We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid for 2 nights only stayed for 1”
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Sooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paid for 2 nights only stayed for 1”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

First the good. Well located, nice view if you pay for a room overlooking the marina. Very nice clean room. Had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent.

Did not initially get what I had booked, double bed, had a bit of trouble convincing the front desk that I was not going to settle for anything else, they tried to convince me that it was not their fault as I had booked on line even though my confirmation clearly said double. Eventually they had a very simple solution and made it in to a double, I could not understand why they would not do that in the first place.

The room was very noisy. Plumbing noises all night long kept me awake. Also shouting couple at night and shouting kids early morning although I guess every hotel can suffer from that. But the plumbing was ridiculous! Also we did not know that the building was being renovated starting early morning work, had I known I would have stayed somewhere else

Lastly the parking. Our room overlooked the parking lot on the street where I saw 4 dodgy looking characters hanging about asking for tips for helping people park. I did not see anyone refuse to pay. I would have been unhappy leaving my car there overnight. This seems to me to be something the hotel needs to take care of, I certainly don't like to see beggars hanging around the parking lot

I paid for 2 nights but only stayed for one because of the noise. No refund was offered but I didn't want to waste my holidays in a noisy room

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for you comments about Hotel Eva on Tripadvsor.

We regret the fact that you did not have a good impression of some members of our staff.

It´s really importante for us to have our guest feedback and being able to identify where we may improve.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcome you back to Hotel Eva,

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    670
    265
    65
    43
See reviews for
198
852
82
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good all round service and amenities for a comfortable stay. A very convenient location in the town of Faro with all local bars and attractions within walking distance. Very close to train and bus stations which is helpful if you desire to explore the Algarve coastline.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Gerente geral at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments on Hotel Eva- They are a valuable contribution so that we can continue to improve the quality of our services.

We do look forward to welcoming you in the near future

Our best regards

Pedro Almeida

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Arrived late in the evening, 15 minutes from the airport, check in was efficient all the staff were friendly. We had chosen a marina view room which had a great view. The lifts are tiny (says 6 people) any more than 3 it is very cramped.
Room - very underwhelmed by the room which was much smaller than expected, if you sat on the stool at the mirror there was no room to pass, you had to climb over the bed, it was meant to be a double room, did have a double bed but only 1 chair, 1 tumbler and 1 wine glass. Small fridge, small TV with a number of English speaking channels. Wardrobe had enough hangers for the week. The bed and pillows were comfortable. No tea/coffee making facilities and only one electric socket by the bed at floor level. The room was quite grubby, the dressing table was sticky and had drink rings along the length so had not been cleaned before we arrived...worse still it was not cleaned for the whole week, there was also 'bits' on the carpet, they were there for a couple of days before the carpet was hoovered. During the week we never saw anyone doing the rooms. The AC only worked on heat, it was quite stuffy in the room but could not get the AC to cool so we had to sleep with the balcony door open . The free WiFi only worked if you sat by the door to the room, it dropped out immediately if you sat on the bed so couldn't use on balcony, it was so slow even by the door it was almost unusable. The local bars all had good free WiFi.
Bathroom - Glass door to the bathroom with toilet just inside the door - did not like this, a good door for privacy is needed. The bath and shower were OK but could not get the shower to stay at a constant temperature. Toiletries provided and good towels. No tissues which would be expected for a 4* hotel.
Balcony - my pet hate here, the balcony was furnished with cheap plastic chairs and low table which was dirty and stayed dirty. The balcony was swept once during the week but the low dirty plastic table with its coffee stains remained without cleaning. The balcony rail had the paint peeling off and the walls had dirty marks as well as cracks.
Breakfast - Cold meats and tinned fruit, a small amount of fresh fruit. Cakes and pastries were very few and far between. Scrambled eggs, bacon every day, we had to ask for fried eggs which were cooked for us when asked. Breakfast not the hottest and the same every day, when something ran out the staff had to be asked to replenish. Make your own toast which was good so it was hot and toasted to our liking. Coffee passable. Only tea plates provided for breakfast so 1 egg & a couple of rashers of bacon and the plate was full. Not the variety or choice expected of a 4* hotel.
Overall at good base for exploring the Algarve region, Faro itself is not worth staying in, on Sundays the whole town is closed and even during the week there are only a few bars and restaurants open. The hotel looks tired and in need of a paint job which looks as if it may be being done as scaffolding was going up around the hotel as we left.
Would not give the hotel 4 stars...3.5 at the most and a little expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: A marina view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Gerente geral at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate thoroughly your experience at Hotel Eva, Please rest assured that we will look into all the points you were less satisfied with, hoping that in the near future we will be able to welcome you. We also take this opportunity to inform that we are currently painting and renovating all the balconies - furniture included.

Our best regards

Pedro almeida

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Everything from start to finish was perfect: the location, the rooms, the breakfast buffet...we loved it!
So easy to get around when using this hotel as a hub, we got the train to Lisbon one day and the bus to and from the beach and airport is just outside the door.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailinontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Where there this weekend, we had a superbe service by the staff, perfect breakfast, an amazing view over the harbour. We had a drink next to the swimming pool. The hotel is perfect situated next to the airport and the old town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Hotel Eva is a great place to stay! The staff were all excellent, polite and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, the rooms were spotless and the view from the restaurant was amazing. Would definitely stay again if we come back to Faro. We were on the side of the hotel near the street and had no problems at all with noise as mentioned in previous reviews.

Room Tip: Room 419 was fine, near the road but noise was not a problem with the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have just returned from this hotel and it is excellent. We booked a room with balcony and view of the marina and it was worth every penny. The staff were friendly and helpful and always pleasant, the breakfast was gorgeous with plenty of variety. The rooms were spotless with everything changed daily. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough and will return next year.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the sea view and try dinner in the hotels restaurant, the food was gorgeous and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this great feedback. It certainley makes us feel proud of our staff and the sens of accomplishment is a great motivation for all of us.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
924 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#19 of 28 in Faro
276 reviews
13.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro
Hotel Eva Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing