We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every minute of it”

Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.96*
and up
Ria Formosa Catamaran Trip from Faro
More Info
$29.96*
and up
Bird Watching Guided Boat Trip in Ria Formosa from Faro Algarve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Formosamar is an ecotourism company organizing boat trips and activities in the Ria Formosa: boat Trips, dolphinwatching boat tours, kayak tours & kayak hire, birdwatching, guided walks, bicycle tours & rent a bike. Boat Hire & Rental Service. Departures from Faro » several daily departures all year round.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute of it”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Came from Lisbon by bus in a one day trip to see part of Algarve, Ria Formosa and Faro. Called to save 2 places for the trip that visits also the 2 islands and a very nice lady was kind enough to make us reservations and even to move us to a different trip because we arrived earlier. The boat takes you through the channels of Ria Formosa with the guide pointing you to various birds and places to notice. You have two 30 min stops to very nice islands, one of them having an awesome blue flag beach which we hardly wanted to leave and also lovely small houses you can rent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Florin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloNugas, Gerente at Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed every minute of your boat trip in the Ria Formosa with us. And yes, indeed this Nature Park has the most beautiful islands and beaches making it very hard to want to leave. On behalf of all our team @ Formosamar we would to thank you once again for your preference. We look forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    72
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kayak and bike hire”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hired 2 sit on top kayaks for 35 euros for 4 hours - explored the marshes which was fab - loads to see there. Calm water but the suggested route was quite long so it was a bit of a sprint back.
Another day hired some bikes for the day - 15 euros each. Have to say the bikes were badly maintained - the noise from the unoiled chain was deafening! But we explored a long way on them and had a great day out. Helpful staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloNugas, Gerente at Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Alison,

Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in the Ria Formosa with us. We appreciate your constructive review. Our bikes have a regular maintenance in the official brand dealer. The chains are new and oiled on a weekly basis. Many times what happens with the problem you mentioned is that 21 speed system is not being correctly used by the customer since some combinations should be avoided like the largest chain wheel to largest sprocket.
However we will take note of your remark so it won't happen in the future.
Regarding the kayaks indeed the Ria Formosa is a beautiful area to explore kayaking with loads of things to see. When we hire kayaks, we suggest a route which has been tested by our guides and is consistent with the time of rental. You didn't have to sprint back because as our colleagues most certainly explained there is tolerance regarding the time of returnal and we appreciate above all that you arrive safely and satisfied. Once again thank you for your review we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bonding with Nature at end of the day”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We first aknoledge Formosamar in Faro, but when we said we were staying at a hotel in Tavira, the nice lady from Formosamar reirected us to their collegues in Tavira because it would gave us more time options... That said, the day after, we look after them and they proposed us a trip along the Tavira Island in the Ria Formosa with a guide at the end of the day, with promised of taking amazing pictures as the sun goes down...
And it was amazing... the guide, Pedro, was amazing, helped us in the birdwatching thingy (first time and I liked it), we traveled by some canals of the Tavira island, we had a lot of explanations about the Ria Formosa, the fishing activity and the area... My wife and I, we loved it!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloNugas, Gerente at Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Xavier,

Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in the Ria Formosa with us.
It's great to know that you had such a great time with us and we're very proud to read such a nice compliment regarding your guide Pedro - that makes us very proud of our team. We'll make sure to let him know of your experience. We look forward your next visit to the Ria Formosa.
Kindest regards on behalf of all our team at Formosamar,

Paulo Nugas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent birdwatching expedition”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very knowledgeable, very flexible in changing dates as a result of bad weather.
Excellent spoken English including the names of birds in English. Knew "likely" spots to see particular birds.
Highly recommended

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloNugas, Manager at Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Cliff,

Many thanks for your feedback. It's great to know you really enjoyed our birdwatching tours in the Ria Formosa. The place you visited is one of the best spots for birdwatching in the Algarve and our flexibility regarding the changes on the tour dates is because we want our clients to have the best experience possible during their holidays. We are proud of our team when we read comments like in respect to their knowledge.
Looking forward your next visit here.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We just came back from a boat trip (today) to see the channels of the rio formosa off the city of Faro. The boat ride took approx 2 hours and cost 20 eur per person. Our guide was a student majoring in biology and was very knowledgeable which made for some interesting facts and information about the rio formosa. The trip also included approx 20 min on one of the nearby beaches which was stunning! Relative to price and time spent the boat ride was an interesting and relaxing experience.

Helpful?
5 Thank jamesmac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Formosamar - Ecotourism & Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing