We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residencial Afonso III
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in August 2013. We have stayed in some pretty basic hotels before on our travels, but this was the worst. I have never done a review before but I feel strongly about fore warning people about this hotel. We paid 70 euros for a double room for the night- wouldn't pay half of that. Staff at reception initially ignored us when we tried to check in. Bathroom was tiny, mouldy, outdated. Nice big balcony to be fair but no furniture to enable us to actually use it! Bed was the most uncomfortable nights sleep I've had in a long time- felt like I was sleeping over on a mates floor. Considering our friends stayed in hotel Eva down the road for 90 euros & it was amazing (clean modern rooms, roof terrace & pool), we felt cheated.

To redeem the place the breakfast was ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    48
    28
    24
See reviews for
21
74
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here and I got the feeling they were not expecting me and my friend despite having the booking confirmation in my hand. The room was small with an old fashion TV and wi fi was difficult to get in the room. No welcome tea or coffee. My biggest gripe was the fact that I could hear the traffic outside the windows and as it was the bikers weekend it made it even worse so I did not sleep well. Cigarettes butts were outside window sill plus I had no balcony as it said on my booking. It was not cheap cheap to stay there but it was handy. The area looks worn down as old empty warehouses is the view from the bedroom, but I don't suppose they can do much about that. Saying all this I would stay there again as it is handy for the centre and station.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenllian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you are looking for a sea-view, modern hotel in a more 'sterile' part of town then this is not for you.

If like us you appreciate a bit of character and the interesting, artistically decorated abandoned buildings (of which there are many in Faro) then you will enjoy Alfonso's neighbourhood!

The hotel itself has been modernised, we had a really good room, everything you need in it, a balcony, bathroom en suite, good breakfast and pleasant staff. Normal inner town traffic noise - dustbin collection at 1am two mornings a week is a 'surprise' but did not wake me up the second time :)

I found this bargain package deal through Travel Republic and can wholly recommend it.

Room Tip: As for a second floor room overlooking the private hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed here to be close to the Faro airport for an early flight out. It was not a terrible stay, but I also wasn't overly impressed. Clean sheets, fresh towels, hassle free check-in and proximity to the bus/train station were what mattered and this hotel had all of those things. I just wasn't "wowed" and compared to so many other adorable places in Portugal, this place only gets an average rating from me.

Good points:
-very close to the train/bus station
-friendly staff upon check in/out
-breakfast included
-cable TV
-modern bathroom

Annoyance:
-tiny, tiny "double" room for 45 euros a night!
-wifi did not work in our room
-breakfast was not too spectacular
-across the street from an old, derelict building and neighborhood felt a tad sketchy (although we were quite safe, it just has that "feel" to it from the old, abandoned buildings near by)
-gross smell in the hallway (room was ok)
-quite loud, could hear people talking in normal voices in the hallway and coming from check in.
-beds were alright but definitely a bit on the uncomfortable side. Fine for a night.

For a one night stop over, it was fine and I had no major complaints. However, I wouldn't use this as my primary hotel if I were to stay longer in Faro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiska05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here overnight on our way to Albufeira to break up the weekend. We payed around £20 for the night including breakfast and had a clean, comfortable room in a good location - approx 5-10 mins walk from the shops, restaurants etc. Wasnt a great deal to do in the evening but found a great little ice cream bar near the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonesyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

the hotel was clean, staff pleasant and helpful, but the area in which the hotel is located is a bit worrying, particularly when you have to park on the street, which may not be outside of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank mehall-leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon,Portugal
Level Contributor
202 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I went to see Faro bike rally and this as the only place that had a room to get one night sleep. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and clean. The location of this place is great and it's very safe place especially for solo travellers. I have to say you can hear some street noise (if you stay in one of the rooms from the street side) - but its not bad and i wasnt bothered by it. Staff was really nice and friendly! Very good price!

Room Tip: Not street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Afonso III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Afonso III

Property: Residencial Afonso III
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 64, Faro 8000-394, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Afonso III 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Afonso III is situated on the banks of the Ria Formosa, near the city center, this unit, under family management, it is allowed it ideal for those looking for both relaxation and activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residencial Afonso III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Afonso Iii Hotel Faro
Residencial Afonso III Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing