We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth taking the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilha Deserta

Ilha Deserta
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.61*
and up
Ria Formosa Catamaran Trip from Faro
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth taking the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We took a trip to the island on the catamaran, and went straight for a coffee and something to eat in the restaurant, the only building on the island. This was very pleasant and not at all expensive. It is also the only place on the island where you can go to the loo. Having initially arrived at about 12.30/12.45, the next boat back at about 14.15 was too soon so we had until the boat at 16.00 (there is one more boat at 17.00 but we wanted to come back in daylight) to do the board walk. We set off, and the one or two other people that were in the restaurant were the last people (apart from one fisherman) that we saw until we arrived back at the restaurant. The board walk is definitely worth doing. A leisurely stroll, with the beaches and water on one side, then across the island to a signpost signifying the most southern-most point of Portugal, and back along the beach. Word of warning, walking on the beach was really hard work as the sand was very damp and soft so you sink right in. This is a beautiful place, with a variety of birdlife and other insects (dragonflies, etc.) to see. There is, however, one thing that spoilt it for me and that is you cannot help but notice the rubbish that mindless idiots have left. It is such a shame that this spoils what would otherwise be a perfect experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    212
    54
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“lovely island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a lovely peaceful island with many different birds to observe. there is a wooden walkway which you can use to stroll along the edge of the coastline. you can spend all day on this island but make sure you are back in time to get the last boat back to the mainland

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank inspector61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inexpensive desert island experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited this with our young family and loved every minute of it. There were 2 adults, a 12 year old, a 2 year old and a 1 year old and it was an ideal day out for us all.
We chose the guided tour which involved bird watching from the catamaran on the way to Deserta. The tour itself cost us around €60 for us all which includes the guided trip out there a stay on the island and the return trip. We bought our tickets at a little stall near the harbour and went on the 11.30am trip. We stayed on the island and then came back on the 4pm boat. There was also one at 2.30pm and 5pm if I remember right.
We whiled away over 2 hours just wandering around the island, admiring the scenery and enjoying the pure of peace and quiet.
We went in November and there were less than 10 of us on the boat and I'd say less than 20 on the whole island so you can wander for ages without seeing a single person. For over an hour the only person we came across was a local fisherman working away in his little shack, complete with a bottle of wine!
We were directed to the various parts of the island by the guide whilst on the boat so we could head straight for the parts we wanted to see.
There is a restaurant on the island but it is quite expensive for what's on offer. We opted for just a dessert each, which were lovely and didn't seem to be that overpriced compared to the starters and mains. It is, however, a lovely experience to dine in the restaurant as there are 180 degree views of the island.
The side of the island to the right when you arrive is very calm and is a great place to have a swim. The side over to the left of where you arrive, near the lighthouse is choppier but the waves help to create a great atmosphere.
A must see when in Faro.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and secluded island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The peacefulness and tranquillity is amazing.
It is a pretty far walk back to the toilet...the only building on the island!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank qu_tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

It will be fine for people looking for lay on the beach and relax, there is not much more to do on Faro

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilha Deserta also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Ilha Deserta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing