We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy spot for dinner with vegan options, loved the live music!”
Review of La Esterella

La Esterella
Ranked #13 of 472 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Description: La esterella is a bar-restaurant in the historical centre of Lagos runned by Belgians. If you like a non-commercial choice of music and are interested in a tasting of the finest Belgian beers and a world cuisine cooked by a chef who earned her stars at the opera of Ghent, then you're at the right address. there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan menus on offer as well.
Restaurant details
Description: La esterella is a bar-restaurant in the historical centre of Lagos runned by Belgians. If you like a non-commercial choice of music and are interested in a tasting of the finest Belgian beers and a world cuisine cooked by a chef who earned her stars at the opera of Ghent, then you're at the right address. there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan menus on offer as well.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

My husband had a great dinner here in Lagos (and this meal actually fell on our 1 year wedding anniversary). I was shocked (and very happy) that a bunch of restaurants and stores were actually open in town on Easter Sunday! The service was friendly, the live music was awesome and made for a great environment, and the food was top notch (we got the Belgium frites with veganaise to start, the yellow curry with seitan and the falafel). We were very happy with our meal!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank jes1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierJ212, Manager at La Esterella, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you very much for visiting.Glad you had a good evening.Greetings La Esterella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2019

After a week of eating local cuisine, we wanted something a little different to end a great week in Lagos. From the outset there was a warm welcome at this bar/restaurant that serves a small, but very interesting, menu. The waiter, chef and front of house all took time to have a chat and make recommendations - including the great choice of Belgian beers. I'd recommend their own house beer, which was perfect together with the brilliant chicken curry. Other much loved dishes for our evening included the falafels, arancini, fish and beef stew. This was a family meal for 4, which worked for old and young adults alike. One suggestion is for the team to have a think about air circulation as it got a little smokey at times but, as the restaurant is still relatively new, I'm sure it'll just continue getting better. Thanks for your hospitality.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickmJ4159XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierj218, Front Office Manager at La Esterella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and review, La Esterella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Great food for vegetarians and others, super friendly service, wonderful selection of Belgian beers - definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank barbarasG378XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierj218, Front Office Manager at La Esterella, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Thank you very much for your review. Kind regards. La Esterella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

The food is excellent in both quality and taste, some of the best food I've eaten in Lagos. If you are visiting then this place is a must! The service is great and the owners are very friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VeteranPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierj218, Front Office Manager at La Esterella, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you very much for your visit and review. Kind regards, la esterella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were attracted not only by the amazing selection of Belgian beers, but also the fantastic looking menu, which included a number of vegan options for me. We were not disappointed, this place is amazing! So good that we went twice in two days. :) The owners are lovely, and the food is incredible. On the first night we both had the Thai seitan yellow curry and it's the best we've ever had. These guys have real passion for what they do and I've rarely seen people looking happier in their work. If we visit Lagos again we will be making a beeline for this place! Perfection!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dani1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier J, Front Office Manager at La Esterella, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We sure hope to see you again. Kind regards. La esterella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esterella also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to La Esterella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing