We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good for Sleeping”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2008

I got laid over in Faro and had to find a place to stay. I knew nothing about the hotel in advance. The rooms are new with nice wood floors, comfortable beds, and spacious bathrooms with new fixtures. However, our room on the first floor faced a karoake bar that blared loud music until all hours of the night. The windows were thin and we did not sleep. It affected one whole side of the hotel. Bring ear plugs if you stay here.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank MH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2008

The hotel is centrally located. It costed 10E to park (or you can try to find parking in the area (good luck with that). I stayed there in winter and the rooms were very cold. Even though it was low season it was loud. The staff not very friendly. Sleek design but putting together a bunch of ikea furniture doesn't make you a W.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank BizNFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

This hotel is situated in a fantastic location overlooking the marina. It has a terrace on the roof where you can enjoy drinks and meals. In December we were able to sit on the terrace in the afternoon and enjoy a beer and watch the world of Faro go by! We also enjoyed a great sunset. The hotel is chic minimalist. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. The bathroom we had was excellent.
Breakfast is a good spread of hot and cold food with a very good selection of fruit - the coffee is great. We recommend 2 days in Faro, the old town is very small and easy to get around.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonstermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed a few nights in the Hotel Faro and had a lovely time. Its location cannot be beaten in this town. We had a view from our window over the marina. There was a concert held in front of the hotel which was great fun.

The room was a good size, the breakfasts were nice, and the staff were sometimes fantastic and sometimes a little hard to approach.

Weºd stay there again.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank momoco-momoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

My friend and I have just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Faro and I felt I should add our comments to those already posted. Our first impressions were very good, the hotel was stylish and appropriately chic and Faro is a good place to visit although 4 days is about enough time to really get to see the town. We chose Faro because we were arriving independently and wanted to stay somewhere interesting close to an airport and Faro was a good choice with a taxi fare of less than 10 euros from the airport. The hotel is perfectly located adjacent the marina.

However I was personally was a little disappointed in the town itself for shopping, bars and restaurants although maybe we didn't discover the right places certainly not to eat and drink as most of the restaurants were offering the cliched tourist menus. The bars in the old town are very nice but the other area (quaintly described as behind Mc Donalds) seemed pretty shabby and not at all enticing. Faro is quite modest I suppose I was expecting somewhere more like Palma or Nice or the Neopolitan Riviera in terms of chic bars and restaurants.

Back to the hotel itself. Reception staff excellent. Yes I agree with the previous reviewer that the hotel lobby felt very corporate. Room also excellent for a standard room couldnt really fault it. The main flaw was the reaturant and roof terrace which was the main reason we had chosen to stay here in the first place - despite fabulous views across the marina and out to the airport and Atlantic and striking contemporary interior decor (I write this as an architect) this whole restaurant/ bar/terrace completely lacked character and ambience which was really disappointing.

The staff whilst certainly not rude or unhelpful just seemed diffident and uninterested. This destination bar / restaurant has every opportunity to be fabulous yet visiting it was a completely lack lustre experience...definitely an opportunity missed. We also weren't impressed with the service at breakfast as commented by previous reviewers... how many times do you need to ask for a cup of coffee!

Also we felt that just the addition of some sun loungers on the terrace would have been appreciated - we would have been happy to spend most of our time there if just had had better facilities.Ok no pool but there is the Hotel Eva across the way - we prefered the Hotel Faro but ultimately were a little disappointed as we wanted to stay somewhere vibrant and lively. In the UK there are numerous city hotels that get this right (Hotel Barcelona Exeter - all Malmaisons / Hotel du Vin's etc) .

Finally definitely do the ferry trips to the town beach and Ilha Deserta if you stay more than a couple of days. If you are lucky like us you might eat in a restaurant next to (Sir) Cliff Richard!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank designer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

The Hotel is in a very central location on the main square and just round the corner from Faro's shops, restaurants, bars etc. The old town is also a couple of minutes walk away.

The first impression of the hotel was a bit odd as it felt like we were walking into an office block and did not feel like an ordinary hotel - you soon get used to it though.

Our room was a resonable size and tastefully decorated (minimalistic and fairly chic). The room was kept very clean and had a fridge (minibar), safe etc.

We found the reception staff to be very helpful and efficient, unlike some other reviewers - I think they have recently moved the reception area to the ground floor so that might have made a difference.

Breakfast was great - a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold food. Like other reviewers we found the staff to be very friendly but you do have to make a point of getting their attention if you want more coffee. As the restaurant is on the 4th floor you get a great view of the old square, airport and isla. The hotel is also in the flight path so you get great views of planes coming into land (if you are a light sleeper you might want to consider taking ear plugs as you can hear planes in the morning - however I am a light sleeper and they really didn't bother me as the rooms are pretty well soundproofed)

The bus stop to the beach, airport, shopping centre etc is about 2 minutes walk away - however the buses are not very frequent so make sure you know the times if you want to use them.

I would definately go back to Faro and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Nice place to stay and a good location, however, it is very much a 'corporate' place to stay and is somewhat lacking in atmosphere. In addition, how it rates a 4* rating is beyond us. There is no pool, gym, etc., the facilities are poor.

If you want to see genuine Faro, forget this place as it is not worth the price. From looking around you could save and stay somewhere more 'real' Portugal, or spend a little more and stay over the harbour at the Eva which looked far superior if a little more in price.

The hotel is okay, but I would not recommend it which says it all really.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ginner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,688 reviews
6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
472 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#8 of 28 in Faro
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $96 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing