We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Hotel Faro Centro
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Pakistan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nice hotel, close to city centre

Rooms - Clean but a bit small
WCs: Good
Breakfast: Limited options but Good
Service: Good. wifi was not working in my room. I complained and they got it fixed within a day
No swimming pool, gym or any activity place

Room Tip: ask for discount. There rates are not very fixed and they can offer some discount if asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrahman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    156
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
36
169
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belcoo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The photo's do not do this little gem justice, it may not be big with 60 bedrooms but it has 5 star service with 4 star appearance and a 3 star price. An excellent choice for any stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

A warm welcome awaited us when we arrived at this hotel late at night. The hotel is newly refurbished and excellent decoration throughout - The staff are helpful. There is an excellent breakfast menu and a good coffee bar - you must try their cakes The hotel is next to the main pedestrian strret that leads to the marina only 8 minutes away - Do Visit this hotel

Room Tip: A lift serves all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isca47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived in Faro late in the afternoon on a Sunday expecting to go to the local tourist office and get help there to find a hotel. Unfortunately, they were closed so we drove around to see what we could find. We approached a couple of them but my husband did not want to pay the prices they were asking. While I was waiting for him, the owner of a litte store standing in her doorway waiting for business, came and asked if she could help me. I explained we were not quite sure where we were going to stay and that's when she pointed us to this hotel off the main streets between the sea and the old town. Perfect.
It is an older style european hotel, but very clean and comfortable.We got a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street as we wanted, for 74 euros, buffet breakfast included and much cheaper than the other hotels we looked at. We coud park our car on the street, free until Monday at 9am.
Hotel Santa Maria is very convenient to restaurants, shops, walking by the sea or through the pedestrian shopping area. The Front Desk people were helpful and friendly and there was just a pleasant atmosphere to the hotel. We ended up staying a couple of other nights using it as our base for travel to other parts of the Algarve.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reniemckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

well located - just off the pedestrain shopping area and a less than 10 minutes walk from the sea and approximate 15 minute walk from the station. Got a room stinking of cigarette smoke - reluctantly changed by the staff after 24 hours by which time our throats were already affected, As there were 3 of us in a room with my 15-year old son, definitely too cramped for a 3 night stay. The dinner service was slow and the food served was too cold. Definitely I would say "eat out"

Room Tip: rooms are tiny - okay for a max of a couple of nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Faro hotels

Glos.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the Santa Maria Hotel for a week at the beginning of August. We would definitely recommend this hotel based on our experience of it.

TRANSFER: As someone else mentioned, the busses go from directly outside the airport to the bus station (near the Marina) in Faro every hour or so and then the hotel is a five or ten minute walk from there (see Google Maps). A single costs 1.80 Euros.

LOCATION: The hotel is in a good location on the edge of a pedestrianised area that goes from the hotel to the Marina. We always felt safe around the hotel and the local area.

ROOM: We had room 301 and it was fairly modern and clean. There was always hot water from shower. Towels we had were fine (not threadbare) and were changed when left in the shower. Our room faced the road and there were no problems with noise from outside. Not any significant noise problems from neighbours, but we were at the end of the corridor. Noise from the airplanes was never a problem as they were always landing rather than taking off when we were there and they approach over the water. The AC was needed at night. My wife found the bed a little firm, but it was fine with me.

STAFF: The lady that checked us in was brilliant and gave us excellent advice on what to see in the town. The other staff at the hotel seemed friendly enough, efficient and happy.

BREAKFAST: Criticism of the fruit juices is valid (weak and sweet), but on the whole the breakfast offering was excellent. Included breads, rolls, cheeses (including brie), cold meats, cereals (six types), fruits, yogurts, English breakfast goodies (sausages, bacon, beans, mushrooms and scrambled eggs), pastries, fruit juices (six types), tea and coffee. Re comments about the coffee, I grind my own beans at home and IMO the coffee was fine. We did not eat there in the evening but I would recommend going B&B.

TRAINS: We took the train to Tavira one day. The trains are fairly regular and you can get a time table from the Station, which is a ten minute walk from the hotel. The return cost to Tavira was between four and five Euros.

BEACHES: We tried Ilha Deserta costing 10 Euros return; it has only one restaurant and is not populated - very attractive. Praia De Faro is just the other side of the airport and is a lot busier as it can be accessed by road - ferry costs only 3 Euros. Farol beach costs 5 Euros and is also busy because there are lots of apartments on it. If you only do one, I’d go to Ilha Deserta.

BEST: We liked the Cafe&Chocolat bar - good atmosphere and prices, as well as 70's and 80's music. Cinderella cafe opposite is good value - two pastries and two cappuccinos for 4 Euros.

WORSE: A lot of restaurants with seemingly the same menu. Do watch out for the coverage charges at some of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartInGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The good: great location for Faro centre and airport, very friendly staff with their helpful grainy photocopy maps, very good breakfast! free wifi
The bad: shockingly small rooms and bed - ask to see your room, smell of damp in room, connecting door meant you could hear everything in the room next door.
The ugly: THe shower was horrible - kept falling off the wall and dribbled like a pensioner, shower gel came in just 1 little sachet. terrible.
Also: Sneak up to the roof to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeroy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Faro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Faro Centro

Property: Stay Hotel Faro Centro
Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Faro Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Hotel Faro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Hotel Faro Centro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing