We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining in Lagos”

Restaurante dos Artistas
Reserve with
Restaurante dos Artistas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 391 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $96
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant dos Artistas, located in the historic center of Lagos, is undoubtedly a reference point for anyone who visiting Algarve in Portugal. Existing since over 15 years, in a building with over 250 years full of history and atmosphere. We practice a gourmet international cuisine, using region and international ingredients. Recognized by Guia Michelin as a excellent restaurant, with international chefs, we offer the best dishes not only meat, fish and seafood but also vegetarians. Used to hold events and receive groups, having a service with attention to every detail. We hope your visit soon.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Lagos”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to this restaurant for our wedding anniversary and we were immediately impressed by the welcome we received. The waiting staff were very attentive and wished us a happy anniversary before showing us to a table which they had decorated especially for the occasion. The food itself is definitely fine dining rather than a hearty meal and was some of the best we had during our week in Lagos. The only reason we did not rate this 5 is that it for us it was a little bit of style over substance but that is down to our personal taste. We were offered a strawberry Bellini as an apperitif which was delicious. To start we had the walnut risotto and sea scallops, both of which were excellent. I had the tuna steak as a main course which I felt was slightly over cooked for my taste as was my husband´s fillet of beef - he asked for médium but it was more like medium-well. That said, these are only very minor points on what was a lovely evening in a romantic setting. Definitely book in advance if you want a courtyard table but be prepared to pay top end prices for the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    151
    45
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A class of its own”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Artistas restaurant in Lagos serves a tasting menu that can be highly recommended.

Quality food in its own class, where compliments seemed superfluous as each course confirmed their skills: a Michelin restaurant.

Looking forward to leaving our evening in their hands again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Please don't keep filling my wine glass until I have finished!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

On a very warm night what was a lovely meal, was slightly spoilt by the waiter continually topping up our wine and water before we had finished. A ploy for us to drink more? Well it worked on the water but not the wine. All it did was make our white wine warm!

Please do not spoil such lovely food this way........that said I could not fault the food, it was delicious ......!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pottypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Nosh!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I don't really know where to start with this one because it was so amazing. I have eaten in a lot of mitchelin star restaurants in a few places in Europe but this by a long shot, has topped them all.

The service from the outset was remarkable, our waiter recommended the apple belini aperetif to begin with which was sensational. Our couvert consisted of three types of fresh bread just out of the oven and four types of spreads; garlic butter, homemade butter, cous cous and fois gras.
There was an amuse bouche from the chef thrown into the meal of chowder and a side salad which was incredible. Starters, mains, right through to the coffee presentation with petit fours was exquisite and everything tasted that divine, you would nearly eat the table!
I am only sorry we did not return for a second night before the end of our trip but I would without fail visit this restaurant if holidaying in Lagos.

5 out of 5!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey_baby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Surprise”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Came across Artistas whilst walking through Lagos's side streets with my wife; it looked welcoming so we booked it for the evening. Food was as good as we have eaten in some Michelin restaurants. Didn't know much about Portugese wines and asked for recommendation. Although we didn't specify a budget, waitress was superb and recommended the house white. Like the food, it too was absolutely first class. So good that we went back again before the end of the holiday!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiem369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante dos Artistas also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante dos Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing