We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Find”
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Find”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I spent two nights over Easter at this hotel. We had stayed in other parts of the Algarve but had always previously bypassed Faro. We simply could not fault this hotel. The room was of a decent size and was clean and modern. Every member of staff was friendly and very professional. The rooftop bar was a great place for a sunset drink. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and good quality. What really stood out was the hotel staff noticing that it was my birthday (by looking at the dates on the passpost copy taken at check in and leaving a bottle of sparkling wine and small cakes in the room on the day - I have never had that level of care anywhere. Faro itself is a real gem with lots of great restaurants, bars and sights. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StMawganE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure, we try to provide to our guest a good experience while staying with us.
I completely share your opinion about Faro “Faro itself is a real gem with lots of great restaurants, bars and sights” and we’re always happy when our guests also like our city.

Thank you and our staff in the frontoffice will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.
Martins Coelho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    368
    135
    40
    24
See reviews for
117
443
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

stayed at hotel faro for 5 nights during that time we met with 6 or 7 members of staff at reception.... i cant stress enough how helpfull and pleasant they are. especially the gentleman on duty on monday night. tuesday morning.... good breakfast...... very comfortable beds... very clean hotel with rooms and bed linen changed daily would stay again ........THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF FOR THE ENJOYABLE STAY

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

As the General manager it’s a pleasure to me read this Reviews “VERY GOOD STAFF”, it makes me very proud of the team we have in our Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Martins Coelho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at hotel over april..Rooms delightfully clean...My Mrs takes DNA samples upon arrival !! Continetal breakfast, lovely choice fresh fruits ,breads, fish plentiful and for all taistes. 12 euro taxi ride from airport . Watch or rather check on air con for you summer travellors..Cant fault it.Good value.Staff as locals friendly. Regards Martin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerseysideMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review of our Hotel, our guest’s opinions are important for us.

Your words “Rooms delightfully clean” coming from a "DNA expert" are great :)

We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel
Martins Coelho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Nice, would stay there again. Ideal for short breaks

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your words, a short but very good review :), I agree our hotel is perfect for a nice city break.

Hope to have you again with us
Martins Coelho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned after 5 days at this hotel, the rooms are not massive but the beds are comfortable and it is all very clean. The restaurant on the roof is excellent, we had breakfast with everything from smoked salmon and fresh cheese to perfectly fried eggs and bacon. We also had dinner which was excellent and the views from the top are brilliant over the marina. Staff very helpful and pleasant would recommend to anyone wanting good value for money but not too ostentatious.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your review of our Hotel, we try to provide the best stay to our guests.

Your words regarding our breakfast “The restaurant on the roof is excellent, we had breakfast with everything from smoked salmon and fresh cheese to perfectly fried eggs and bacon. We also had dinner which was excellent” makes us continue with these high standards in quality and variety.

Hope to have you again in our hotel
Martins Coelho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel.The staff were very helpful and courteous.The buffet breakfast had everything you could want and at 5 euro per head could not be faulted(in our case the breakfast was complimentary) The hotel is very well located with both the bus and train stations within 5 mins. walk.Would recommend this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike19862003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel was nice. Not only was the service really good, you can also enjoy the the sunset from their lovely terrace. Breakfast was reasonable, although perhaps not the strongest point of the hotel. Internet was cheap (10€ for 24 of usage) and of excellent speed. All in all a very good hotel to stay in. Since I didn't pay the bill, I don't know about price/value, but I heard fellow colleagues mention very reasonable prices. I'd personally return anytime.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room to the front (praça d. gomez)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Property: Hotel Faro
Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing