We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Sol Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol Algarve
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed January 26, 2009

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel (the first being Dec 2003) and again was not disappointed. It could not be more convenient for the train station (2 min), the bus station (5 min) and the town (10 min max.). The breakfast is perfectly adequate although not extensive. The hotel is spotlessly clean and watched over by the owner.
I was only there for 2 evenings but had 2 very good albeit contrasting meals. The first, at Adega Nova, was excellent and only a minutes walk from the hotel. The other, at Sol e Jardim, was so cheap it was unbelievable. The tourist menu was €6.50 inclusive of wine and coffee and the food was good!
I visited the Saturday market at Loulé and this was worth a visit. The tip for this though is to go by bus. I took the train only to find when I got there that the station was 6km away from the town. This meant a taxi ride costing €7.50 and a bus ticket back to Faro!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 466 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

We went to stay at Residencial Algarve for one week and liked it very much. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good as well with enough variety.
The rooms are quite simple but clean. What I found nice as well was the cleaning service every day (a cleaner came to make the beds and clean the trash cans etc.). All in all an inexpensive neat place to stay for all kinds of travellers! I can only recommend it and have nothing negative to say about it in the first place.
The location is ideal also,as the bus and train station, shops, restaurants etc. are easily reached by foot .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leeny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We arrived in Faro late one afternoon after an exhausting drive from Spain and decided to stay in the Hotel-Residencial Algarve for a couple of days before continuing our drive to the Lisbon. We asked for a room with a bath and shower at the back of the hotel. Although we had not booked in advance, we were given a large room at the back of the hotel. It was clean and quiet.
The receptionist was most polite and friendly, making us feel comfortable immediately. He spoke good English and it transpired that he was the owner.
After a good night's sleep, we went down to a very pleasant and generous continental breakfast. We had this in the little inner courtyard with a fountain and we felt it was a really "continental" experience.
The lady who came onto reception during the morning was also very pleasant and friendly, suggesting various places we could visit during our stay in Faro. This made our stay most pleasant as everything was within walking distance. We did not have to take our car out of the hotel's underground garage at all during our stay which made things a lot easier.
We would recommend the hotel to fellow travellers although would also recommend that they book in advance. We were lucky on this occasion but were told that particular rooms are not always available.
Throughout the staff's courtesy and helpfulness made the few days of our holiday in Faro a relaxing and happy experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nova_girlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Residencial Sun Algarve. Although approaching it we were a bit nervous as it looks like a rough area, the hotel itself is very clean and modernized inside. The rooms are basic but we had a spacious bathroom with full bath and good shower. It has an elevator, and air conditioning and TV in room. The breakfast room is very pleasant with a lovely outdoor patio at the back. The staff were pleasant and helpful. (They told us on arrival that we must leave the key at the desk when we go out. We didn't have any problem with that.) The owner speaks good English but the staff sometimes have difficulty.
Luckily, we had read good reviews ahead of time and weren't put off by the unattractive appearance of the area. It is just a few minutes walk (left out of the hotel) to the main part of town - lots of cafes and shops and the old part of the town, all very picturesque.
We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport and it cost about 9 Euros. Our first night we arrived late and staff recommended a restaurant just round the corner called the ADEGO NOVA. Again, we were apprehensive but had a great meal there - although some difficulty with language as staff spoke little English. It is obviously a favourite with locals and turned out to be one of the best meals we had in Portugal. The next night staff recommended a restaurant (turn right out of hotel - 5 min. walk - Churrasq St. Antonio). It was very modern inside and we had really rude waitress and the food was just okay. So avoid this place!
For a light lunch we recommend a nice little cafe called Pasteraria Aderito near Rue San Francisco. Very simple fare but clean and colourful inside and friendly service. They even called a taxi for us as it was raining when we were leaving.
Next day we got a taxi to the bus station (5.00 Euro, including tip) and then a coach to Lagos (5.50 each for the 2 1/2 hr. trip).
We thought Faro was a lovely town but a day or two there is probably enough to see everything. We would stay at the Residencial Sun Algarve again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halifaxgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Travelling back from Lagos we decided to spend 1 night in this hotel. Very close to train station and old town which was what we wanted. A nice pleasant gentleman met us at reception. The room we were given was quite small with an equally small bathroom. However there was a very nice balcony, a real suntrap.
The wardrobe had three clothes hangers which I thought was very mean. The T.V. had plenty of English speaking stations. The bed was comfortable. There was a decent shower but no bath in the bathroom. Plenty of soap and squeezy bottles of liquid, decent towels.
We went out for a stroll in the afternoon taking our room key with us. When we returned the female receptionist lectured us like we were school children for taking the key out with us. No smiles, no welcome, nothing.
Breakfast was good and included in the price of €48 for the room. Decent rolls, cheese, ham etc. Pretty awful orange juice though. You could also eat breakfast in a very pleasant courtyard. The same gentleman was hovering about and making sure that everyone was looked after.
Overall I thought it a nice place to stay, good value and I would use it again. The only thing that really annoyed me was the very unwelcoming and unpleasant female receptionist.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The smallest rooms I've ever seen in mid-price hotel. Also the least welcoming staff I've ever encountered.

General impression of penny-pinching eg sheets too small for the bed, ultra-minimal furniture. Staff made no effort to be helpful or even to smile or say good morning.

On the upside the room was clean and the breakfast room was pleasant and the food OK.

Good central location though the whole of Faro is quite run down and not very interesting.

OK for a one night stay close to bus/train stations and with easy access to airport but wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Nice, plain hotel; basic breakfast; friendly staff; excellent location in Faro. Faro is a good central location for visiting different parts of the south coast and is a "real" town rather than a tourist one.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#3 of 28 in Faro
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#8 of 28 in Faro
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Algarve

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 52, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $56 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol Algarve 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sol Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Algarve Faro
Residencial Algarve Hotel Faro
Hotel Sol Algarve Faro, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing