We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Faro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eva(Faro)
$126
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ibis Faro(Faro)(Great Value!)
$80
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$134
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo(Faro)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$111
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
394
471
173
55
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
471
173
55
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubrooftop restaurantold townthe bustop floornesting storksfree shuttleair conoverlooking the marinalovely hotelside streetexcellent locationbreakfast buffetsmall poolria formosareception staffthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

A very functional and bland hotel. No comfortable lounges and the bar area is very formal and bare, part of the equally unremarkable restaurant, despite excellent views across the marina. Rooms, again, very bland, minimalist and sparse. For a superior double, I felt it was on the small size, but clean and adequate. However, only one plug socket in the whole room results in a timetable of what will be charged when! Breakfast buffet was adequate, but lots of it had been left standing and was both lukewarm and hard. No food was prepared to order and hot drinks only provided on a self serve basis too. Free wifi only available in the austere and uninviting lobby area, has to be paid for in rooms and other public areas, such as the bar. No refreshments were served or allowed in the lobby area. All in all, a very business like hotel, not one that really encouraged a relaxing city break

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cfcgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Faro a few times I can say from experience its a very good base for central Faro and surrounding areas, Its very clean, Functional, car parking is easy
Breakfast is very good, menu for evening meal is imaginative and well presented.
Once you park the car your right there on main shopping area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Well we came into Faro with the intention of just picking up our hire car. We had requested to pick it up Downtown Faro instead of the airport as we caught the bus from Spain. Got into Faro to find that car rental had closed there downtown office with no emails contact from them. Decided to just stay in Faro and work it out the following day as was getting late. Went across to "Hotel Faro" and from the moment we walked in the service was second to none. We spoke to the Lady at the reception of what had happened. She rang up the car rental at the airport and told them to bring the car to us promptly as was not good enough. She then booked us into this beautiful hotel we're we went up to nothing short of an excellent room. Within half an hour we had our car delivered and were then up top enjoying the amazing roof top bar. This hotel I can't thank them enough for their service, professionalism and courtesy. What an amazing hotel and staff something to be very proud of. Thank you "Hotel Faro" for all that you did and what a pleasurable stay we had. My only complaint is that we had to leave, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScarboroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We arrived here on a Monarch Flight which was full of the usual, scallies and OAPS! OAPS who should be at home and scallies who should be locked up - poor Portugal has to suffer with these bumbling fools.

Got off the aircraft to a warm 20 degrees celcius, jumped in a cab outside the airport to the hotel literally cost 9.50 euros! (10 min drive)

Hotel is right in the marina area

Rooms are spacious/clean - TV in the room is not your average European hotel TV it had 4 movie channels, and about 65 other channels mix of English and Portuguese which was great for a chill out!

Maids and reception staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful.

Faro was very quiet this time of year. Best of all no brits abroad types and you can soak in the local culture.

Faro is a small town very easy to walk around a few shops in the centre, great bakeries, and restaurants. It has a big shopping centre literally 10mins walking from the town, This has an English viewing cinema and plenty of shops, restaurants.

There is a Boat trip on the marina that 2 companies offer, it doesn't matter which one you go on, both very pleasant. But if you decide to stay on the deserted island for a couple of hours, you will need to take a couple of layers. I did the tourist thing of just wearing a Tshirt and ended up sitting in the beach house waiting for the next boat back!!!

All in all a great place to stay!!!!!

Try the local language, try the local food/drink and soak in some good culture. Oh and don't bother with the trip to albuefiera, takes ages and the brits have taken it over like its magaluf.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZJET123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013.

Hotel is located on the marina, great location. Staff in the hotel were very friendly & helpful. Rooms clean and the breakfast is amazing - there is so much to choose from and the restaurant is located on the top floor so you get great views over the marina.

Lovely place is Faro and you can also travel to Seville and Lisbon from Faro. The bus station and train station very close to the hotel.

The centre of Faro has some lovely shops and restaurants and also there is a shopping plaza about 15 minutes walk away. If you like to watch films then all films are shown in english with portugese subtitles so the cinema is great to visit!

You can get boat trips from the marina or there is a ferry also near the old town which takes you out on trips.

The old town is very pretty and the cathedral is worth a visit.

In December Faro is quite quiet but we really enjoyed that fact as it made for a very relaxing break.

Prices for food and drink are also very cheap

Also if you want to head to the coast there are buses that take you there etc,

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road as it will be a bit quieter then.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bocadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews