We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were wanting a relaxing stay on the Algarve, and the Hotel Eva didn't disappoint. Whilst not the cheapest option, it provided quiet, comfortable accomodation and a high standard of service. The room was large, with king size bed. There was a stool for the dressing table and a single chair and small table in the room, and two further chairs and a small table on the balcony. Plenty of storage for clothes and luggage was provided, and the four piece ensuite was bright and relatively spacious, with plenty of hot and cold water and a reasonably predictable shower.

The air conditioning worked well, and was needed with the outside temperature up to 30 celsius in the day, and not dropping much below 18 at night. A fridge was also provided and indeed we made much use of it. There was only one power point available for charging phones, cameras or computers, which did mean we had to manage our phone charging carefully.

Breakfast was served in the top floor restaurant, with some outdoor tables. A very good range of fruit, cheese, cold meat, cooked options, breads and pastries were on offer and we never left breakfast feeling hungry.

The rooftop pool was popular, and the adjacent bar there convenient (but pricey) and closed in the early evening. The ground floor bar was open in the evening, and provided a good range of drinks but also at a higher cost than was available close by - after our first night we frequented the Bar Troia, opposite the adjacent bus station, and did not miss the extra luxury that the hotel bars offered.

All staff were helpful and attentive, but not obtrusive.

We had considered eating in the hotel restaurant one evening but ruled it out, preferring to explore Faro and find interesting restaurants elsewhere. The golden rule, of course, is that prices and quality (outside the hotel) tend to be worse around the marina: farther afield there were a couple of excellent restaurants and some real bargains to be had. I would paticularly recommend the Dois Irmaos, Snack Bar a Madraguda, and Entra, all of which we enjoyed.

The only fault experienced during our stay were that the key card lock on our door seemed to have something of a mind of it's own, and sometimes needed two or three attempts to alllow entry. A form was provided to report maintenance issues, had the problem become more serious I am sure it would have been attended to.

Overall, I was not disappointed with the Hotel Eva and would happily stay there again, although for the price I would not expect otherwise.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbourside view get the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    634
    254
    64
    37
See reviews for
183
795
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the best property to stay in Faro by all means. Located at walkable distance to the old city and the main streets. Bus station is just a building away and railway station a block away. It is located right on the Marina which is the happening place in Faro. Breakfast had a good spread and view from the restaurant covered the entire Formosa area. Roof top swimming pool is good place to relax and drown a few drinks in the sun. They even offered me free WiFi during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth_Balasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very rude staff! Despite having booked and paid for a double and a twin room, the very rude receptionist tried to make me pay an additional 220 Euros because I had not seen a tiny box on the booking form that said tick if there will be more than one person in each room. They refused to refund what I had already paid so I could go elsewhere. In the end, I used the hotel computer to access my booking form and tick the box. It still cost me an extra 60 Euros to amend.

Advertises as suitable for disabled but is not! Wheelchair will not fit in the lift without lifting, wheelchair could not fit into tiny rooms, no access to the very dirty swimming pool. Damp, smelly carpets. A dreadful experience, although Faro itself was great shopping and good restaurants! Do not stay at Hotel Eva!

Room Tip: Do not go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mrs Alison St Pierre,
Thank you so much for your comments and we do appreciate your feedback about our service and facilities, however we would like to explain that you made a no refundable reservation, with special prices for two single rooms (one person each), so we could not refund you!
The difference which was paid was 10,80€ per room per night, at the total amount of 64,80€, and not 220€ like you mentioned...
We are really sorry that we haven’t been able to meet all your expectations.
With my very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Eva hotel just one night on 16 of August. The pool on the roof of the hotel has great views over the marina, Faro island and the Ria Formosa. The breakfast is also served on the roof of the hotel with some outdoor tables. From the hotel it is a short walk to the old city which is walled and has a lot of restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I came to this hotel with little expectation and chose it only because of it's location in the centre of Faro. I was however pleasantly surprised - the lobby is bright and modern and the rooms were spacious and clean - although why the superior rooms are the only ones without a balcony is a bit strange! - the main plus point to this hotel is the roof top pool - a very good sized pool with a nice area around it for lounging or for using the nice little bar and cafe - all in all a good option for stays in Faro

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Eva from 8-12 September 2013. Took a bus from Faro Airport and it dropped us right outside hotel. We arrived 3 hours before check in but were greeted courteously and told that our room was ready. The porter brought up our luggage and first impressions were good. The hotel foyer is elegant and this is where the downstairs bar is situated. Our room was clean and overlooked the marina. we had paid a little extra for this and glad we did as the other rooms looked onto the main st coming into the marina and it was quite busy and noisy, honestly you could sit there and drink in the view for hours. Fresh towels and toiletries were delivered every morning and the bathroom cleaned and beds made normally happening when we were at breakfast. There is no tea or coffee facilities in the room but to be honest there are small bars and cafes dotted closely beside the hotel that you really didn't miss it. Went up and visited the pool and it looked inviting but we didn't use it. There is also spa facilities in the hotel and I looked at the brochure and couldn't quite believe how reasonable it was. Breakfast was amazing A great supply of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, pastries and fresh fruit and yogurts not to mention the hot breakfasts which would feed an army. The waiting staff are constantly attentive and made sure everything was topped up as well as being efficient when tables needed cleared. A great hotel which I definitely would return to and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting. By the way the main shopping area is only 2 mins walk. Food and drink are very reasonable with one cafe delivering coffee to customers at 60 cents a cup! Not for the younger tourist looking for nightclubs and a busy social scene but definitely for the family and more mature clientele

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tania1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at Hotel Eva and it was great. Check-in was quick and efficient. The staff members at the reception desk are very helpful, and provided us with information on trains, buses and boats - even providing us with printouts of timetables. We had marina views, and the view was superb from the balcony. The rooms are compact in size, but not cramped. The bathrooms were clean and well-equipped with toiletries and towels.

The breakfast display is exceptional - there is scrambled egg, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, boiled eggs and beans. A variety of breads, a toaster, jams, hams, cheeses, fresh sliced fruits, fruit juices (not squash!), yoghurt, pastries and cake - all meticulously laid out regardless of the time of morning you turn up for breakfast. It's served on the 5th floor so the view from there is great.

There were local music performances around the marina every night, going on until midnight or 2am. These were pretty loud, and even the double glazing couldn't block it out. This is no fault of the hotel though, and may only be a summer season thing. Didn't use the pool, but it's on the roof with a poolside bar.

Took the 30 minute boat trip to Ilha Deserta - the water was crystal clear for swimming and the sandy beach was clean. The railway station is conveniently behind the hotel, and train services run east and west along the Algarve coast - we went to Lagos and Tavira.

Room Tip: A marina view room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro
Hotel Eva Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing