We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you want realax away from everything. The landscape invades the soul, the palave athosphere is romantic and carries you away to another era. The service was good, not amazing. The bedrooms are good and modern has expected, no surprises there too. What makes this place worth of a stay is the fact that we are enticed to stop at very corner to savour each architectural details the palace rooms are from the seventeen hundreds with opulent frescoes and woodwork.
Very very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarMourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Palacio Estoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 723 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed 6 nights at the end of September in a superior room.

The old building is great as are the grounds. Our room, as with all of them, was designed to contrast with the flamboyant 19th century main building. That means a stark hard white box room with black grey and brown furnishings. The bed was hard, the lighting hard and inadequate, no separate shower in the large bathroom and air conditioning that was quiet and ferociously efficient; if only the temperature control had worked.

The pool area was very good just don’t forget to go to reception to pick up your towels. The spa is a small but adequate as few people use it. The pool area bar is rarely open. We tried dinner one evening but the service was very poor, the atmosphere very dull and the food poor. Despite having to drive every evening to a restaurant we found that much better than facing another dinner at the Pousada.

The staff were friendly but management of them and the Pousada are not up to standard and indeed management was only visible at meal times when they occupied a prime table whilst the staff waited on them and the guests coped with the buffet.

We could not find a reasonable restaurant within walking distance of the Pousada but there is a good one on the corner of the cross roads by the Roman Villa. We also found great fish restaurants with a great atmosphere in Olhao which is just about near enough.

We enjoyed our stay because the surroundings are great, we got used to our room but never warmed to it and we might go back, not least because of the lack of any alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Estoi and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here at the end of September for three nights with two golfing pals
First time I've stayed in a Pousada and it won't be the last. The hotel, which incorporates a historic palace, has all the benefits of a major hotel chain but a greatly improved ambience
The pool is lovely, we didn't try the indoor whirl pool or gym, whilst our rooms, we had family rooms, were large, clean and very comfortable
The architecture of the "new bit" is elegant and doesn't detract from the beautifully restored palace
The main rooms are fantastic whilst breakfast in particular was excellent
Its position just out side Estoi, about 20 minutes from the airport, means it is quiet - ideal for a poor holiday sleeper like me
Also if you want to eat out O Lagar is a super restaurant on the Ohlhao road is well worth a visit.
Finally wi-fi is available throughout the hotel, for free

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WHD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Estoi and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for your evaluation, which we have shared with our staff. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PedroGuerreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank jorgeeantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suewestcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
6.0 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
977 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,605 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio Estoi

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Faro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Faro
Price Range: $110 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Palacio Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Palacio Estoi Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing