We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable price, BUT many of the rooms have low standard, specially airconditioning.”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel can be standard as a good 3 star. It has a good location, reception staff cooperates and try to help the guests when they complain( some guests had complains about the rooms). My wife and I got a room with very small double bed. Each mattress was not more than 70 cm). The receptionist responded to our complain, so we got another rom with 2 separated small beds. We found that both the air condition and the minibar did not working properly. We tried to accept that and did not complain more. The room was hot like a sauna rom and we had not cold water. We tolerated that in 3 days. Then we complained again. Lastly we got a proper room.
It is highly recommended that all the old air-condtions and minibars be changed . All the rooms should have a proper and reasonable standard. It is unacceptable that some rooms has so bad standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana Omer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in faro for three nights. We were 4 people in total hence had to book two rooms as no provision for 4 people to share one room.
One of the rooms was nice n clean however the other smelled of damp n the shower head was broken.
Both had air conditioning which was a life saver considering the heat of faro.
Hotel is within walking distance of all attractions.
Breakfast was adequate however need to get down early as stocks finish quickly and are not replenished. Juices tasted like flavoured water.
Staff were generally friendly.
A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbrjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel in central Faro, a very good choice for any kind of traveler. Very simple, but clean rooms, pleasant receptionists, good breakfast. Also, as mentioned by other reviewers, a great bakery right across the street, left Faro loaded with some nice things from there.
The only downside is that I could not get the wifi working the night we stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarbelAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London, United Kingdom
3120
Reviewed June 14, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good value for money hotel, clean and decent looking. Friendly staff, good parking possibility in the streets around. Breakfast was also quite ok without being a huge buffet. PS there is a popular bakery across the street with a good selection of the delicious Portuguese pastries and cakes. Full of locals on Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice location and price. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Had a car spot for the hotel right on the front door, which was very convenient.
Stayed on room 208 and was very pleased by the silence, even though its a rather busy street.
Breakfast was ok, with nice bread, but had to wait for the waitress to clear tables left unattended for too long.
Good place if you have business in the center or just like to walk around.

Room Tip: 208 is quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joao_serra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos, antes de mais, de agradecer o seu comentário.
Relativamente à situação no decorrer do serviço de pequeno-almoço, informamos que tentaremos resolver com a maior brevidade uma vez que a origem do mesmo está identificado. Podemos adiantar que o problema não se coloca sempre, apenas se coloca em alguns momentos e com a conjugação de determinados factores.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review.
Regarding the problem with breakfast service we are going to try to solve the problem as soon as possible since the source of the problem is identified. We can say that this situation are not on regular basis, are very punctual and only when a number of factors combine.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Santa Maria for the first night of our holidays. The room was fine, albeit a very strange shape. Everything was clean and tidy and we did not notice any undue noise from other patrons.

However breakfast was a complete and utter fiasco. One poor young woman was trying to cope with the management of the entire procedure - as a result of this just nothing was refilled or replaced. We had to ask for cups, for plates for cutlery. There was precious little left to eat and the whole experience was unpleasant. We had a cup of coffee and left.

The management need to seriously address this problem as it is one other customers have commented before on and their reaction seems to be be to do nothing. For my part I would never stay here again. When on a holiday a relaxing stress free breakfast seems to me to be an essential and not something that is difficult to provide . This hotel was unwilling or unable to provide such a facility. I do not of course blame the young woman who was doing her best in very trying circumstances but rather I blame the managers who put her in this position, and given the fact that the problem has been pointed out to them previously seem to be contemptuous of their customers

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos antes de mais de agradecer o seu comentário uma vez que nos ajuda a melhorar os serviços existentes no Hotel.

Lamentamos no entanto que a sua experiencia no nosso Hotel não tenha sido agradável.

Relativamente às situações apontadas e que se prendem com o serviço de pequeno-almoço gostaríamos de informar que a origem dos problemas estão identificadas e que estamos a tomar medidas para os resolver. Infelizmente para nós não são de solução fácil ainda que possam parecer. Podemos adiantar que o problema não se coloca sempre, apenas se coloca em alguns momentos e com a conjugação de determinados factores.

A direcção do Hotel está atenta à qualidade dos serviços prestados no hotel, lê e analisa quase todos os comentários dos seus hóspedes quer nas redes sociais, inquéritos de satisfação e comentários em portais de viagens. No entanto agradecemos o reforço da necessidade de o fazer.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review as it gives us tools to improve the service to our guests.
We are sorry that your experience in Hotel Santa Maria was not pleasant.
Regarding the situations pointed and that concern breakfast we would like to inform that the source of the problems are identified and we are taking action to solve them as soon as possible. Regretfully for us they not of easy solution as it may seem. We can say that this situation are not on regular basis, are very punctual and only when a number of factors combine.

Management is attentive to service standards, reads and analyses almost all of the guest reviews in social networks, travel portals and internal inquiries. Nevertheless we thank the words on the need to do so.
Looking forward to welcome you in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Hotel Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing