We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guest House Sao Filipe
Ranked #15 of 22 Faro B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Much better than we were expecting”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

When we first arrived we were a little worried as the area around the guest house is very run down. However when we went into the hostel we were pleasantly surprised as it was light, clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us advice about places we could go and things that we could do as we hadn't a clue what we were going to do with our holiday. The lady even booked things over the phone for us and made sure we knew exactly where to be and what to do. The location was great, right near the town and actually we did not feel unsafe around the hotel as most of the people around the area were tourists like us. The room was great, you don't expect air con in budget accomidation and we had a lot of tv channels`to watch. It was cleaned daily and they even left little chocolates for us. The room was perhaps a little small but we didn't need it any bigger. It also had a nice terrace to sit on with reasonably priced drinks. It's not 5* but if you're holidaying on a budget it's great. The staff will go out their way to make sure you are looked after. Would recomend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliegirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
38
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised with the place. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was clean and had very good air conditioning. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the train station. The free wifi worked perfectl;y and the tv had a good selection of English language channels. Drinks are available from the reception and are well priced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Worst hostel on our entire portugal trip. We arrived there 2 hours later than we had said in the application (APPROXIMATE arrival), simply because the trip there took longer than we thought. When we came into the hostel our room was already given away and we got a reproachful look why we weren't there in time - and that after 8 hour driving and a really exhausting day. The guy at the reception then gave us a "left over" room in the backyard which was a 4 bed dorm room that reminded me of the installed tents with the field beds you find on camp grounds. There was no toilet paper and the water in the shower only ran off very slowly. Moreover you could not pay with credit or other card & the beds were the claqssical Portugal 1m80-short-beds.
Summary: i have stayed in Portugese hotels (even in the bigger cities) that were a lot cheaper and a lot better! Iam wondering how this hostel will be in the high season in summer if it is so crappy already now.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Faro hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I booked a room for myself and my nephew two weeks in advance but ended up in the room right next to the reception so every morning from 6am we were woken with loud voices from the cleaners etc who obviously couldn't care less if they woke you up.We stuck it for 3 or 4 nights and then left for another hotel.When I mentioned the shouting the receptionist put it down to 'morning and organizing '.It's a pity they do not show some consideration and do their 'organizing ' in lower voices.So if you do book here and do not specify a certain room you will probably end up in the same place as us which is OK if you do not mind being woken up at 6am.What annoyed me most was that people who had booked after us,including those who just walked in off the street,ended up in better rooms.We also asked for a room with a window in the bathroom but were told that none of them had windows but they told lies about this because a look at the hotel room plan clearly indicated bathrooms with windows.The shower room was so small that you really needed to be a contortonist to move around in it--I think the total area including the tiny shower tray was 12sq ft--just over 1sq mt.It wasn't even possible to lean forward slightly over the washbasin whilst cleaning my teeth or having a wash and I had to stand virtually upright.The shower room was tired and the shower itself was useless.The room was clean but that is all that the place had going for it.I will not be going again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKEWELSH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We spent in Sao Filipe 14 days. The guest house is situated 10 min. walk from citycentre in the quiet place. Room was small but clean. Airconditioning and TV were available in the room. Service was very good. Bus stop (to go to the beach) is 2 min from guest house. We really enjoyed our stay there and would like to go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Sao Filipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Sao Filipe

Property: Guest House Sao Filipe
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 55 10, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest House Sao Filipe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our establishment consists of eleven bedrooms where we offer you tranquility, with a warm and friendly atmosphere,providing our guests to the ultimate personalized service. This is without a doubt our most important attribute.Each of our rooms have ensuite bathroom, wifi, air dryer, cable TV, air conditioned and heating. We have alarm connected to the reception in all bathrooms and even the security system and detection of fire in the building. Breakfast can be taken just below the Guest House in a coffee shop on corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guest House Sao Filipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Sao Filipe Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing