We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST IN FARO (DONT MISS IT)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasca do Ricky

Tasca do Ricky
Ranked #3 of 307 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEST IN FARO (DONT MISS IT)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our second visit to Faro and third and fourth vist to Tasca do Ricky. It really does offer fantastic value for money with its lunchtime menu of 6 euro for 3 courses what you get is real home cooked food and a fantastic service .On our second visit my wife had a upset stomache from a meal the day before at another establishment it was so difficult for her to have to watch me enjoy the special of the day of Baked Duck and rice which was very good. We have also eaten in the evening and the food on offer is very hard to beat served by fantastic staff. Its easy to find if you stand at entrance to bus staion facing the road look left and you will see a Japanese restaurant,take the road that runs up the side of this place and about 100 metres up look for the wood fish sign of Rickys and turn right .You will be so glad you made the effort and will be sure to return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thfc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    88
    24
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bow, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overcharged”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food here was quite acceptable, but we were clearly overcharged on our meal. There was no mention of a cover charge to eat at the restaurant, but the meals as advertised definitely did not total what we paid. Perhaps choose another one of the many other restaurants nearby to have better luck in paying a fair price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtsmith131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had lunch here on the last day of our holiday. We had read the reviews and thought it was worth a try. When we arrived Ricky ( we presumed) greeted us warmly and went to great pains to explain to us the two dishes of the day. He suggested we try one dish and then perhaps try the other which we did - one was pasta and white fish dish which was local to Faro and the other was ribs serves with what looked like a bread stuffing and which was very tasty. - that I think was from the Alentejo We had a big glass of house wine with the meal and we went on to order another litre..... we also had a home made creme caramel and a chocolate mousse. Everything we are was ate was goodand we would happily choose to eat there again. The dish of the day was 5 euros and came with a glass of wine, with a soup starter it was 6 and with a dessert 7 - all fantastic value - I think the litre of house wine was 6 euros. I would happily go here the next time in Faro and would be very interested to eat off the ordinary menu which also seemed great value

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best in Faro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very good on all counts.The Squid was fantastic,Ricky explained how he got the flavour by adding several different types of alcohol. it is a small place down a tiny side street,but if you just go up the road behind mcdonalds,at the harbour,you will come to Ricky's in 5 minutes. Well worth a minute or two to make the effort to find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VandL_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner Ricky who also helped us with our meal decisions. The fish I had was great, the vegetarian options on the menu are a bit sparse though, but they improvised and made a huge salad for my friend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca do Ricky also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Tasca do Ricky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing