We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and wonderful atmosphere”
Review of The Cavern at V Terra - CLOSED

The Cavern at V Terra
Price range: $16 - $21
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cavern at V Terra is in a magnificent historic building with a roof garden and terrace, bar/restaurant and cellar where live music can frequently be enjoyed. Our steaks are the best in the Algarve but we always have vegetarian options and our salmon-on-a-cedar-plank is in high demand. Live music is a regular occurrance at The Cavern with international artists in the genres of jazz, classical, folk and others. Other cultural events planned include murder mystery evenings, film showings, parties and plays.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food and wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited VTerra while on a vacation in Spain and Portugal in August. This was easily the best restaurant experience we had during our vacation. Everything was as close to perfect as you could hope for. The building was beautiful, atmosphere was excellent, service was wonderful and the food just perfect. We would have wanted to taste everything in the menu (and actually ended up having three different desserts between us). Our only regret in fact was that we didn't discover the place the night before so that we could have tried out some of the other dishes as well. If I had to recommend one restaurant in Portugal to visit, this would definitely be the one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lassi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“The salmon is not to be missed”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The atmosphere, architecture & ambience is, like the food, excellent and interesting. Wish I could stay for the live music in the Cavern.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“V-terra closed”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Whilst on a recent trip to Estoi we were sad to see that V-terra had closed as we had enjoyed many meals there. There were no notices on the building to suggest why it was closed. We were therfore very happy to discover totally by chance that they had moved to just outside Pechao. The full details are Gunthers Restaurante Montarrolo 8700 Pechao, on the road from Estoi to Olhao just past O Lagar. Glad to confirm that the food is as good as it was at V-terra

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UkMarkna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Divine meal, excellent space, cosy ambiance”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Located at one entrance of the village Estoi (very close to exit n.º 14 on motorway A22), this restaurant was a really pleasant discovery!
We've moved to Estoi a year ago and hadn't yet taken the time to experience this cosy-looking restaurant.
It has a short menu but everything seems extremely tasty and homemade! Gunther, the chef and one of the owners, took the time to go to every table and ask everyone how they were enjoying their meal.
Ours, for one, was divine. The vegetables were fresh, very well seasoned and cooked. The meat - I had chicken, my partner had pork - was carefully chopped and the sauce was exquisite.
We are DEFINITELY returning and have already passed on the good word!
The restaurant has only approx. 40 seats scattered along 3 floors (ground, in between and cellar), which is great if you're looking for a meal at which you can acually talk to one another.
We understand they sometimes have music seances.

The only downside is that you can't pay with a card - only cash.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicMestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cavern at V Terra also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing