We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central & not expensive place to stay in Algarve” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel 33

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel 33
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central & not expensive place to stay in Algarve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I find the hostel with professional staff allways very friendly. Excellent dinner done by chef Ugo, which are among the best meals I had in my trip. Paintings in the reception looks great! A good place to stay in Faro

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurbax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
12
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

it was a very nice surprise, to get such a quality service in a hostel, but we're happy that we found it :) very clean... we loved the service, the view from the roof, the homemade food (including the breakfast, which was included in the price, pretty rich, like in a good hotel). the people working there were lovely to us (they gave us so much help and information - everything we needed about the best places to visit in the city). so, we recommend this place and we'll go back there, that's for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 870Violeta_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was the highlight of my trip! Hostel 33 just makes me feel at home. The staff were extremely helpfull and give us many information about the city. The breakfast was included on the price and for a Hostel, honestly, its very good! You have milk, coffee, juice, bread, ham , cheese, jam, butter and so on! I highly recomend this hostel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank diana389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent location just steps away from the train station and bus stops and terminal and very close to the town centre and tourist attractions; very helpful and friendly staff who go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Rooms don't have AC but the hostel provides fans to cool the room down. Shared bathrooms don't have any ventilation which makes them very hot in summer but I suppose one cannot complain given the low prices they charge. Overall a good experience and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gera, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

i just booked the hostel for one night because i had an early train to catch. it is very welllocated for the train station and the bus terminal. the airport bus also stops just outside. i arrived late at night and i was very hungry.the check in was very nice and i coul join the hostel dinner straight away which made my day.when i got it right the hostel owners mum had cooked a portuguese speciality - a cornflower dish with shellfish and shrimps - very nice! There was also wine and watermelon to go with it and all of it for just 6 €. There was a nice crowd of people around the table and we had a good talk. The bathrooms were very spacious and clean. The beds where very well made and clea as well. Overall very good!
The only advice for people who have problems with sleeping is to bring ear plugs. the dorm has three windows to the street and it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_neuenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been to several hostels in Europe, US and Canada.. but this one's been the best so far!
Right in the centre of Faro, only 5 min walk from the bus station. From there you easily get to one of the beaches nearby.

Very nice furnished, clean, good breakfast in the morning and most important: very friendly and helpful hosts/employees.

Definitely come back any time soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciavanDruenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

When arriving by train/bus from Lisbon is a very good option, well located in the city of Faro near transports and very central. The hostel was very clean, good breackfast and nice friendly stuff. I think is a very good report between the price and service quality. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa d'Alagoa - Faro Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 33

Property: Hostel 33
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 33, Faro 8000-394, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 33 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel 33 belongs to a team of Portuguese experts working in tourism field for over 15 years.Our target is to make you feel like if you are visiting a Portuguese family's home.The hostel 33 is housed in a 60 years building,completely renewed but keeping it's background outside and inside with vintage furniture, chandeleirs and the famous Portuguese tiles! Our mixed rooms are on the ground floor,very spacious and decorated in relaxing colours. The major bathroom has space for 2 showers simultaneously,besides the second option,on the same ground level. If you want more privacy,we suggest you our twin rooms on the first floor,all with private bathroom,and each of them with an outdoor terrace where you can enjoy our delightful sun's light. We're outgoing people,we like to socialize,to share experiences with you,so, do come and seat in the lobby for a while,to chat,to read a book from our 'book swap library',check the latest news on our info board..or eventually join us and other guests with a glass of Portuguese wine. And what to say about Faro town,capital of our province,where we're located?Definitely the best and most central spot to star your visit in the Algarve. Ten minutes away,by car,from the airport and the beach where you'll have multiple choices on water activities: cannoing, body board,windsurfing,and even walking or cycling tours in our nature trails of Ria Formosa.You'll end up extending your stay in here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 33 Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing