We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for airport.”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Very clean and close to the airport. The breakfast was not great - poor quality 'artificial' food (tang for orange juice, weiners for sausages).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maple1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 298 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

We always go to Europe on Hols mainly Italy. We hadnt been to Portugal in 18 years. This was our 1st time in Faro and we both absolutely enjoyed it. grrt Hotel..Good Breakfast...peaceful pool..exxcellent staff..relaxing and laid back reminds me of the irish and we found a fantastic seafood restaurant Fortuna weel def be back here...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesper054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we flew in to Faro late on a Sunday evening, to late to pick up our hire car and travel onward.
A taxi from the airport took 5 minutes and cost 5 euros, we were in our room within 45 minutes from landing.

There's not to much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but the receptionist recommended a restaurant ( Antonios ) which took us about a 20 min. stroll, it was very reasonably priced and served very good food, we passed one or two bars on the way.

Next morning I asked reception to call a taxi for us, we wanted to go back to the airport to pick up our rental vehicle, the lady at the desk was very helpful and organised the hotel shuttle bus to take us, at no charge, even though it meant going out of it's way. I think it only normally takes guests into Faro town, this was much appreciated.

This hotel is good value for a short stay and I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGDSEDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

A short walk from Montenegro & it s shops &restaurants.Courtesy bus to Marina &beach.Close to Airport. Nice breakfast ,albeit limited in choice.Rooms serviced daily to a high standard.Pleasant & efficient staff.@ front desk,bar &breakfast room.Limited evening meal options but plenty of options close to Hotel.Rooms are adequately sized. I slept really well with no outside disturbances.Would have no hesitation in recommending the Monaco as a base for exploring the surrounding area as it is excellent value for the price.Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank Etoliverpool_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at the Monaco for a short 3 night break at the end of March/beginning of April. The hotel is clean and very well maintained; the rooms spacious and cleaned to a very good standard. Breakfast, although limited, was perfectly adequate and extremely good value for money, as was the hotel generallly. The staff were helpful; the area around Montenegro delightful. It was a pefect place to stay for a couple of days and if we were to return to Faro I woulld be happy to stay at the Monaco again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank NS-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hotel Monaco went above and beyond what we were expecting. We read the reviews on here and thought we would take a chance as we were on a budget. The hotel was impeccably clean though, with new feeling linen, fresh looking interior and decor to match. The room was really nice, and big, with a balcony (you must ask for a balcony room), and there is buffet breakfast every morning which is actually very good!! There is fresh fruit, cereals, milk, nesquik, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, fresh rolls, ham, cheese, sausages, yoghurts and juice. A great way to start the day!! We had no problem with noises, and the cleaners were very trustworthy and did very good jobs on the room daily. The staff were all helpful and very kind. Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a high standard airport hotel. It's the nearest hotel to Faro Airport (about €5 / €6 in a taxi). The staff are great, very friendly, helpful and nothing was any trouble. The hotel itself is spotless, the rooms large and comfortable. There is a tv in the room which has English and German channels (as well as ones from Portugal). The bar is reasonable value. Very handy for the airport and considering the price it's one of the best value hotels. But special praise for the staff who were amongst the most friendly I have even met. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,014 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $55 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing