We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$191
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/04
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
55
15
17
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
15
17
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooze cruisecrepesmama makesevery morningcommon roomprincess roomhuge partypub crawl every nightbar crawlown bathroomhome away from homeshort walkmammapubcrawlpartyingnetflixportugal
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 105 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Rising Cock certainty lived up to our expectations! It was packed while we were there, and we had to move rooms a few times, which wasn't ideal, but the staff was great, Mama's crepes were a treat, and the social scene is bumping! A tad expensive, but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the best hostel. Mama and papa looked after us so well. Mama even made me special gluten free crepes in the morning! Big area to relax and watch movies. Best atmosphere. Met great people. And the rooms are great

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rising cock hostel is perfect if your wanting to meet lots of new people and have a blast. I stayed for 4nights and have met some awesome people from all over the world. They provided a great atmosphere that gets everyone involved. The staff were automatically friendly on arrival and were always having a good time, making sure they spoke to all the guests.
Mama's crepes and tika tika were fantastic for a hungover cure (if you can make it up by 11)!
Every afternoon, they would play dvd's on the large flat screen tv, perfect for an anfternoon nap to get you ready for the night ahead. Then at 9pm the partying begins with all you can drinks specials then off to some amazing bars and clubs within the rising cock family. We were lucky enough to be there with a jungle themed party and I recommend you dont miss out on the booze cruise (sat and wed).
The rooms and the entire hostel was very safe and not at any moment did i worry about my belongings.
I dont advise this hostel to anyone who wants a peaceful holiday and a full nights sleep but in saying that, I would be back in a heartbeat. This hostel has definately made Portugal my favourite country in Europe!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

this hostel has an awesome social vibe to it, so easy to meet a great group! if you don't want to party dont stay here though coz it gets super noisy! We had a super fun night out with a huge group of people! The rooms are really nice and really clean and well priced! they have 3 computers with free internet and a HUGE plasma tv screen.

The guy at reception was a real [--] but Mama and Papa who run the hostel are SOOOO nice and really welcoming and do everything they can to make you feel at home! overall i definately think if you're going to lagos, go here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Mama and Papa run this joint with passion... but don't expect to get any sleep. On arrival our check in was greeted by a friendly Australian who proceed to tell us most things, but forgot to give us a room key that work and a wrist band for discounts around the place. Our first night we made the mistake of checking in too late to party and proceeded to be placed in a room next to reception where everybody seems to hang out from about 2am-4am...
The blankets and pillows need an upgrade, with all the fun times they promote I imagine that they would need to be sterilised after each stay.
It was memorable and the was never someone too far away to help, however if you don't plan on doing things how they do things you may just run into trouble...
Great fun place, just don't stay there the whole time in Portugal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeniNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews