We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place ad excellent spot, friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent place ad excellent spot, friendly people”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Absolute must if you are in the neighbourhood of Faro. Beautiful place and surroundings, Good food, wine, perfect.
Village is nice, strategic location, beautiful views, pools tops, we stayed 3 nights in Palace enviroment with service.

Room Tip: have for diner the menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1962Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    271
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
112
462
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and what a lovely property! This little palace had a nice mix of old and modern- the gardens were just love ly to relax in. Do go to the restaurant for dinner as the choices in Faro town are very limited- the menu offers really good dishes! Breakfast was delicious and had a good mix of sweet and savoury options. Would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our second visit to the Pousada de Estoi and just as enjoyable as the first. Lovely room, very friendly staff, great breakfast and good quality food in the restaurant.
Even the wet weather didn't spoil our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavira
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have visited the Pousada many times but had not stayed there until we decided upon a 4 day stay over the Valentine weekend. We had to wait to be checked in (admittedly we were 30 minutes early but I have never been kept waiting before). We were told that the rooms were being made ´special´. I expected a rose or something special for Valentine´s Day, but this was not so. We had to ask for towels and bath robes for the spa area and for the sauna and Turkish Bath to be switched on (and on the second day, for the Turkish Bath to be repaired). The massages I had were excellent.

The rooms are superb and they are quiet. We also enjoyed the private veranda. The Palace rooms are lovely as is the Chapel and the grounds. The breakfasts were good. I love this place and with more proactive management and better perception of guests´needs then it could truly be paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely historic Palcio within minutes from the Algarve highway in Estoi, a beautiful little village. Still it is only 10 minutes from downtown Faro and the services there. The Palace contains the public rooms and the sleeping guest rooms are all in a new wing with free underground parking. Beautiful setting, pool and spa facilities although the gym is a bit lacking both in quality and quantity of equipment. The room itself (we had one of the three suites) was very modern and comfortable and all rooms have fabulous views of the coast. We enjoyed five nights and ate in the restaurant all but one night from the every changing daily 3 course menu that was very good. The breakfast buffet included sparkling wine and hot items and on request they cooked us egg whites....enjoy. Service and staff were excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6sandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We are staying in our motorhome near Tavira for the winter months. We decided to have a short break to visit the hotel & then visit the Roman ruins at Milreu nearby. We booked an all inclusive deal for a Valentine's treat. On arrival we checked in & booked dinner with the receptionist for 7.30pm. Our room was adjacent & below the old Pousada, it was very spacious, spotless & with a wonderful view via patio doors & balcony overlooking the gardens, an orange grove & down towards Faro & the sea. As we have found in Portugal so far, tea & coffee making facilities are not available in the room. The beds are extremely comfortable with superb bed linen. The room is air & temperature adjustable as desired. We were expecting a welcome cocktail & bonbons on arrival & went to Reception to organise it ourselves in the fabulously restored Salon.

We decided to have a swim in the pool at the Spa & to use the sauna & steam room. On arrival the place was deserted, so we changed & entered the tiny indoor pool, 5 strokes from one end to the other, but warm & clean. We were disappointed to find that neither the sauna, steam room etc or other advertised Spa facilities were switched on or available. This is off-season, but we've never found facilities switched off when, as guests, we are staying in a hotel. There are 2 lovely outdoor pools for the warmer months.

The old part of the hotel is an absolute delight & well worth a visit for a coffee/tea & a walk around to view the fabulously restored rococo murals & plasterwork. The gardens were restored to their former shape & style when the hotel was restored, however, they are currently sadly weed strewn & in dire need of some serious tlc. But this is Portugal & shabby chic is common.

Back in the room we had a call to ask if we'd like to book dinner! We thought we'd done this when we booked in.

We arrived for dinner at the restaurant. We were given menus but not advised what we were entitled to chose from the 2 set menus &/or the a la carte. We asked the waiter, explained we were on an all-inclusive. He went of to the phone, didn't come back & we waited. A waitress arrived to take our order, we explained again, she went to the phone & came back to say it was the set menu, which one we asked? More phoning, then we were given the choice. We ordered our meals. As part of the all-inclusive we could have a cocktail before dinner, this had to be explained again, then they arrived. A bottle of wine was included, this caused more consternation, but we sorted it & it was a good Portuguese rose.

The meals were typical Portuguese fare, well cooked, good portions & we were happy with them.

The buffet breakfast is well varied & excellent.

Altogether, it is a fabulous hotel, excellent rooms, great views & staff who are as helpful as they could be, given that communication with them seems to be a serious issue. When an offer is put on by the hotel chain, I would expect that the staff are well informed of the requirements of the guests to fulfil the brief. It appears this was not the case. I have mixed feelings about our visit, it could have been so much better if a large variety of small issues hadn't arisen.

The Roman ruins are just down the road through Estoi, cost 2€ per adult & take about an hour at the most to visit, well worth the time.

Room Tip: We had room 105, handy for the underground garage & super views. Very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We first came a few years ago after the hotel had just opened. Nice to see it's as good as ever: a successful blend of pretty little old palace with great modern architecture (the guest rooms) attached. It has all worn very well. The rooms are large, quiet and elegant with very private balconies/terraces. Super-size beds and amazingly comfy chairs that we'd buy for our home if they were on sale. Free wifi almost everywhere. Deep-carpeted quiet corridors lead to the rooms, with hardwood floors in the guest rooms and public areas. In January there weren't many guests - more at the weekend - which meant that the breakfast buffet was replaced by table service on slack mornings. What was offered was almost equally generous. There was a good value evening meal of the day which came to 46 euros for two, including some wine (maybe an extra glass, in fact). Without exception the staff were charming and hospitable. Estoi is handy for Faro airport but in another world - village, orange groves, gardens - even if the motorway is no distance away. It is easy to drive to the coast at Tavira or Olhao (seafood!), or up into the hills in half an hour, where you can walk on woodland trails or look around picturesque little towns. Highly recommended in all respects.

Room Tip: Low numbers on each floor (108, 206 and so on) mean you're closer to breakfast and the gym. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
6.0 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
952 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,571 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,074 reviews
5.5 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#19 of 28 in Faro
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 28 in Faro
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio de Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio de Estoi

Property: Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#1 Family Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio de Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Palacio de Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Palacio De Estoi Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing