We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Vegetarian Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gengibre e Canela

Gengibre e Canela
Ranked #18 of 304 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful Vegetarian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stumbled across this wonderful restaurant when visiting Faro on a local bank holiday. The food (buffet) was incredible. With a choice of hot and cold dishes, every dish was amazing.
I would recommend this restaurant for vegetarians and non-vegetarians.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

A real surprise - and a delight and a relief - to find a 100% vegetarian restaurant in Faro. The lunch buffet costs E7.50 - eat as much as you like: what a bargain! I think all the dishes on the buffet were vegan and the food was fresh, tasty and healthy. Good variety, too. The owner was friendly, welcoming and helpful. I wish I had a vegetarian restaurant like this in my home town. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“healthy and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

during our stay in Faro, we enjoyed the vegetarian meals, with choice of warm and cold buffet;
special the dishes with tofu and seitan

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freespirit32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value and great flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my first time at a vegetarian restaurant and I have to say I was worried...but not for long because the first bite out of the nice lunch buffet this guys have just made go for more nad the price was also great value, under 8 euros...!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium-Aalst
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Healthy tasteful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have to say that the taste and freshness of the food at the lunch buffet (7.5euro) was excellent. Also the dessert based on ginger, apple and canel (that looked like chocolate mousse) was superb.
Only 1 tip to owner: do not play Beethoven (like 'alle menschen werden bruder') as it just feels akward.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xenohappenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gengibre e Canela also viewed

 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Gengibre e Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing