We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel good location”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Sicilia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average hotel good location”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend just for one night at the end of july.It is well located, short walking distance from Faro old town, bus station, train station and shops. For 70 Euros in general I was not expecting the best room ever but I was neither expecting to find a room with a dirty courtain in the shower and a spot of water on the wooden ceiling of the entrance of the room in a 4 star hotel. They immediately changed the room for a cleaner one and apologised. Breakfast ok and nice view from the terrace. Ok for one night but nothing above the average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments, our guests feedback is important for us. I can assure that the curtain wasn’t dirty, some rooms have older curtains and due to the action of the water the aspect of the courtain isn’t the best, we’re replacing the older ones, i apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you
Martins Coelho
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    372
    139
    43
    25
See reviews for
118
456
67
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently in the center. Sight seeings are at walking distance. The only problem is with the air conditioning, the rooms never get cool whereas the reception area is chilled on ground floor. I complained the staff and second night they changed the room but was having same problem. I realized later after studying few more reviews that I was not not only the victim, there were few more complaints. I wont recommend this hotel if you have a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aamirbc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our hotel, only with our guests feedback we can improve our service.

The location of our hotel is the best to visit Faro it’s true that “Sight seeings are at walking distance”.

Sorry for the problem with the air conditioning unit, we always try to give to our guest the best experience when staying with us.
We had some issues with some air conditioner commands and we’re testing a new unit in some rooms to see if this solves the problem.
Thank you
Martins Coelho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fantastic hotel for a quick stop. We were on the way to the airport and booked in for the evening. Superb vaue, lovely room, breakfast and the staff couldn;t do enough for us. Excellent stay. No pool but that wasn't an issue for us. Small restaurants just around the corner.

Room Tip: Parking is extra 12.50 euros next door.....but very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review of our Hotel, we always like to read the reviews of our guests so we can keep improving our service.
“Excellent stay” are the words that makes me proud of my team and of our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel
Martins Coelho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

j've booked with easy to book , j would recommend it.
J found hotel service very good: the staff is courteous and very helpful. rooms are spacious, clean and soundproof. the breakfast is fantastic foods rich in both sweet and salty. position is good : facing the ria, convenient to the city center and the bus station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank LUISA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice & centrally located hotel. We stayed only for one night and chose the hotel because it was close to the airport. The room was a good size with a big bathroom and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The location was also perfect, middle on the old city, the room was overlooking the port and it was only 10 mins taxi drive to the airport. A bit more difficult was it to get to the beach, on the irregular public bus it took us around 30 mins.

The highlight of our stay however, was the excellent breakfast, served in even more stunning location, on the roof terrace of the 4th floor restaurant. the choice of the food wasn't that big but the quality was very good.

I'd definetely recommend the hotel for a short stay, for a longer one however I'd choose somwhere closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but 201 was great (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york.san fran,florida, la,vegas,clear water,hollywood. hawalli new zealand oz, pourtugal, spain,paris,amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

On arriving at hotel faro we where quickly greeted with a big smile and a hello, witch made us both feel at ease that at last we had found a 4 star hotel, witch is a 4 star hotel. When entering are room, I was a little shocked as I had asked for a room with a horbour view (it's a must) I rang down to reception to ask to change rooms, they rang back in 5 mins and they changed our room, yet again excellent service. The rooms where clean and airy. The chamber maids are friendly and well worth a tip!!! 4th floor is the hotel roof top bar:-) where yet again you find amazing views of across the horbour and faro. Marco and the waitresses are some of best people you will meet. Over all an excellent stay. Ps one more thing for a 5 euro return you must catch the boat to the secret beach, an amazing beach with a great bar if you just wanna kick back and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Faro and everything was wonderful again. We had a 5 night half board deal for 600 euros from 8 - 13 June, an absolute bargain as it was for bed, breakfast & dinner in the evening, but also included free trips to the deserted island & the nature boat trip as many times as you wanted to go.
Breakfast is a wonderful hot & cold buffet to help yourself to & it was warm enough to sit outside & enjoy the lovely view & watch the nesting storks come flying in to feed the chicks.
For dinner in the evening we had nearly the full a la carte menu to choose from, there was just a couple of options less to choose from, lobster for example, but we still wanted to try all 10 main meals as everything was so delicious. Between us we managed to have 8 of the 10 dishes over the 5 nights & they were all superb. The chef is fantastic & the presentation of the food was a
picture.
We were blessed with a lucky extra in the form of a giant screen in the square below the hotel showing all the live Euro 2012 football matches. There were benches, 2 mini 5-tier stadiums, beer tents, hats handed out & much excitement from all the various nationalities there.
For the 7.45pm match we could watch on the screen on the outside rooftop restaurant & also look down at the crowds below & enjoy their reaction. We usually made it down to the square for the second half.
But aside from that unexpected bonus, this is a lovely hotel, easy to get to from the airport, lovely
modern & bright rooms, very helpful staff & the location & views from the rooftop restaurant are fabulous & very attractive.
It is also easy to get a local bus to Faro beach for under 2 euros, so you get a City break with beach nearby if you want some relaxation, the hotel gave us free beach towels for the length of our stay.
We will definitely be going again & have recommended it to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
1,502 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 27 in Faro
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Property: Hotel Faro
Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing