We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but not worth it”
Review of Rising Cock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Cock Hostel
Ranked #50 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The staff are friendly, location is great, the rooms suck and it's over priced. It's te popular and trendy place people mention.

Also, too many people go there as it's a party hostel Aka looking for a party people, not people that are the party.

All of Lagos is a party, you could sleep on a tent outside the city and make friends.

Stayed one night, checked out the next. I mean it's cool just totally not worth the cash as the rooms suck and the catch is it's a party place, who parties in a hostel anyways ehe you're in Lagos?!?

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

After travelling all around Europe it is safe to say that this was one of my favourite hostels. From the staff to the breakies in the morning to the amazing people staying there it was just perfect. Everyone staying there had a sense of family with mumma running around cattering to everyones needs, everyone getting along and the staff doing all the can to help you.
Must stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyharris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The coolest hostel I've ever been to. The staff is super friendly, funny and helpful, and also join the guests for parties! This is not the hostel to choose if you need a good night sleep, but if you're in Lagos to have fun it's definitely the best place to stay!

The rooms are descent, some with private bathrooms, and some without. (Then you use the "Golden Showers"). There is also a large common area, where we started the night playing drinking games. The location is also pretty close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjemperud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I absolutely loved it here. Mama and Papa were just amazing. The ppl I met there were wonderful. Everything is so close by. I defintely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay here. it was secure (lockers with keys) in every room. 24hr entry. You have got to go on the booze cruise here too. That was HECTIC! lol The rooms are perfect. We had 5 ppl in our 4 bed room and mama so kindly offered us a pullout bed, no extra cost. Walk out of the door and BAM there are cafes/bars all around. A quick walk to the beach, you can see it from the hostel. STAY HERE :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneylily86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

During a study abroad trip in Sevilla, Spain, a few of us took a bus to Lagos, Portugal. We stayed at the Rising Cock Hostel, which was absolutely hilarious and wonderful. Selmo, the owner, was cool and helpful, and his mother makes crepes for all the hostel guests every morning. Selmo's restaurant, Nanah Bah, had delicious, fresh food, and the other guests at the hostel were friendly and told us all the bars to go to while in town. During the day we sipped sangria on the beach and went cliff diving. The beaches there are the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. The sunsets are incredible, the water is warm, the food is great, the people are friendly. At night, we went to the Three Monkeys and the other bars in town, which all have great drink specials and fun games to play (like the International beer bong competition).
I had never heard of Lagos prior to traveling there, but you can bet I will be back the first chance I get.

2  Thank NinaBrunello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

How can you not be a lifelong Rising Cock fan? We were there for 3 days/2 nights and could not have possibly had a more amazing time. If you're looking for a quiet, lame, relaxing weekend in Portugal, then Lagos and the Rising Cock are not for you. If you're looking for a fun, potentially rowdy trip, then DON'T MISS THE RISING COCK!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Rising Cock is on the far side of town (over a mile walk from the bus station), but once you are there the location is great. Quick 5 min walk down to the amazing beaches. Nah Nah Bah is right across the street for some good food and drinks. Also, Three Monkeys is right around the corner for some beer funnelling fun!

The hostel has free internet but the wireless wasn't working. There is a common roon with TV (perfect for zoning out and watching movies after a long day on the beach). There is an outdoor patio area for smoking. They also have a vending machine that sells beers.

The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with directions and advice.

The rooms were just Average (bunks). Lagos is a party town so don't expect a quite night sleep in the hostel. Go out have fun and return late!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#37 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#14 of 138 in Lagos
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#4 of 138 in Lagos
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa do Sol Algarve
Casa do Sol Algarve
#65 of 138 in Lagos
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Chill Hostel
Big Chill Hostel
#76 of 138 in Lagos
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagos City Center Guest House & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Cock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Cock Hostel

Address: Travessa do Forno 14, Lagos 8600-632, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $22 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rising Cock Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing