We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Cidade Velha
Ranked #46 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were delighted with our 2 nights. The hostel is very professionally run, very organised at the desk and genuinely welcoming, with maps and good suggestions of where to eat. Our room was delightful (plainly decorated and white - less kitsch objects than most Portuguese hostels!) with balcony and en-suite. The room was cool and contained a fridge. Modern bathroom fittings were like those in most hotels not hostels! There is a bar in the lounge downstairs and they sold water which was really helpful. Very good value and perfectly located just off the main street so you can pop back easily during your evening out!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - first and second floor have balconies over looking gardens, the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

+
neat
toilet/shower ensuite
friendly stuff
very close to center (actually, it is center)

-
holey towels
no kitchen/no microwave for guests
impossible to catch wi-fi on the 3 floor
noisy (we had to close the window at night)
few sockets (not enough for 3 people), plenty of them were not functioning
toilets without locks


But it was really ok and neat, inspite of this. And the price was good

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Kashcheeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Cidade Velha is welcoming and efficient, and was the cheapest available when I booked a month or less in advance. I was given a nice room with veranda away from the street. I was given directions to the nearest free car park, which is 10 minutes away. No cards accepted and advance payment requested, but I was allowed to pay in instalments. Breakfast is not available, but there is a street of restaurants just around the corner, a few of which open for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraysonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

At 40€ for a single room this was the most expensive place I have stayed in The Algarve. The room was pretty much spotless as was the comfortable sized bathroom and shower. A tv that had plenty of channels and fridge were included. The room was large and easy to move around in with great storage. The down sides were no air conditioning but opening the balcony doors helped. Unfortunately at 3am when the constant surrounding area noise and student type party brigade sounds became too much I closed the balcony doors. That is when the room started to warm up and become uncomfortable. No internet available at pc in lounge or in wi-fi-less room. Usual slamming of doors all hours internally and the apparant guests need in Portugal to drag furniture around between 2-5am. Be aware that there is a yapping dog that gets thrown out early near the rear of the hotel and has an extremely irritating bark. If it was not for the noise issues this hotel would get a great review.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulfveteran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our experience:
- In august you cannot book a room by phone, but only by person (you have to be in Lagos). The lady said: "You need to come here and If there are rooms available, it's ok. If not, very sorry".
-No POS, only cash, "very sorry".
- Price was 65euro per a double room, but if you stay just for a night you have to pay 70euro.
- Wi-Fi is free but it works only in few rooms, " very sorry".
- The room was clean but we couldn' t sleep till 5.00 am because the street below our windows was very loud.
- No A\C
- No breakfast.

We had travelled a lot along Portugal this summer, this was the worst location(price\quality). Very sorry...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank animardente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank caterina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#38 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
1 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cidade Velha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cidade Velha

Address: Rua Dr.Joaquim Tello, 7, Lagos 8600-583, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $51 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cidade Velha 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Cidade Velha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing