We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Service - With a SMILE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed October 23, 2013

OK so the Hotel isn't on the beach and doesn't have a private swimming pool but with a 10 minute walk into the beautiful picturesque Faro Marina and old town with its numerous bars and restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to the bus station and train station and only a short drive from the airport at the cost of 13 euro for 2 people, The Dom Bernardo is ideally situated for anyone wanting to visit Faro and the surrounding areas
The rooms are simple and VERY clean - hair dryer, towels, wi-fi and safe provided within the cost. Use of tea/coffee making facilities free of charge upon request and for a 10 euro refundable deposit there is the key to the mini-bar that you can choose to use and stock yourself or stock from the very reasonably priced hotel bar.
Breakfast is a cold buffet breakfast with a large selection of food and drinks
Lisa, her family and her employees make this a hotel not to be missed .
We had never visited Portugal before but Lisa recommended some places to visit/eat and everyone of her recommendations turned out great!
I would not have any reservations recommending this hotel to anyone no matter what ther budget is!

THANK YOU LISA & HER TEAM X

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be a good room as there is disabled access and a lift to all floors. Th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you!! It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel to the fullest. We really want everyone to leave feeling like part of our family. Thank you for selecting our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!!!

Kind regards,
Lisa V. Canada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

My stay here was unplanned due to my Dad being admitted to Faro hospital with pneumonia.
The hotel was superbly placed for visiting the hospital but the thing that separates this hotel from any other is the people.
We were obviously worried about my Dad's health and unsure of so much being in a foreign country but Lisa and her team were always available with advice, help, support and a reassuring warmth that made us feel very much like a part of the family.
I have never experienced service like this and I have stayed in many top class hotels in various countries but I doubt if my experience here will ever be surpassed.
The hotel may only be 3 star and is simple in its decor and approach but it is exceptionally well managed, very clean with lovely beds and bedding and is ideally located for the hospital, the airport, the gorgeous Port and the shopping delights of Faro.
We had a fantastic time under the worst circumstances and the memory of the warmth and support we received will never, ever leave me.
I would highly recommend this hotel and more importantly, their team, to everyone. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make their guests feel welcome, warm and safe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

What can I say about your review? I am so happy to have met you and your parents and am so happy that everything worked out so well!! It always makes us smile when clients come out of the hospital and go home feeling good! I am also happy to have gained a friend and hope to see you back soon for a girls shopping weekend!

All the best,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hello, just wanted to say Lisa was brilliant, especially with information sharing to insurance and family, in our situation as my father was ill in hospital which was five minutes away. We nicknamed her nurse Lisa as she was helpful with everything that we needed or wanted. If there was anything missing it was a sign above reception saying 'Nurse Lisa.' Thank you Lisa and to the rest of the staff they were brilliant. So if anyone is looking for a hotel to stay in for a holiday or family situation with family members in hospital then this is the place to go. P.S. My father is doing great. from the Coyne Family. x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a double room for the two of us. Upon arrival we were told we actually had a kingsize bed (albeit two singles pushed together - but bonus!).

We got a taxi (10 euros) from Faro airport and arrived around 3 hours too early for check-in but were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel while we explored the city. We were given a map and highlighted points of interest and the best places to eat and drink - excellent service.
We explored for a while and then got back about 20 minutes too early for check-in so we sat in the lobby and watched the television in there to be told that our room was already ready for us!

Room is basic - clean and comfortable, with a television, full length mirror and a dressing table, plenty of hanging space for clothes. Perfect for a city break when you want a hotel just to sleep and shower in. Rooms aren't very soundproof but I only imagine it could be a problem if you are there during the day - didn't bother us at all. Toilet was a bit weird, we had to twist a little tap by the side of it to get it to work; other than that bathroom was functional and spacious with fresh towels and shower gel / shampoo. Again more than I expected from such a low-cost hotel!

Best points: LOCATION IS EXCELLENT - literally about a five-ten minute walk to anywhere you need to be. SERVICE - all staff were friendly and went above and beyond. VALUE.

Negatives: BREAKFAST was a bit disappointing - I booked through LastMinute and paid €5 each per day (I have since read a review where Lisa said that it is a complimentary breakfast so may have to have words with them???) - it consisted of bread, a few slices of cooked meat, brie, some cereal, tea, coffee and some watery juices. The coffee definitely made up for it...!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samnairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We didn't pay much for our room as it was just a quick stopover on our way to the Algarve. For what we paid the room was perfect, very central and most of all the staff were so welcoming and helpful pointing out all of the local attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Please trust me and do not stay here unless you want to sleep in a complete dive, 1 star hotel, really disappointed as reviews looked good - things all hanging off walls, really shabby everything, poor terrible place and the breakfast was comically bad, Definitely would gamble on a boutique hotel for the same price (90 Euro's for a night, ouch for that hideous place, never again!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

I must say I was quite surprised at your review. We take great pride in offering outstanding service and all the amenites required for a pleasant stay while in Faro, Portugal. We are a family run, three star hotel located just 10 minutes from the center of town. Perhaps you thought you were booking a five star hotel and not a three star, family run property. We offer complimentary WiFi, a complimentary computer in the lobby, 24 hour reception and bar service and a complimentary buffet continental breakfast. The exact items we advertise on all of our public pages. Our rates are in line with comparitive hotels in the city and our pictures are up to date and exactly what you receive upon arrival. Perhaps a four or five star hotel would better suit your needs. Happy future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel staff were helpful. Room good size. Disappointing that we had to read the hotel information located in our room to find out that we could have electric jug for tea and coffee making. Also 10.00 euros deposit for the key to be able to use the fridge and 10.00 euros deposit for the safety deposit box. The room was clean, lots of restaurants, cafe's within easy walking distance. Great bakery three doors down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,604 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo

Address: Rua General Teofilo da Trindade 20, Faro 8000-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $32 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the heart of the city, Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo is a three star, family run property. We provide you with a very high level of personalized service, our hotel is your home away from home. Our 43 guestrooms have LCD TVs with +30 cable channels, complimentary WiFi, minibars, direct dial telephones, individual air-conditioning units, radio clock, private bathrooms with hair dryers, ample closet space, two pillows per bed and in-room safes. Let us help you experience the best that Faro has to offer with our professionally trained, bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dom Bernardo
Best Western Faro
Faro Best Western
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing