We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eva a kettle or a balcony not both”
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Kilkenny
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Eva a kettle or a balcony not both”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arrived here after two weeks in Hotel Oriental, Praia da Rocha which may reflect on our view of Eva. The Hotel is bright and clean. The roof restaurant has great views. We had a room over looking the marina. The room seemed small after our previous hotel but was comparable with other city hotels we have stayed in Faro. The bathroom was very cramped by any standard. If we wake in the night we like to make a hot drink. My request for a kettle was firmly refused. It appears only people in suites are thought to require to make hot drinks for themselves. On a previous visit to Faro I had been shown a room at the Eva that was much bigger and was graced with a kettle but had a view of roof tops. In view of this I decided to keep the balcony overlooking the marina and forgo the pleasure of the kettle. I do not understand the attitude when even 3 star hotels provide kettles in the rooms as standard. My request for an ash tray for the balcony was met with an equally firm no. I could not see why, when at least three of the balconies I could see from mine had people smoking. I can accept not smoking in the rooms but the balcony does not seem unreasonable. In fact the hotel has two rooms upstairs where smoking is allowed. One of which is a room where people can have their breakfast. Making up the rooms is very poorly arranged. When you go out for the morning you expect to come back to a made up room. Not if you stay at the Eva. One day it was 16.45 hrs before our room was made up. This despite the fact that when we left at 10.00 hrs the maid was two doors away. A good point I have to say is that breakfast starts at 06.00 hrs allowing you to grab something before leaving for an early flight. Most of the staff I had dealings with were friendly and helpful. One thing I found rather odd, in the pool area there is a toilet for women but not for men. They have to travel back into the main hotel should they feel the need. In general it is a nice hotel but
if the management addressed the points I raised it would be even better. They may be small things in themselves but they are things I would take into account next time I am deciding which hotel to book in Faro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    672
    267
    65
    43
See reviews for
201
855
82
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lunel, France
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we have just spent three nights at the Eva after 6 nights in Albureia

the room was very comforatble, pretty balcony with views over the marina and out to sea as requested
good safe and toiletries, lift from the ground floor, one niggle the rail for hanging your clothes on is set so high and behind a pelmet very difficult for ladies

lovely breafast room on the top floor
good selection of breads fruits etc and cold items
only let down by the old fashioned lift up servers for the hot foods which were never hot enough
such a shame as the standards of food were good

good advise on local restaurants many which are with in a few mins walk

you are on the promanade and crossing over the road in the town proper is a few minutes walk on the flat with its very good shops and lovely wide pedestianised streets

always a smile at reception perfect english spoken would stay there again

Room Tip: go for a little more and have the sea or marina rooms with their balconies and fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from two night stay at this hotel. Our room 235 was lovely bathroom really nice, everything really clean. Good toiletries. For the money I paid I would have liked a balcony and if I returned in summertime I would want to stay somewhere with balcony, but as it was chilly in the am and pm it wasn't a big deal. Excellent location, reception staff mostly pleasant and breakfast was fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Went there for the October holiday, had booked a double deluxe for three people, which we couldn't get on arrival after all, ended up in a small room, but with balcony and overlooking the harbour. Room was nice, corridor dark and smelly though. Beware of wireless connectivity only allowing you 6 hours over the period of your stay and you have to call the reception to log out! Pool only suitable for penguins and polar bears. Freezing! We booked this hotel to get pool and wifi and ended up with neither, but the location is great and Faro is lovely

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselotte19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strommen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel has a good location. It looks elegant, not so elegant from the backside - don't look there. The room - superior - was very nice, with good spac. Full access to the gym and gym/spinning classes, the outdoor pool situated on the roof was large enough for training. The breakfast was ordinary, you can enjoy the meal at the outdoor terrace, overlooking the nice little harbour of Faro.

Room Tip: The superior-rooms located against the street with some traffic was very quiet due to double glassdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely hotel with roof top swimming pool & bar. Great restaurant on top floor with balcony over looking the marina. Brilliant breakfast everything you could ever want- and more! Some staff a bit grumpy, but helpful if you needed anything. Our room was over looking blocks of flats on top of a bus depot, so was a bit noisy, but great sitting on the balcony watching the world go by...and triple glazing so did not get disturbed by the noise at night. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really great location, very near lovely old town and the marina. However hotel is, at best, average. Staff are not very friendly - not even very polite. The room we had was crummy. We were there for 1 night, and eager to explore Faro when we arrived so dumped bags and ran out. When we were got back later to get ready for dinner i noticed that the room was tatty. the funiture broken and scratched, the wallpaper in the corridor outside the bathroom peeling off with damp. This was because there was a crack in the bath and grouting missing from the bathroom tiles so the damp was coming through to the room and making it damp. It looked like it had been like it for a while - last refurb must have been 20 years ago +. I would rate the hotel a 2 star at most.

Room Tip: Check the room when you arrive and change if damp / broken bath / tiles / furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
932 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#19 of 28 in Faro
278 reviews
13.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro
Hotel Eva Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing