We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights. Great location and on arriving at the hotel at 10am we got our room straight away. The staff were very friendly. When first reached the room I was not happy with the view, we overlooked a very untidy and dirty building but if you just turned your head right a little you could see the marina. We tried for an upgrade but far too expensive so stayed put. The room was very clean and we soon got used to it. Didnt like the bed we asked for double and we got two singles pushed together and not even made up as a double, made up as two singles even though pushed together. Breakfast was great but also doubled as a bar area which was not very appealing. They really need to got some comfortable chairs or sofas to make the bar a bit more friendly and make people want to sit there. There was a couple of evening we were going to go up but no one else there and it looked more like a canteen than a bar. No atmosphere whatsoever. Good location to all amenities. Not sure if I would stay here again unless something improved with the facilites. All in all though we did enjoy the stay and the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: If wanting a double then state you want the bed made up as a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    368
    135
    40
    23
See reviews for
117
442
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Escaped the Grim North of England over the Ester break, unfortunately the rain followed us, so we sought refuge in the Hotel Restaurant on the first night , extensive interesting menu, my kids both went for Tuna Steaks which were superb, my Monk fish in Mango was succelent and very tasty , the best was the Crepe Flambe in Grand Marnier ......whoof ....very very good (we had it again later!!)....The Hotel is very well posistioned for the old town and shops and on a Saturday the bars and clubs are just up the road ......Nice Hotel, the reception resembles a bus depot and would benefit from a splash of colour here and there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Checked in on 25th March and was greeted with two buckets in the reception catching drips, they were still there three days later when we checked out. The room had damp staining hidden behind the curtains. It looks like a longstanding problem. Like another reviewer I am also puzzled how this hotel can attract such good reviews. In my view it does not measure up to a four star hotel. It was only 45 pounds per night so we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor on the west side are the one likely to be damp but better to look elsew...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 268MC268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Quite liked this hotel. Good value and very central location - close to marina, handy for taxis, bus station and train station, and nice cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is fairly functional - it`s about 15 years old in a building shared with a bank on the ground floor. Having said that, the rooms are comfortable and clean enough, although perhaps starting to show their age. All the usual facilities, although Wi-Fi is only free in the hotel lobby which is a bit of a pain, but TV has a wide selection of satellite channels. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful, all speaking perfect English. Thought breakfast was good value. Only ever passed through Faro before, so this was my first time spending any time here - it`s a small city, easily walkable and quintessentially Portuguese. Would recommend Hotel Faro if ever staying over in Faro for a short break. Handy for airport - 10 minute taxi trip for about 10 Euro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On early arrival we were pleased that our room was available. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and had a marina view however the building directly opposite looked very run down. The bed was comfortable although our double was two singles pushed together. Bathroom facilities were good. There were no coffee or tea making facility in the room. Breakfast choices and quality were very good. The bar area on the 4th floor was very disappointing. The seating arrangements were canteen like. No comfy chairs and a lack of ambience. It would not take much to improve the bar area and encourage more guest to spend time there.

Room Tip: Request a proper double bed or have two singles made as a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcarmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were placed here for two nights after an airline cancellation. Had we been paying for this experience, there is no doubt we would have moved out before many hours had passed.

The Reception staff cannot be faulted, but if this is a four star hotel then I would hate to be in a two star one on the same system. To be fair, I have stayed in many lesser rated places in Portugal, and been far happier than I was here. Steep entrance steps to the lobby shared with a bank are often populated by beggars and smokers. The light airy feel of Reception, and the very helpful and friendly Reception staff however hide a dated, dingy and tired hotel set on four floors near, but not in the old town of Faro.

The lifts and corridors, as well as the bedroom we had smelled of smoke. That is hardly surprising when you see filthy unemptied ash trays/bins by the lift doors. The bedroom corridors are a strange shape, with dirty and tired furnishings. Varnish is stripping from the doors, and the rooms basically furnished. Ours had a side view over a noisy street, was very dusty (clothes put on the shelves of the open wardrobe area were covered with dust). Worse still was the infestation of ants - if they had managed to get to the third floor, I am guessing other rooms had the same problem.

Yes, there is a hairdryer, a bidet and an old TV. The shower is hanging off the wall, the bath is slippery, the curtains dirty and the ventilation erratic.

The bar/restaurant is on the top floor and affords a nice view if the city. Our meal was provided as part of the delay procedure - we asked if we could eat a-la-carte instead and received the one word answer 'tortellini'. Clearly not! And when asked for a wine list, in Portuguese as well as English the waitress replied 'carta vinho' and disappeared. By the time she had returned she had forgotten so we gave up! The small bar area has a few haphazardly placed tables with uncomfortable seating and can hardly be described as inviting.

And the food - well just about as bad as it gets. Let us make the excuse for them that they suddenly had a group of people they were not expecting, but there is no excuse for cold vegetable soup, awful fish pie that was sent back by most people for being cold (again) - and barely had any fish in it. The alternative aforementioned tortellini was tepid, the sauce gritty, floury and tasteless, and almost inedible. Needless to say we chose not to eat there the second night, although we understand the standard was much higher - but that would not have been difficult.

Breakfast was almost OK, but way below the standard I have ever experienced in Portugal. While there was a good choice, bacon and eggs swimming in oil, and tinned mini frankfurters are way below what a four star hotel should be serving.

While I respect the views of others, I find it really difficult to understand the positive ratings this hotel has received. It is certainly not cheap - at over €100 a night - deals can be had slightly cheaper. We had just left a five star hotel where we paid €70 a night and a pousada where we had a suite for €101 a night, so imagine our raised eyebrows here.

All in all, very very disappointing, and the only reason it does not get a lower rating is because of the good reception staff.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arriving at night, I was somewhat confused by the rather anonymous entrance. Is it a hotel, or a bank? The answer, it is both! As others have said, it is a bit utilitarian, but then again it is not expensive. This was by far the best value hotel on a three hotel, week long trip. Its great asset is the rooftop bar and restaurant. A splendid view over the harbour and glimpses of the old town. A breakfast better than both of the two "Pousadas" I stayed at on this trip. Helpful, chatty staff. Only downside (which is nothing to do with the hotel) is that there are a few late night bars nearby. So some early morning noise was experienced when they closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Property: Hotel Faro
Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing