We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Valmar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Valmar
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Valmar Villas 7 nights. It is a bit far from the centre of Lagos around 3kms but there is a bus stop 3 min from the hotel and onboard ticket costs around 1.5 euro (if you have Ovida card which costs 3euro for the card single ticket costs only around 70cents). You can still use a taxi - which costs usually 3.25-3.90 (if you have any luggage it will cost around 6).
Beach is around 5 min walk down the hill. Great beach as it is wide and not very busy.
Rooms are very big, with big bathroom. Beds quite comfortable. Most of the rooms have beautiful ocean view. Majority of the TV channels are in German. Room was cleaned very often but sometimes in strange hours - like 5pm! Nobody changed the towels and sheets for 5 days! Air conditioning worked well. Pool was nice, clean with a nice view.
Most of the staff were very nice, smiled and willing to help. Breakfast very nice with plenty to choose.
Very quiet during the day and the night which was very relaxing.
I can recommend this hotel for a really nice holidays. Good value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for five days, the rooms are big but our room smelled of damp and the AC didnt really work properly and if we left the door open the whole complex is looking at you! The breakfast was limited got very bored of it in the end, the hotel is about 20 min walk from lagos town. The beach is down big steps not suitable for buggies or wheelchairs, you really need a car which we got the following day. Overall it was fine but I would not return.

Room Tip: Higher floors looked better we had a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

found a place to stay an relax ,after stayin at 4* plus places this is by far really good . nice and clean, good breakfast , pool clean ,staff were really friendly{except the lady on reception}. the area , beaches the WEATHER was fantastic would def go back to this area again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escortArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Had an excellent stay at Valmar villas. The property is really spacious and lovely. The rooms are huge. Also clean and well cared for. It's close to great beaches (walking distance to one), and only a short drive to town. The people who work there were really helpful about things to do in Algarve. Slept well. The breakfast was amazing. A very relaxing vacation. Would return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oolong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The breakfast was excellent, our room was nice but our shower was unfortunately in poor condition. The girl at the reception was very unfriendly but gladly the young man at the reception was very nice to us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelien-holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

A little bit out of the town but great for beach and relaxation, Couldn't ask more of Rita and the staff excellent customer service. An ideal spot for an out of season getaway

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LanceBradwell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay here, and was very impressed, lovely caring staff, very clean & comfortable accom. 5 mins walk to a lovely sandy secluded beach and restaurant. The continental breakfast was wonderful/plentiful, with freash meats, cereals, fruit etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beatroutedisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#16 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jardim da Meia Praia
Jardim da Meia Praia
#15 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Valmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Valmar

Property: Villa Valmar
Address: Lot 11 Estrada do Monte Carapeto | Meia Praia Lagos, Lagos, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Valmar 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Also Known As:
Villa Valmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing