We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb little apartment with shared pool, quiet...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Faro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sky_Saile...
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb little apartment with shared pool, quiet location”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Superbly furnished little place with attentive and friendly hosts living next door. It has tiled floors, a huge bed, shower room, kitchenette with gas hob (no oven) and all usual appliances such as microwave, toaster and kettle. Hosts offered use of washing machine and tumble drier but these are not in in the house. The TV has all British TV channels (similar to freesat) and there is also a CD player, free wifi, fan heaters for winter and air conditioning for summer, comfy chairs including a rocker but no sofa, use of spotless clean pool and surroundings with sun beds, parasols etc, well tended gardens including car port, boule court and BBQ area. Ninho do Amor is in a very quiet situation on hills above Estoi village, and all this only 20 mins drive from Faro airport. November weather included blue skies and hot sun, but also torrential rain and even tornadoes touching down further along the coast. On the wettest day we were returning home after dark with thunder and lightning crashing around, reduced to second gear following the lights of the car in front and wipers on double speed. Don't believe everything you read about suicidal Portugese drivers ~ everyone was being very sensible in conditions like that. And yet next day we were sunbathing again in shorts and bare feet. Don't get me started on the local restaurants such as Antonio's at Moncarapacho otherwise we'll be here all day, and the evening walks along the sea front at both Olhao and Fuseta were very enjoyable. For oldies like us this short winter break had everything we wanted, and we'll probably come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, and the local wildlife
Liked least: The shower (but that's because I don't like showers)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, but ease of access to everything you needed for a relaxing break.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DebsandJe...
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with fantastic, caring owners.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked to go back again in 6 months time. The setting is idyllic with beautiful views from around the pool. It overlooks a huge chunk of the Algarve. The Nest is small but very comfortable and clean. There is satellite TV with all the British freesat. channels and a DVD player - just incase you need a little time out from all the local culture. The beds are wonderful and we both slept very well in them. The owners are amazing and always ready to help and look after you. This is a place where you will feel safe and cared for. This is a delightful little place to stay, in a peaceful location, which is only 20 mins from some beautiful beaches, nature reserves, fishing villages and towns. This part of the Algarve is much less touristy and yet offers plenty of places to visit and the local food is excellent. The owners will provide you with lots of information about where to eat and what's of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: The water heater (which is being changed in the near future)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Not Applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lynneharr...
Hebden Bridge
1 review
“The perfect hide-away....a haven of peace and tranquility, touched with comfort, love and brilliant hospitality!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Nest brings back happy memories of spacious surroundings, sounds and scenes of local / rural activity yet only a short distance from beaches, towns and many beautiful & historical sites.

Such care has been taken by our hosts/friends, Karl and Daphne, to create a genuine nest of love – a haven of peace and tranquility which enhances what is a total rest and relaxation experience of the highest quality

It is gem of a find and although my husband and I have preferred in the past to travel/holiday to places we haven’t been to before – we have fallen so in love with The Nest, the surrounding beauty of hillsides, long ranging views from the pool side…that we have returned three times now and we will be returning again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts, meeting other local people, made to feel so welcome.
Liked least: Having to make tearful farewells
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect break in a relaxed environment, topped off with comfort and hospitality”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Nest, as nicknamed by the owners Karl and Daph, over looks eastern Algarve. Some of the first things we noticed whilst settling in was the peace and quiet, the relaxed atmosphere and the stunning views from the garden and pool area. Karl simply pointed to all the beaches and towns from the garden, giving lots of recommendations.

My girlfriend and I experienced a wonderful time, and appreciated the comfort, hospitality and local knowledge offered by the owners.

After ten days, we agreed there is still plenty of things to do in Faro and its surrounding towns, and if we do make a return journey to the area we will happily stay at Ninho do Amor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, and surroundings of the cottage
Liked least: Hard to say!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean K
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Ninho do Amor is a very special place to stay and also special to us are Karl & Daphne, the owners.
This was our 4th visit and it just keeps getting better and better. The accommodation is very comfortable, the facilities are excellent, there is a beautiful pool and deck with stunning views towards the coast and hills. We find so many places to discover each time we visit, excellent restaurants and gorgeous beaches to laze on. A car is necessary to enjoy the surrounding countryside and to explore other villages. We shall return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing