We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“enjoyable short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked Hotel Eva when looking for a short stay convenient to airport and in easy reach of beaches and day trips. I was not disappointed with my choice. Hotel Eva is a good hotel, conveniently situated for airport (I paid 1.90Euro on bus at airport and was in the hotel 20 mins later), train station (3 minutes walk) and bus station (next door).
The breakfast was excellent, with every possible choice to hand and I used the hotel restaurant for two evenings where I found the food to be of excellent quality.
It seemed most people staying in the hotel were there as a stopover on the way to Algarve resorts , or for business, but I stayed for 4 days and took the train for day trips . The hotel reception recommended Tavira (30minutes by train) and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit there. I also took the train to Lagos (1hr 30mins) which is much more of a tourist resort.
Faro itself is a pleasant place to stay , with a lovely old town feel. It is covered in a day and therefore you will need to take day trips if staying there as I did.
I would recommend paying the extra for a Marina view as it was pleasant to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by.
I did not use the spa or health club but it seemed very popular with the locals - usually a good sign.

Room Tip: Marina view on floor 3 or 4 ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkThewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    623
    251
    61
    36
See reviews for
182
775
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good breakfast, room reasonable. Reception staff unhelpful. Air conditioning problematic. make sure you ask for room with a view of the sea/marina. Our room overlooked dingy apartment blocks in Faro. Hotel has a great location in the centre of Faro and right beside the old town. Tourist office closed on Saturdays and Sundays when we were there in November.

Room Tip: Request room with sea view/overlooking the marina. Check out the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keegfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The aim of this trip was a late autumn break and to find a central location to explore southern Portugal. Hotel Eva is perfectly placed, a quick hop from Faro airport, yet quietly located on Faro marina, with cafes, bars, train and bus stations near by. My room overlooked the peaceful picturesque marina so I could watch the small fishing boats come and go, healthy people dash in and out of the gym below and couples stroll by.

My room was a good size, well designed and clean. The balcony, although in need of a touch of paint was a perfect spot to dry soggy trainers following a torrential downpour, but also to admire the stunning light of the sunrise and mesmerising pink sunset. I saw the local storks fly to their roosting spot, but just missed the formation of flamingos that flew by as I was in the bathroom. Typical!

As for facilities, breakfast was spot on, the ground floor bar relaxing and friendly and the poolside bar idyllic on the two occasions we enjoyed the glow of autumn sunshine. Reception staff sorted out a minor booking issue quickly and effectively and the cleaning staff were helpful and friendly.

I enjoyed the food everywhere I went, but meal of the trip went to the hotel restaurant…ahh that sea bass was gorgeous. My Portuguese is a little rusty but as usual, restaurants, tourist attractions and all the transport providers speak tourist English, so there were no problems as I travelled around.

I have no complaints and I’m happy to recommend Hotel Eva.


.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here last week for one night prior to taking flight home. Good location for central Faro and about 10mins drive to airport. Hotel is situated on harbour and very easy walking into the town. Hotel has modern foyer and our room was very good with harbour view and breakfast include (85 euros) The restaurants on the 5th floor looked good but we didn't use them, there looked to be very good outside seating area on the 5th floor together with a small pool--the weather was so bad we were unable to take advantage. i noticed a bus service right outside the hotel to Praia de Faro which is a good beach with some good fish restaurants. We ate at Irmaos in the town which is worth a visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

i visited the hotel Eva at short notice with my eldest son as we needed a break for a few days and the location and proximity to the airport 9 just 10 euro by local taxi ) was great. The hotel itself was well run and the staff were helpful and polite. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. The rooftop pool and bar with views of teh surrounding area were fantastic and also benefited from the cool breeze being higher up.The breafast on the top floor was self service and the choice was fantastic as well and unlimited. You could eat enough to keep you going all day till you visited one of the many restuarants within east walking distance. I wll definately return at some stage to to location and value for money.

Room Tip: try to get a room over looking the marina for a few more euros. the views from the room rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supercad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiancee and I were meeting up for a weekend away (I work away in Russia) and with the logistics and availability of flights we settled on Faro. I had read some of the reviews from here before booking the hotel Eva and I was not disapointed.

I was able to see the hotel overlooking the marina on the flight into Faro airport and with the proximity was a tad concerned regarding air traffic noise however whilst the flights could be heard, there was no disturbances for the hours that we slept and during the day it was not a major disruption so onto the hotel itself.

First impressions can only be made once and the lobby of the hotel was beautiful clean bright and modern, first impressions were a success. I had booked a sea view room deliberately and on check in was advised wed been upgraded to a suite, initial concerns dismissed as it was still a sea/marina view. the suite was clean and spacious, all that was needed for our trip. We did not dine in the restaurant, however the area was again modern clean and bright having enjoyed the breakfast up at the top of the hotel with a great view. Also another point about the hotel was that the bar area was clean and smart, view asthetically pleasing and a very relaxed atmosphere for a last drink of the evening. The location was fabulous as right by the old town/restaurant/shops and (as theres not a lot to see in Faro) right by the railway station for essential days out up the coast.

As a final point, the staff were very helpful and courteous, on checking in we were given a local map with points of interest, on the final night my fiancee succumbed to a migraine whilst out and they were very helpful in providing medication- even asking when we checked out how the migraine was. Faro for us will be a one short visit due to the limitations of the area (as lovely as parts where) however we could not fault the hotel in any way and would receommend highly to anyone visiting the region.

Room Tip: sea view/marina definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
415 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right at the city centre,beside the bus station, this hotel is excellently situated,roof pool is amazing,the views over the sea and Faro,good breakfast and the rooms were bright and spacey,definately a good stay,only two problems,no kettle in room,and having to pay for wifi,terrible for a hot

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro
Hotel Eva Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing