We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in city center”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice location and price. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Had a car spot for the hotel right on the front door, which was very convenient.
Stayed on room 208 and was very pleased by the silence, even though its a rather busy street.
Breakfast was ok, with nice bread, but had to wait for the waitress to clear tables left unattended for too long.
Good place if you have business in the center or just like to walk around.

Room Tip: 208 is quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joao_serra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos, antes de mais, de agradecer o seu comentário.
Relativamente à situação no decorrer do serviço de pequeno-almoço, informamos que tentaremos resolver com a maior brevidade uma vez que a origem do mesmo está identificado. Podemos adiantar que o problema não se coloca sempre, apenas se coloca em alguns momentos e com a conjugação de determinados factores.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review.
Regarding the problem with breakfast service we are going to try to solve the problem as soon as possible since the source of the problem is identified. We can say that this situation are not on regular basis, are very punctual and only when a number of factors combine.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Santa Maria for the first night of our holidays. The room was fine, albeit a very strange shape. Everything was clean and tidy and we did not notice any undue noise from other patrons.

However breakfast was a complete and utter fiasco. One poor young woman was trying to cope with the management of the entire procedure - as a result of this just nothing was refilled or replaced. We had to ask for cups, for plates for cutlery. There was precious little left to eat and the whole experience was unpleasant. We had a cup of coffee and left.

The management need to seriously address this problem as it is one other customers have commented before on and their reaction seems to be be to do nothing. For my part I would never stay here again. When on a holiday a relaxing stress free breakfast seems to me to be an essential and not something that is difficult to provide . This hotel was unwilling or unable to provide such a facility. I do not of course blame the young woman who was doing her best in very trying circumstances but rather I blame the managers who put her in this position, and given the fact that the problem has been pointed out to them previously seem to be contemptuous of their customers

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos antes de mais de agradecer o seu comentário uma vez que nos ajuda a melhorar os serviços existentes no Hotel.

Lamentamos no entanto que a sua experiencia no nosso Hotel não tenha sido agradável.

Relativamente às situações apontadas e que se prendem com o serviço de pequeno-almoço gostaríamos de informar que a origem dos problemas estão identificadas e que estamos a tomar medidas para os resolver. Infelizmente para nós não são de solução fácil ainda que possam parecer. Podemos adiantar que o problema não se coloca sempre, apenas se coloca em alguns momentos e com a conjugação de determinados factores.

A direcção do Hotel está atenta à qualidade dos serviços prestados no hotel, lê e analisa quase todos os comentários dos seus hóspedes quer nas redes sociais, inquéritos de satisfação e comentários em portais de viagens. No entanto agradecemos o reforço da necessidade de o fazer.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review as it gives us tools to improve the service to our guests.
We are sorry that your experience in Hotel Santa Maria was not pleasant.
Regarding the situations pointed and that concern breakfast we would like to inform that the source of the problems are identified and we are taking action to solve them as soon as possible. Regretfully for us they not of easy solution as it may seem. We can say that this situation are not on regular basis, are very punctual and only when a number of factors combine.

Management is attentive to service standards, reads and analyses almost all of the guest reviews in social networks, travel portals and internal inquiries. Nevertheless we thank the words on the need to do so.
Looking forward to welcome you in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Wireless does not work properly. Good location, very central. Room was clean even if quite small. The man at the reception was not really nice and he wrote down on a piece of paper my credit card number, expiry date, three digits code: he said it's "the way or works". Not sure this is a correct procedure.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and found the rooms very small and basic walls were very thin and you could hear every noise in the room beside you and above you if you were not down early for breakfast the choice was very limited as they didn't seem to top it up and the staff didn't speak very good english, and where not friendly

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skanker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Gostaríamos, antes de mais, de agradecer o seu comentário.

Relativamente à situação no decorrer do serviço de pequeno-almoço, informamos que tentaremos resolver com a maior brevidade uma vez que a origem do mesmo está identificado. Podemos adiantar que o problema não se coloca sempre, apenas se coloca em alguns momentos e com a conjugação de determinados factores.

Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.



Thank you very much for your review.

Regarding the problem with breakfast service we are going to try to solve the problem as soon as possible since the source of the problem is identified. We can say that this situation is not on regular basis, are very punctual and only when a number of factors combine.
The superior room type is larger than the standard that is a bit small.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Although I had booked a single room I was allocated a twin room which along with the bathroom and the rest of the hotel was very clean.
I only stayed for one night and did not arrive until the late evening but the gentleman on reception was extremely helpful and provided me with a map pointing out the bars and restaurants which would still be open late evening. He also pointed out the railway station and the best route to walk to it for my onward journey the next morning.
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the breakfast as along with the expected cold meats, cheese etc. there was hot food - scrambled eggs, beans, mushrooms, sausages.
The breakfast room was clean with staff in attendance to clear away used plates etc.
There is a restaurant at the hotel which serves lunch and dinner.
The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the marina and a 10/15 minute walk to the train station.
Overall a good quality hotel which I would recommend for a short break in Faro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Gostaríamos antes de mais de agradecer o seu comentário uma vez que nos ajuda a melhorar os serviços existentes no Hotel.
Estamos muito satisfeitos em saber que a sua experiencia no Hotel Santa Maria tenha estado de acordo com as suas expectativas e que recomenda o nosso Hotel a outras pessoas.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review as it gives us tools to improve the service to our guests.
We are very pleased to know that your experience in Hotel Santa Maria was good and that you recommend our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we were competing in a kettlebell competition The room was average we had booked for a double superior room. However the room we were given was average.

Overall the accommodation was good food okay with good choice and a nice place to stay

We will be returning for another competition later in the year and will definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrtNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos antes de mais de agradecer o seu comentário uma vez que nos ajuda a melhorar os serviços existentes no Hotel.
Estamos muito satisfeitos em saber que a sua experiencia no Hotel Santa Maria tenha estado de acordo com as suas expectativas e que recomenda o nosso Hotel a outras pessoas e que planeia voltar.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.

Thank you very much for your review as it gives us tools to improve the service to our guests.
We are very pleased to know that your experience in Hotel Santa Maria was good and that you recommend our Hotel to other and consider returning to our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in an excellent location. Booked through booking.com and got a great deal. I booked a standard single and was given a nice double room for the same price. Rooms were a good size and had ac. We were there for a sports comp and it was a great base for our team

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLynneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Gostaríamos antes de mais de agradecer o seu comentário uma vez que nos ajuda a melhorar os serviços existentes no Hotel.
Estamos muito satisfeitos em saber que a sua experiencia no Hotel Santa Maria tenha estado de acordo com as suas expectativas e que recomenda o nosso Hotel a outras pessoas e que planeia voltar.
Na expectativa de o receber em breve no Hotel Santa Maria.


Thank you very much for your review as it gives us tools to improve the service to our guests.
We are very pleased to know that your experience in Hotel Santa Maria was good and that you recommend our Hotel to other and consider returning to our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Santa Maria

Luis Catarino
Director Geral
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
463 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $41 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Hotel Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing