boat to get into the town. We did not eat in the hotel at night because we love eating out in the town which has a great atmosphere at night and there are some fabulous restaurants to be found down the little side streets. We never had a bad meal. It is a good 25min walk from the hotel and we sometimes got a taxi or walked to the marina which was a bout 10mins and had a drink there then continued to the town accross the bridge. There are also a couple of nice restaurants on the marina. The town is also lovely to wander round through the day loads of little cobbled streets and some nice historic buildings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbk186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#12 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Property: Vila Gale Lagos
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing