We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vegetarian”
Review of Gengibre e Canela

Gengibre e Canela
Ranked #16 of 318 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Vegetarian”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you like vegetarian food, this is a not to miss place in Faro, easy to find in center town, offers a good range of food and at a good price

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zonalgarve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    36
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb lunchtime buffet”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Like another reviewer, we went one evening hoping to eat there and realised that it only opens at lunchtime (between 12 and 3pm). The restaurant is quite small but has a buffet of hot dishes and salads for 6 euros. You can have soup as well for an extra 1 euro 50 and you can go back for second helpings. The food was absolutely delicious and incredibly healthy too. We were the only non-Portuguese people in there and it is obviously very popular with local people who were queueing up to wait for a table to become free. That is, in fact, the only downside; we didn't feel able to linger and chat after we'd finished eating as it was clear that there were many others wanting to have our table. That's testimony of just how good it is really. I wish there was something like this back home!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis with gourmet veggie food”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My son and I actually went in September 2010. I'm vegeterian, he eats meat & due to working hours often resorts to junk/fast food, Both of us were delighted by this beautiful, peaceful oasis in the heart of this busy resort. The waiter/owner emanates a feeling of calm. The food is delicious, prepared with care and love. We both had a tofu dish with grilled vegetables and a lightly spiced salad. For pudding we had a mango mousse which I think was made with soya or coconut cream. Anyway, the food was all vegan. My son was unused to that kind of food but was very impressed. I'll be going again next month (Oct 2011) with my other son who is a vegetarian like me and I'm sure he won 't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gayrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet place for a vegetarian lunch”
Reviewed January 14, 2010

There are no opening times on the door, so we first went there for an evening meal - but it was closed! At lunch time, the waiter seemed apologetic that he only served vegetarian food, but that was why we were there! The menu had not yet been written for that day, but the waiter/cook produced something very tasty within a few minutes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better than the tourist traps around Faro's centre”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We were looking for somewhere to eat in Faro's centre and most places appeared to be overpriced, tacky, noisy tourists traps serving everything from hamburgers, pizzas, fish and chips to the occasional Portuguese dish. We stumbled across this vegetarian restaurant by chance. It has a nice, relaxed atmosphere with low, chillout music and only a few tables. It offers a lovely buffet at a reasonable price which means you can eat quickly. The food was top quality vegetarian caseroles, cooked vegetables, soup and salads.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gengibre e Canela also viewed

 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Gengibre e Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing