We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here one upon arrival in Portugal, and another night at the end of the holiday. Great location, and wonderful breakfast on the terrace with great views. On the first night, my husband was not well and the receptionist was so helpful and friendly and allowed us to stay in the room until much later than the normal check out time. When she knew we we returning in a weeks time she asked if we wanted to book the same room, which was great. Reception staff were excellent. Room was very comfortable and very adequate for the hotel rating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very nice location in Faro city center. Was OK at the reception. Rooms are quite nice, apart from the air-conditioning machine, that was extremely noisy, so I could not use it. Batrooms are quite old-fashioned (fluorescent lights, and very high ceiling), and not well maintaned (door seemed to be damaged because of the water). There is not free wifi available in the rooms, but on the lobby (you need to request the code to the reception staff). Restaurant in the top floor is a good point. Very nice food and views of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Faro is very well located for the town, but it felt more of a travel lodge than a hotel. It still has smoking rooms, and thinks that it counts as a double room if you push two single beds together (they didn’t even attempt to make them up as a double). The smoking rooms are on the best side of the hotel, so our view was of the walls of the street next door.

It does have a rooftop terrace/bar/restaurant with a reasonable view but if you want a snack rather than a full meal then all the bar can offer you is a toasted sandwich – cheese, ham, or mixed. What it does have though is a very good set of tv channels, and rooms are a reasonable size, with a couple of chairs and a small table by the bed. The air con is not amazingly efficient but does get there eventually.

We stayed in a lot of hotels in Portugal, and although this wasn't terrible, I don't understand why it has four stars when compared to some of the other places. To be fair, it is priced closer to three stars, and if this is how you think of it then you will be less disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We only stayed one night but look back very favourably on this hotel. Reception staff cheerful, helpful, efficient. Room perfectly adequate for the hotel rating. Highlight was dinner in the rooftop restaurant. Head waiter a star. Very convenient location.

Only glitch (and nothing to do with the hotel) was the miserable taxi driver who clearly felt that the fare from the airport to the hotel was not worth his time. €10+tip. A tip he didn't deserve.

But hotel? Excellent value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank tallinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we arrived late on monday evening to find a lovely welcome at the reception desk.We did not expect to have a meal as the restaurant was closed but we were provided with a meal as one of the staff had stayed to make sure we had something to eat.We stayed 4 days at this hotel and had a fantastic time.We had a room with a view of the marina and food at the rooftop restaurant overlooking the ria formosa was lovely. We thank all the staff for a truly fantastic holiday.This is a very good base to start a holiday in the algarve for first time holiday makers.We recommend this as a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: harbour view room overlooking the front is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and my staff.
As manager read “We thank all the staff for a truly fantastic holiday” makes me very proud of my team :)
I agree with your opinion regarding Faro, our city is a great place to visit all the Algarve.

Thank you and hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Martins Coelho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend just for one night at the end of july.It is well located, short walking distance from Faro old town, bus station, train station and shops. For 70 Euros in general I was not expecting the best room ever but I was neither expecting to find a room with a dirty courtain in the shower and a spot of water on the wooden ceiling of the entrance of the room in a 4 star hotel. They immediately changed the room for a cleaner one and apologised. Breakfast ok and nice view from the terrace. Ok for one night but nothing above the average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your comments, our guests feedback is important for us. I can assure that the curtain wasn’t dirty, some rooms have older curtains and due to the action of the water the aspect of the courtain isn’t the best, we’re replacing the older ones, i apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you
Martins Coelho
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently in the center. Sight seeings are at walking distance. The only problem is with the air conditioning, the rooms never get cool whereas the reception area is chilled on ground floor. I complained the staff and second night they changed the room but was having same problem. I realized later after studying few more reviews that I was not not only the victim, there were few more complaints. I wont recommend this hotel if you have a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aamirbc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our hotel, only with our guests feedback we can improve our service.

The location of our hotel is the best to visit Faro it’s true that “Sight seeings are at walking distance”.

Sorry for the problem with the air conditioning unit, we always try to give to our guest the best experience when staying with us.
We had some issues with some air conditioner commands and we’re testing a new unit in some rooms to see if this solves the problem.
Thank you
Martins Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,643 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#11 of 28 in Faro
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $80 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing