We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient hotel”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we arrived late on monday evening to find a lovely welcome at the reception desk.We did not expect to have a meal as the restaurant was closed but we were provided with a meal as one of the staff had stayed to make sure we had something to eat.We stayed 4 days at this hotel and had a fantastic time.We had a room with a view of the marina and food at the rooftop restaurant overlooking the ria formosa was lovely. We thank all the staff for a truly fantastic holiday.This is a very good base to start a holiday in the algarve for first time holiday makers.We recommend this as a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: harbour view room overlooking the front is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and my staff.
As manager read “We thank all the staff for a truly fantastic holiday” makes me very proud of my team :)
I agree with your opinion regarding Faro, our city is a great place to visit all the Algarve.

Thank you and hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Martins Coelho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend just for one night at the end of july.It is well located, short walking distance from Faro old town, bus station, train station and shops. For 70 Euros in general I was not expecting the best room ever but I was neither expecting to find a room with a dirty courtain in the shower and a spot of water on the wooden ceiling of the entrance of the room in a 4 star hotel. They immediately changed the room for a cleaner one and apologised. Breakfast ok and nice view from the terrace. Ok for one night but nothing above the average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your comments, our guests feedback is important for us. I can assure that the curtain wasn’t dirty, some rooms have older curtains and due to the action of the water the aspect of the courtain isn’t the best, we’re replacing the older ones, i apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you
Martins Coelho
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently in the center. Sight seeings are at walking distance. The only problem is with the air conditioning, the rooms never get cool whereas the reception area is chilled on ground floor. I complained the staff and second night they changed the room but was having same problem. I realized later after studying few more reviews that I was not not only the victim, there were few more complaints. I wont recommend this hotel if you have a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aamirbc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our hotel, only with our guests feedback we can improve our service.

The location of our hotel is the best to visit Faro it’s true that “Sight seeings are at walking distance”.

Sorry for the problem with the air conditioning unit, we always try to give to our guest the best experience when staying with us.
We had some issues with some air conditioner commands and we’re testing a new unit in some rooms to see if this solves the problem.
Thank you
Martins Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fantastic hotel for a quick stop. We were on the way to the airport and booked in for the evening. Superb vaue, lovely room, breakfast and the staff couldn;t do enough for us. Excellent stay. No pool but that wasn't an issue for us. Small restaurants just around the corner.

Room Tip: Parking is extra 12.50 euros next door.....but very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review of our Hotel, we always like to read the reviews of our guests so we can keep improving our service.
“Excellent stay” are the words that makes me proud of my team and of our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel
Martins Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

j've booked with easy to book , j would recommend it.
J found hotel service very good: the staff is courteous and very helpful. rooms are spacious, clean and soundproof. the breakfast is fantastic foods rich in both sweet and salty. position is good : facing the ria, convenient to the city center and the bus station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank LUISA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice & centrally located hotel. We stayed only for one night and chose the hotel because it was close to the airport. The room was a good size with a big bathroom and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The location was also perfect, middle on the old city, the room was overlooking the port and it was only 10 mins taxi drive to the airport. A bit more difficult was it to get to the beach, on the irregular public bus it took us around 30 mins.

The highlight of our stay however, was the excellent breakfast, served in even more stunning location, on the roof terrace of the 4th floor restaurant. the choice of the food wasn't that big but the quality was very good.

I'd definetely recommend the hotel for a short stay, for a longer one however I'd choose somwhere closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but 201 was great (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

On arriving at hotel faro we where quickly greeted with a big smile and a hello, witch made us both feel at ease that at last we had found a 4 star hotel, witch is a 4 star hotel. When entering are room, I was a little shocked as I had asked for a room with a horbour view (it's a must) I rang down to reception to ask to change rooms, they rang back in 5 mins and they changed our room, yet again excellent service. The rooms where clean and airy. The chamber maids are friendly and well worth a tip!!! 4th floor is the hotel roof top bar:-) where yet again you find amazing views of across the horbour and faro. Marco and the waitresses are some of best people you will meet. Over all an excellent stay. Ps one more thing for a 5 euro return you must catch the boat to the secret beach, an amazing beach with a great bar if you just wanna kick back and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,688 reviews
6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
472 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#8 of 28 in Faro
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $96 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing