We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality apartments”
Review of Giramar Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giramar Apartments
Ranked #17 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
NEW WALTHAM
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quality apartments”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Aqualuz just down the road in June but found the Giramar much more to our liking - much smaller. The apartments are very well equiped and spotlessly clean - ideal if you don't mind eating in on the odd occassion. Nicely kept pool area and although the apartments were fully booked, the pool area never had more than 10 people around it. I didn't see any locals in there at all. The pictures don't actually show that the pool is overlooked on two sides by some fairly tall buildings and it is there where the majority of the barking dogs reside - it wasn't a problem at night though. It's about 30 minutes walk to Porto Mos beach, and the same to the marina footbridge/bus station area. The are some good quality restaurants close by (Bom Appetite is less than 15 minutes for example). There is no maid service at the weekend. We wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

very clean and mostly peaceful,but there is a problem with barking dogs day and night.coming back from town at night you would be met with aggressive dogs near the apartments.that is not Giramars fault i know,but it is offputting.while we had no problem getting sun loungers at the pool,it is open to the public which meant all sorts of people were coming and going.in high season there might be a problem with space as pool area is not very big.overall though it was a very pleasant place to stay and staff were great.

Room Tip: first floor a must,view from ground floor is a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We made a trip through portugal which ended in lagos. Certainly the best place where we stayed and the apartment is really perfect for us (2adults and 2 kids) with 2 bed rooms (airco in each room), a big living (3rd airco) with complete kitchen (even with washing machine) and bath room. Swimming pool is very nice with beds around it and cafeteria, massage is possible. A lovely stay in the algarve, with lagos as a very pleasant village to wine and dine and pubs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardverstegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the apartment for a short break and had a fantastic, relaxing time. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient. The apartments are well kitted out and are larger than the norm. Full marks to the cleaners who do a superb daily clean. The pool area may be open to the public bit it is well organised and in our experience, very quiet. The food and drink is tasty and cheap so, all in all, an apartment to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richiemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had an awesome stay at Giramar in May! Everything was just perfect: good and friendly staff, big, comfy and neat apartments, and very nice swimming pool . The city centre is at about 10-15 min walk, which is not that bad.
The price was also more than reasonable, great value for money!

Fully recommended both if you're after a laid back getaway or a more lively stay among the waves and sun of Algarve!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the second floor, facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed at Giramar at least 10 times in the last 4 years and it is always a very clean, quiet resort. very good value, very good cleaning service, pool area spotless and very relaxing. staff very friendly good food and good bar service. very close to town and Dona ana beach. Lovely bakery and coffee shop 5 minutes away called cris bola. Great shop very near by called Euroka. very safe as you have to use code to access your apartmnet lots of sun beads at pool so you dont have to rush down in the morning. All apartments good size i suggest you request one on the first floor if possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capprysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

just returned from a 5 night stay at these apartments. They were very clean, very well appointed and very good value. The location is very quiet but not far from beaches and old town. What impressed most were the two lovely staff members we dealt with Katia and Rita. Both worked reception and the bar/snack bar. They were always very charming and very helpful. All in all a lovely relaxing place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giramar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giramar Apartments

Property: Giramar Apartments
Address: Rua Antero de Quental 18, Lagos 8600-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Giramar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 2 outdoor swimming pools and large sun-bed terrace, the Giramar offers spacious 2 bedroom apartments with a kitchen and 2 balconies each. Guests can benefit from free parking. The light and modern Giramar apartments include a spacious living area with a DVD player, satellite TV and free wi-fi. Most apartments enjoy views over the pool. Guests can enjoy light snacks and drinks at the pool terrace cafeteria. There is also a games room with billiards and board games. The Giramar is situated a 15-minute walk from the centre of Lagos with its cosy streets and historic Santo Antonio Church. Lagos Castle is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giramar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing