We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family like little guest house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sally Guest House

Sally Guest House
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sally Guest House
Ranked #15 of 23 Faro B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A family like little guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Totally agree other people's comments. Sally treated us like friends and family. As we had so many email communications prior to our visit, she gave me a big hug like an old friend when we arrived! She has very good local knowledge, giving good recommendations on where to go or where to eat, even told us which wine is good and which ones to avoid. Through Sally's recommendation, we found a very good value and friendly car rental company called AUTO SEASONS, which just made our holiday experience even better- without worrying being ripped off by doggy car hire service.
The little guest house is very clean, situates at the charming old town at a very convenient location. We stayed in the special room, which has a shower cube, but have to share toilet with other guests, it would have been perfect if the room is on suite, but it is very good value for money anyway. If you are planning to stay longer, it's most likely Sally would offer some sort of discount. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Special Rooms are the ones to choose, they have balcony(s) and full of sun lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. I am pleased you were happy with the car hire company, smaller companies offer such a great service and no airport drop off charge - I now have contacts at 3 such places and rather than me receiving commission, they all give my Guests a better rate instead. I am glad you felt like friends/family, that is so nice to hear - the only trouble is, it is hard for me to say goodbye to people! Thank you and best regards, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Sally, the owner of the Tivoli Pension, looked after us so well; it's as if we've been friends for years! She gave us so much information about Faro, from where to eat to how to get about and what was going on in the city. She was able to recommend where to eat and the restaurants gave discounts because we were staying at The Tivoli. This really helped as Faro can be expensive.
I really recommend the Tivoli hospitality to everyone. The rooms are clean and are nicely decorated. It is very central, being only a few minutes walk from all the action and the marina.
If you're from the UK and can get hold of a few sherbert fountains, I know they'll go down well! ;o)

Room Tip: E-mail Sally and ask her what she has got. If you stay more than a few nights, you may be able to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments Andie and I am glad you liked my recommendations for the restaurants. I have discovered more great places to eat and I am able to warn my Guests about the over-priced tourist restaurants (and cafes!). And you are right, if people book directly with me, i offer discounts for longer stays at all times of the year, even in August! Thanks and best regards, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were in Faro for one night and this pension was absolutely perfect for our needs. Very clean, a tad on the small side for two people, and in an excellent location in Faro. The owner, Sally was absolutely fantastic - very friendly, gave us the lowdown on all the 'right' ad cheap restaurants - two of which we tried and were too knotch, and told us where to get the best coffee in town. We would definitely recommend this pension and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethansparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Hello Ethan, thank you for your kind words. I remember you both very well and I hope that you do return . Bestest, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We arrived at Tivoli Guest House not quite knowing what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The guest house is situated in an excellent location overlooking a small square lined with trees. Practically within the 'Old Town' area of Faro and a short walk to the cathedral and marina, this guest house is surrounded by typical Portuguese cobbled streets and pretty architecture.

Our room in Tivoli was the special double room which was smaller than we expected with a small shower cubicle and sink and shared toilet. Although this room is small and basic, it was clean and had double doors to a balcony over looking the square which was very pretty. Quite noisy outside with all the hustle and bustle but the double glazing was amazing!!

The owner Sally was extremely welcoming and helpful and pointed us in all the right directions with regards to using local transport and places to visit. We took a local bus along the coast to Alburfeira where the beach was lovely but the place generally catered too much for the British with plenty of 'English breakfast' and 'Guinness here' signs. We were quite pleased to get back to sleepy Faro where we actually felt like we were in Portugal.

Would definitely recommend the Tivoli Guest House which was excellent value for money with basic but clean rooms and perfect for a base to explore the city and surround areas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
I would like to thank you for your comments Emma and I am pleased that you also find that Faro is a lovely place to visit - and very Portuguese. Thanks a lot, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

hi, we stayed 1 week in the faro tivoli and the owner (sally, an english woman) is great! she is extremely helpful and nice and will give you tips and tricks about the town and surrounders. the only bad point about this hostel is that there is no heating whatsoever and we were so unlucky to get there when it was cold on the evening and even though sally got us a radiator, it was a bit chilly for us. the rooms are also a bit small and there was not much on them...

anyway, great service and great location. if you are looking for a cozy and friendly hostel, here it is!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Thank you for your valued review. It was a shame that it was cold for you, normally we are trying to cool the place down!! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Faro. Thank you, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

During our stay in Lagos we ran into a bit of trouble with a hotel in Faro changing our booking.
Faced with nowhere to stay for the evening, we called The Tivoli.
Sally (the proprietor) was lovely and welcomed us in. We only stayed one nigt but we enjoyed the experience greatly.
Would definitely recomment The Tivoli for young people staying in Faro.
Great value too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyinFaro, Owner at Sally Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review girls - although you stayed 5 years ago so you are now young ladies!! I remember you well and you gave me my first ever review on Trip Advisor. I hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#9 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa d'Alagoa - Faro Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sally Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sally Guest House

Property: Sally Guest House
Address: Praca Alexandre Herculano 6, Faro 8000-159, Portugal (Formerly Tivoli Guest House)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great location in Faro with all the best amenities close by. We have Economy bedrooms on the ground floor with shared bathrooms and Standard and Special rooms on the first floor with small verandas, private shower cubicles and hand basins (with shared toilets). Wi-fi is available throughout the first floor and hopefully on the ground floor soon. Write to me direct for special offers and pricing and I will always try and do a good deal for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sally Guest House Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing