We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central little guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pensao Central

Pensao Central
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Faro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensao Central
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Faro
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great central little guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's a lovely, basic little guesthouse, 5mins walk from the bus station/train station and 3mins to the old town walls. Just behind Hotel Faro and Eva so very central. Lovely owner, little English but spoke French instead. Basic rooms but very clean and pleasant. Only slight downside the shop below my room decided to restock at 7am in the morning so a bit of an early wake-up but still good value for the money.

Room Tip: Away from the road might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gee505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
central scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Most reviews have said it all already. Its location is superb, not only convenient for both bus and rail station,near the waterfront, but also surrounded by restaurants and cafes plus a supermarket next door. Our room was large and airy with a nice big clean bathroom - hard to beat at the price.No breakfast, but plenty places nearby. Really pleasant, helpful hosts, though communication was done in a mixture of French and Spanish - they don't speak much, if any English. Would definitely stay again if we return to Faro.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

its not a spectacular place, dont expect much. its simple, clean, a very very friendly owner - an older gentleman. a place to stay and feel welcome, one where you can walk barefeet through room and bath without wondering what sticks to your toe. also, its a small place, and those who put five stars secretly might wish that it encourages others to go. i feel like that. preserve the good, home run places. there are enough chains in faro already.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel_and_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

the central is near the heart of the city of faro, a lovely pension, very clean and very friendly hosts. we stayed in a big room for 50€ without breakfast, with a lovely terrace. despite its central location, it's not too noisy, even if you hear the sounds of the cars or the voices of clients of the restaurants close by. we just closed the window and shut out the noise in that case.

i'd definitely stay there again next time i'll be in faro!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ctecvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

We were here in October, Loved the central location of this pension, close to the beautiful old town, waterfront, and bus depot. We found it easy to catch a bus to Taviro & Seville from here). The french man hosting was fabulous, very friendly and helped as best he could even though he did not speak much english. The room was great with a lovely little balcony over looking the street below. Being October (off peak) we found the rate very reasonable & we still had 30 degree weather every day! The only negative thing (that couldn't be helped by the hotel) was that there is a supermarket below that starts stocking shelves early in the morning, we were woken by the sound of trollies being dragged along the cobblestones, but we didn't mind the early wake up call as we were keen to make the most of every day there! I would recommend this place for couples or travellers on a budget that would like something more comfortable & private than a hostel. They did have rooms for 3-4 people as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
5.7 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay Hotel Faro Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Central

Property: Pensao Central
Address: Lg Terreiro Bispo 10 / 12, Faro 8000-156, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Number of rooms: 309
Also Known As:
Pensao Central Hotel Faro
Pensao Central Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing