We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Retro Hotel”
Review of Hotel Aeromar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aeromar
Ranked #7 of 22 Faro B&B and Inns
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming Retro Hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I loved this hotel the moment I stepped through the front door. Built in 1966 and apart from some 21st century touches such as Air Condition and Flat Screen TVs I doubt this hotel has changed very much. This to me made it all the more charming. Although I appreciate not to everyone's taste the bedrooms were furnished with solid wood albeit old furniture including a writing bureau. The bathrooms were small and old fashioned but I loved it. This hotel is only on 2 floors so no lift (not a problem for us). The rooms on the first floor have balconies that either look out over the beach or over the Ria Formosa. Very close to the airport (but not too close). The best thing about this hotel is the location literally across the road from a wonderful beach. Praia de Faro is something of a secret still. Plenty of bars and restaurants but the hotel has it's own restaurant with good quality food. The breakfast at the hotel has to be paid for separately (5 euros) but was excellent value for money with bacon, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs as well as good choice of fruit (included strawberries), yoghurts, home made cake, cheese, ham, bread, croissants etc. Very easy to get into Faro city via number 16 bus. The hotel has a timetable. Very friendly staff on the reception and in the restaurant. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony . . . first floor rooms have a view of either the sea or the river/air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
22
59
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family consisting of two small children stayed in the upper floor with a balcony facing the ocean. The hotel has potential to be great due to its location, however it was a huge disappointment and we couldn’t wait to leave. I was fooled by the positive reviews on this site.

PROs
• Great view of the ocean
• Close to the beach
• Cleaning staff provided a beach towel
• Kind staff except for one older lady
• Decent restaurant options near by

CONs
• Outdated and broken furniture – crooked bed, my child rolled off the bed during the night
• Bed was most uncomfortable I’ve ever used. I’d sleep on the floor if it wasn’t so cold during our 2 nights in June.
• No heat in the room, remote for A/C not provided
• No duvet just and old school blanket that had hair on it
• Old Lady at the front desk kept complaining to shut the front door and complained that my 2 YEAR OLD should wipe the sand off her sandals before entering the hotel.
• Washroom in Lobby is always locked and you must request a key
• No disposable soap provided - used shampoo bottle in the bath, used hand wash on the sink. How do I know if they were not contaminated by a previous guest?
• Cheap plastic toilet seat would not stay up on its own
• Cheap plastic shower hand faucet snapped when taking it out of the holder spraying water everywhere
• Breakfast was terrible. Eggs were runny with egg shells, no ketchup anywhere. Bacon looked sketchy. I ate fruit and toast, with tea. That’s all I found appetizing.

Room Tip: Don't bother going. But if you do, get the upper floor with the balcony facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh On Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Only stayed for two nights, but next time will stay longer. Perfect spot, between beach and lake, next to bridge, where buses stop to take you into Faro. This appears to be the only hotel on this island. If you are a sunbather or just like walking for miles on pristine, almost deserted white sand beaches, book it. Around a dozen bars all selling food are within walking distance, make this hotel perfect for a laid back stay. No frills in this hotel, but clean, with large beds, brilliant staff, especially on reception. Breakfast was only average, but enough choice to fill you up until lunch !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Early morning flight so a packed breakfast was provided night before,sandwiches,pain au chocolat,fruit and juice.

Dinner in hotel was excellent and service enthusiastic.

5 min drive to airport.

Nice location.

Room Tip: Swimming facilities in the Atlantic a 45 second walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yw928310d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed before catching an early morning flight. It is a lovely hotel in the best location you could want - sea on one side, estuary the other. Nice and quiet apart from the noise of the sea. OK, the furniture is a bit old, but who cares, at least the stuff is real unlike the office furniture most hotels use! Friendly staff, lovely little restaurant for a snack or full meal. Only one niggle, I was there in December and the water wasn't quite hot enough - otherwise excellent!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are warmer as they get more daytime sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over as it was near to the airport and meant that we didn't have to travel into Faro town. The hotel is between the sea and a lagoon so is an excellent location if you are interested in these. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony from which we could watch the planes land and take off - there were no overnight flights while we were there. Breakfast was very comprehensive, hot food, rolls, bread, yoghurt, cereal and fruit - far better than I have had in more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here yesterday and Saturday. Basic room bit dated but scrupulously clean. Obviously out of season and catered more for the owners mates than customers, try enjoying a quiet meal with a dozen locals watching football on the large screen in the dining room.
Having said that I would stay here again for the location alone. On one side is the ocean and on the other a beautiful estuary. The beach is across the road and Faro is a 2 € bus ride away.
The bus stop is 2 thirds across the estuary on the bridge, because the bridge cannot take the weight of a bus. You will be glad of this when you have walked a couple of hundred yards out to a stunning view of a beutiful feature.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevanson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
2.3 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeromar

Property: Hotel Aeromar
Address: N0 1 Avenida Nascente | Praia de Faro, Faro 8005-520, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeromar 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aeromar is located on Faro Beach, in the heart of Algarve and on the Natural Park of Ria Formosa (considered one of the 7 Natural Wonders of Portugal), one of the most pleasant places on the Algarve coast. If you are a nature lover, dont forget to bring your binoculars and your camera, because the Natural Park of Ria Formosa offers you unique images of rare beauty. Not only that... another reason to choose Hotel Aeromar is because its by the beach which stretches over 5 km of golden sand, only "one step away" from your room. Enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aeromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Aeromar Hotel Faro
Hotel Aeromar Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing