We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveler rating
483
386
130
55
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
483
386
130
55
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace dos sentidos new wing beautiful palace public rooms indoor pool modern addition modern extension roman ruins small village palace hotel orange groves main building superior room faro airport steam room fabulous views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The highlights of the Palacio are the gardens and the well appointed rooms that are enhanced with high quality woodwork. The service is wonderful and the breakfast plentiful and filled with delights. There is not that much to do in Estoi, so this is a place for those looking for a tranquil spot to recharge. The views from the hotel are calming and different at every time of day.

Room tip: All rooms face the ocean and even the basic room is beautiful.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Columbiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Orlando Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Pousada Palacio de Estoi is a small luxury hotel located in the quiet village of Estoi. You really need a car to make the most of your stay here as public transport is limited. The hotel has plenty of parking - a choice of underground parking with access operated by room key, or outdoor parking bays. (We hired a car from Centauro in Faro, which were reasonably priced and very organised - recommend them as a car hire firm. Book online before you go and they will arrange to meet you at Faro Airport). The Pousada is signposted in Estoi, just don’t be surprised when the signs direct you down a really narrow cobbled street, the hotel really is down there!

The hotel is a converted palace. A hint of its former splendour is displayed in three of the rooms, now used as seating for the bar and reading rooms, which have elaborate Rococo decorations, mirrors and painted ceilings. The bedrooms are in a purpose built modern wing, which due to thoughtful landscaping blends into the surroundings quite well. We initially had a room on the ground floor, but found it a little dark, so asked if we could be moved to a higher floor. We were subsequently upgraded to a superior room on the top floor, which had more natural light and was slightly larger than our previous room. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large, the bed is huge, and all rooms have a balcony, although your view will be dependent on what vegetation is growing outside your room. Rooms have a safe and refrigerator but no kettle or ironing board. Decent wifi is available.

The grounds are very impressive. Tourists visiting Estoi can view the gardens free of charge, and they are certainly worth a look with orange trees, gazebos, statues and beautiful flowers. There are a lot of steps though, so you need to be mobile to get the full benefit. Hotel guests also have the use of an outdoor and smaller indoor pool, sauna, spa and a small fitness room.

Breakfast is a buffet offering a choice of a cooked breakfast or continental. The cooked breakfasts weren’t so nice, so we opted for croissants or bread with ham, cheese and fruit most days. If the weather is fine, you can have breakfast on the outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens. The terrace is also a nice place for evening drinks watching the sun sink over the hill. Prices for drinks and snacks from the bar are reasonable for a hotel of this quality, but dinner is more expensive.

Staff are universally friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank DunelmArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Pousada de Estoi for your recent stay in Algarve, and for your great review.
It is really gratifying to learn that you truly appreciated the Pousada and the ambience, and that your experienced great service and hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your comments with our team.
All Pousada team will be looking forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon.
Best regards,
Orlando Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

A lovely small hotel which has a large rooms with a balconies. The hotel is beautiful to look at and just wonder around the gardens. The staff are attentive and friendly while giving the impression that nothing is too much trouble. Estoi itself is a pretty small village with a couple of place to eat. We only had breakfast in the hotel. We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We agree with you, our gardens and rooms are outstanding.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards,
Orlando Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Booked this online after joining the Pestana group hotel site which gives a discount to members and an additional discount for people of a certain age.
We were not disappointed, the location of the hotel within beautiful grounds gives panoramic views to the coast. It is located in the charming small town of Estoi with several bars and restaurants nearby offering tremendous value.
The service in the hotel is excellent, the staff are approachable and friendly.
The room we booked was a suite on the ground floor. Spacious with excellent bathroom facilities, an enormous bed with quality linens and towels.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant which as mentioned by other members is first class.
We will visit again but next time we shall hire a car at the airport as the local bus service is patchy and the taxi fare to Faro is approximately forty Euros return.
Overall highly recommended.

Room tip: Suites very good value.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Estoi.
We are glad you have enjoyed the pousada, location, restaurant and staff perofrmance.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Orlando Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful old building, amazing views, fabulous gardens and the old original features inside are fantastic. So it is with a great sadness that I say what a disappointing meal and what a disappointing ambiance the hotel has created. So bad I'm actually surprised it is classified as a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. The decor is totally unsympathetic to the era and the food was tough, unimaginative and expensive. Lovely service and building, the rest is a disappointment.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank CCohen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Estoi, Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review.
In fact it is based on the opinion and feedback of our guests, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousadas de Portugal.
Regarding your dinner, we really sorry about the inconvenience you have experienced, however, your comments have been already shared and discussed with the team.
Based on the positive notes of your stay, I do hope you give us another chance the next time you visit Estoi.
Sincerely,
Orlando Araújo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews