We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Agree with previous reviews - clean, tidy, good location and value for money if your expectations are realistic. We were there for 2 nights.
3 issues however which spoiled our enjoyment of a rather charming hotel in its own way.
1. First morning no hot water. Staff we're charming and apologetic but that does not compensate for no shower or bath to start the day after you have been travelling. No compensation offered.
2. Very hard bed may suit some people but it killed my back so be warned.
3. No fresh orange juice or oranges for breakfast! In a city where dozens of orange trees laden with ripe fruit can be found on every street corner - surely this is unforgivable? The sugar and additive laden excuse for orange juice offered was undrinkable so we went across the road to a cafe for fresh juice.
However all the positives stressed by other reviewers are valid insomuch that staff are friendly and helpful in French and English. So I can recommend this to anyone on a budget for a short stay - but go with realistic expectations from a 3 star facility. No restaurant but plenty to choose from within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 432 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Don't let the somber pictures on the website fool you.... this is an excellent choice if you want one night in Faro. The city location was ideal to savor the delights of Faro..... from the start the reception was generous and informative with staff speaking native English, very helpful and thoughtful. We accidentally left gloves & boots outside in the car park behind the hotel and the staff kept these until we could recover them 2 days later.... Clean, tidy functional... and they even had Chelsea TV if you like that sort of thing...Thanks...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalarquitecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Positives - A young lady with excellent English, checked us in. She was very polite and helpful. The room was basic but clean and tidy. Fresh sheets and towels every day. A voucher for the wifi had to be obtained from the reception each day for each device, it worked fine. Breakfast was a buffet type affair, plenty of choice and good fresh food.

Negatives - The bathroom was clean and tidy except for the bath. The bath was in a very poor state. Peeling paint all over. We didn't have a bath in it just used it for a quick shower. We had a drink in the bar one evening before we went out for dinner. There were 4 people in the bar area (family members we presumed) and they were helping themselves to drinks. When we wanted another drink we would have to get up and go to reception to ask them when it would have been very easy for the people helping themselves to get us a drink too. We were watching a match on the main TV and were well into the 2nd half when Grandma came into the hotel and after a few minutes changed channels to watch another match. We tried to engage with them but were ignored. It didn't feel like a hotel bar. It felt more like we were in their sitting room.

Overall - Mixed feelings. Any staff we met in the Hotel were friendly and helpful, except for the time in the bar. We were the only ones paying for anything and were just ignored. The rate we paid was very reasonable for a 5 day stay, and the room, whilst basic, was clean and tidy, yet the bath in the room was disgusting. The bath had not gone like that overnight. How much would it cost for a new bath or to repaint it?

Would I stay here again? Would anybody at the Hotel be bothered either way?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nov71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I would be remiss if I did not comment regarding your experience with us. We are a very family orientated hotel and treat our clientele as part of our family, which has always been our appeal to our customers. To hear that you were ignored in our lobby bar is very unsettling. Our goal is to make you feel home away from home and include you in our daily conversations, activites and overall atmosphere. We always have family members and staff on hand to engage with our customers and I apologize if you did not experience this treatment. Our informal nature is appealing to the majority of our clientele and we just want everyone to feel comfortable and stress free while staying in Faro. I do indeed care whether or not you return and urge you to contact me directly should you plan to visit Faro again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lisa Vieira Canada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week as part of a vacation. The hotel is relatively small and homely. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. It is only a short taxi ride from Faro airport and located close to Faro town centre. The bus and rail station are almost together and an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. The room was a little Spartan and would benefit from small things like a picture or two on the walls, but that's not important. The en suite was the usual thing. IMPORTANT THINGS ! The room/en suite was really very clean (no insects, none at all) and, the air con unit was relatively new and worked very well, it really was very effective with a remote that worked. They frequently don't. The room was serviced every day, no complaints other than the small point about being a little plain, but we were not there to stay in the room for 7 days.
Albufeira and Lagos are easily accessible via bus or train. The train is a little cheaper than the bus and I recommend the bus to Albufeira because the train station is very awkward to get to while the bus drops closer to the town centre. Lagos is definitely a train ride and is about £10 return. Overall no complaints about this value for money hotel. If you want luxury, be prepared to pay a lot more than you will for the Dom Bernado.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm16111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you taking time to review our hotel. We strive for cleanliness and I personally inspect guestrooms on a regular basis. It is nice to hear that everything was in working order and as you would have expected. We do our best to make you comfortable and every a home away from home! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa Vieira Canada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

OK so the Hotel isn't on the beach and doesn't have a private swimming pool but with a 10 minute walk into the beautiful picturesque Faro Marina and old town with its numerous bars and restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to the bus station and train station and only a short drive from the airport at the cost of 13 euro for 2 people, The Dom Bernardo is ideally situated for anyone wanting to visit Faro and the surrounding areas
The rooms are simple and VERY clean - hair dryer, towels, wi-fi and safe provided within the cost. Use of tea/coffee making facilities free of charge upon request and for a 10 euro refundable deposit there is the key to the mini-bar that you can choose to use and stock yourself or stock from the very reasonably priced hotel bar.
Breakfast is a cold buffet breakfast with a large selection of food and drinks
Lisa, her family and her employees make this a hotel not to be missed .
We had never visited Portugal before but Lisa recommended some places to visit/eat and everyone of her recommendations turned out great!
I would not have any reservations recommending this hotel to anyone no matter what ther budget is!

THANK YOU LISA & HER TEAM X

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be a good room as there is disabled access and a lift to all floors. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you!! It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel to the fullest. We really want everyone to leave feeling like part of our family. Thank you for selecting our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!!!

Kind regards,
Lisa V. Canada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My stay here was unplanned due to my Dad being admitted to Faro hospital with pneumonia.
The hotel was superbly placed for visiting the hospital but the thing that separates this hotel from any other is the people.
We were obviously worried about my Dad's health and unsure of so much being in a foreign country but Lisa and her team were always available with advice, help, support and a reassuring warmth that made us feel very much like a part of the family.
I have never experienced service like this and I have stayed in many top class hotels in various countries but I doubt if my experience here will ever be surpassed.
The hotel may only be 3 star and is simple in its decor and approach but it is exceptionally well managed, very clean with lovely beds and bedding and is ideally located for the hospital, the airport, the gorgeous Port and the shopping delights of Faro.
We had a fantastic time under the worst circumstances and the memory of the warmth and support we received will never, ever leave me.
I would highly recommend this hotel and more importantly, their team, to everyone. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make their guests feel welcome, warm and safe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

What can I say about your review? I am so happy to have met you and your parents and am so happy that everything worked out so well!! It always makes us smile when clients come out of the hospital and go home feeling good! I am also happy to have gained a friend and hope to see you back soon for a girls shopping weekend!

All the best,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hello, just wanted to say Lisa was brilliant, especially with information sharing to insurance and family, in our situation as my father was ill in hospital which was five minutes away. We nicknamed her nurse Lisa as she was helpful with everything that we needed or wanted. If there was anything missing it was a sign above reception saying 'Nurse Lisa.' Thank you Lisa and to the rest of the staff they were brilliant. So if anyone is looking for a hotel to stay in for a holiday or family situation with family members in hospital then this is the place to go. P.S. My father is doing great. from the Coyne Family. x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
454 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo

Address: Rua General Teofilo da Trindade 20, Faro 8000-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $31 - $991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the heart of the city, Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo is a three star, family run property. We provide you with a very high level of personalized service, our hotel is your home away from home. Our 43 guestrooms have LCD TVs with +30 cable channels, complimentary WiFi, minibars, direct dial telephones, individual air-conditioning units, radio clock, private bathrooms with hair dryers, ample closet space, two pillows per bed and in-room safes. Let us help you experience the best that Faro has to offer with our professionally trained, bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dom Bernardo
Best Western Faro
Faro Best Western
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing