We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service sans smile”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Service sans smile”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second choice hotel our first having been a disaster so we were ready to compromise a little. 3 star it certainly is and just about worth the price. Clean it certainly is but not spotless. The room was average to small with an ok functioning bathroom. Breakfast was ok and the one quick pasta lunch we had in the café was fine , we have to compliment them for opening the kitchen up after their normal hours for us. The aircon did not work and despite promises was not fixed until the last day of our five night stay. The reception was a bit touchy - they tried to blame the ac fault on open windows which we opened BECAUSE there was no ac so there was a difference of opinion. The location was so ideal that we have to give it a very good but the service was without a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Sundowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    157
    105
    22
    11
See reviews for
36
173
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and arrived around 630pm. I was greeted by a lovely very easy going receptionist who gave me every information about the hotel, rooms, breakfast times, and even told me where I could go to do my laundry if I didn't want to use their services. That evening I accidentally broke a glass in the room and I personally came down stairs to ask for a brush and pan. She was more than happy to come up and clean the glass up for me. I offered but she was definite about coming and had a lovely chat and they were very understanding. As for the other receptionists... very dry! Personality of a dead camel!!!!!!!! Very straightforward and not the Portuguese hospitality every one raves on about. One night at the restaurant I had a meal of grilled beef with vegetables. Unfortunately the meat had a strange smell to it. It could have been a fish sauce or something but it didn't taste the best. I spoke to the waitress about the meat and she got all defensive saying that the meat was fresh and she saw the cook take it out herself. Anyone would think she owned the abattoir and I was having a go at her cattle! LOL. Wasn't something I expected. Kinda almost felt embarrassed i even mentioned it. She was very apologetic about it later and I survived the bad smell.
So, over all, service is only good when the night receptionist is about . LOL.
Room a little meh, mini bar is dodgy, never knew I could smoke on the balcony LOL. If i knew that I'd have stoppd doing the "nigel no friends" out the front of the hotel! LOL.
beds are hard and pillows so need to be replaced!.
Location is fantastic but for a newbie in town you need to ask for directions.
My lesson in Faro - Learn a little portuguese so you don't get treated like you're some upper class ignorant snob! I do know Falo Inglese LOL.

Room Tip: if you're a smoker, ASK if you can smoke on the balcony. I only realised this from another trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhysiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Santa Maria on the 8th and 9th of Sept 2013. We were welcomed by friendly staff and advised about free parking for our car very nearby. The hotel's location is perfect for discovering Faro and we could reach all the places we wanted to visit on foot. We enjoyed the free Wifi and could contact our children in South Africa. The hotel also recommended. a restaurant where we could enjoy a light meal after 10 o'clockon the noght of our arrival. This hotel was good value for money.. The breakfast was really good and we started our holiday in Portugal on a high note.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisigerPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location is fantastic as has been mentioned by others.
I am a smoker but smoking was restricted to very small balcony - I don't have a problem with that but an ashtray and seat on the balcony would have been appreciated.
Personally I found the room a little small but spotlessly clean. The bed was very hard and I found this rather uncomfortable but that's a matter of personal preference. Bathroom had shower only and was very small indeed.
Like other recent reviewers found that breakfast was perfectly fine with a reasonable variety, given the class of hotel. I found the quality of the food acceptable for the grade of hotel. Supplies were replenished when necessary and staff visible and pleasant.
Another reviewer mentioned the reception staff and I agree that they did not volunteer information but whenever I asked them for information they were pleasant and helpful and I found that they had all the information I required. Although plans are not provided in the room, if you ask reception staff they will provide a small plan of Faro with information as to restaurants and attractions.
My biggest gripe (and not really anything to do with the hotel) was the noise and disruption from the pastelaria across the road from my room which was disruptive at all hours of the day and night. Despite reasonable double glazing I was awoken several times in the early hours of the morning by staff and patrons of the pastelaria.

Room Tip: If possible avoid rooms facing Rua de Portugal because of noise from surrounding establishments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location - right in the middle of the city centre and only 5 minutes walk from the marina. Rooms were fairly large and clean.

Breakfast quality wasn't very good but amounts sufficient.

On the whole and enjoyable experience and will definately be returned here in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Chose this hotel for a weeks stay while in Algavre. Overall, I would score it 5 out of 10 for a 3 star hotel.

Location: The location is superb. It's right in the middle of center, 5min walk to marina, 10min walk to bus and train stations. Surrounded by shops and restaurants, yet quiet street. Location wise it would score 10 out of 10.

Facilities: Facilities were okay. Big room, great bathroom, shower (which was awesome) and a bath tub. We booked a double room, got a twin room instead, but we're not fussy so we just pushed the beds together. Pillows were rather old and out of shape. Mini bar was not refreshed for several days. But still- facilities overall would score 8/9 out of 10.

Bfast: Reading other reviews, noted several complaints about breakfast. I'm not sure what the problem seemed to be for the others. Bfast buffet was perfectly fine, there was a full variety of continental as well as full bfast items, Monday through Friday it was replenished fine, tables cleaned quickly, manager was visible and on duty, helping the waiters. The was one little girl waitress- she is a legend running around at a speed of light, truly impressive! Weekends (I saw two of them) it was slightly different, no manager and the girl was on her on with full house the first weekend, and had another girl helping her the second weekend. All in all, bfast would score 9 out of 10.

The biggest let-down for me- having over 6 years in hotel management industry overall- was the reception. Unfortunately, it would only score 3 out of 10. When checking-in, our questions if the hotel is busy and how is everything overall, were met by "yes, my employer would be happy". Neither of the reception team asked us how our stay was, neither of them recommended any attractions in the city/country, and unfortunately, neither of the reception team would lift their head from their phones/PC to great us or any other guest when they walk in/pass by. This is not a 3 star standard. One of the day time receptionists could not even advise where the beach is or how to get there, so we just booked a taxi. Very little info was provided when asked about the tours they advertise in the main lobby, it took two receptionists to get the minimal info about it, so we ended up booking it elsewhere.

Only the female receptionist who was mainly doing late shifts Mon through Friday was more talkative/welcoming than the others.

Overall, the hotel does what it says in the tin. Great location to stay over for some time, but would not invest the holiday expectations into it. The pricing was also very reasonable.

Room Tip: rooms are fine, receptions was a let-down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulTarbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel can be standard as a good 3 star. It has a good location, reception staff cooperates and try to help the guests when they complain( some guests had complains about the rooms). My wife and I got a room with very small double bed. Each mattress was not more than 70 cm). The receptionist responded to our complain, so we got another rom with 2 separated small beds. We found that both the air condition and the minibar did not working properly. We tried to accept that and did not complain more. The room was hot like a sauna rom and we had not cold water. We tolerated that in 3 days. Then we complained again. Lastly we got a proper room.
It is highly recommended that all the old air-condtions and minibars be changed . All the rooms should have a proper and reasonable standard. It is unacceptable that some rooms has so bad standard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana Omer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Faro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Property: Stay Hotel
Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Hotel Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing