We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner in a romantic setting.”

Restaurante 2 Irmaos
Ranked #91 of 307 Restaurants in Faro
Price range: $16 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: “2 Irmãos” Restaurant is located in Faro, Algarve,and it is a place where you can taste the local cuisine with an ancient knowledge of traditional gastronomy. In the city center, in downtown, it offers the more traditional recipes served with the most modern and demanding methods. Since its founding in 1925, this museum of the Algarve gastronomy has always been a reference in this town for its delicious food and excellent wine. The fish, the seafood’s and the succulent meats, all of them cooked with skill and passion by the chef Antonio Dias are the delight of food lovers from all over the globe who visit the capital of the Algarve. The Brasuna’s family, which owns the restaurant, makes sure your visit is a good time to remember. Visit us and discover with us the mystic of the ancient and the modern Portuguese dish’s. We are counting on you...
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dinner in a romantic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

A warm welcome and a delightful seating area in the back garden under a pergola and surrounded by papaya trees, roses and geraniums (in April!). We had the traditional Portugese meal of pork and clams and was absolutely delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnglandJay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    99
    47
    37
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

There are a few restaurants huddled together next to this attractive little square. We weren't sure which one to pick but we weren't disappointed that we chose Dois Irmaos. They have an extensive menu which includes fish, shellfish and meats. We started with a plate of clams - footery but delicious. I had cod and my wife had steak for mains and we were both satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank datkin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“strange and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice. The first visit impressed us -authentic decor and atmosphere , and what seemed like friendly service. There was a problem with our order , which didn't worry us as the monkfish and prawn kebabs were delicious. Decaffeinated coffee was awful, but we put this down to being in a restaurant and not a bar.
We returned the following evening- but the service was too erratic. The wine waiter wouldn't accept our order of a glass of red and a glass of rose house wine- when he brought a bottle of (unopened) rose on ice, I asked for two beers, to cut through the craziness. I don't think he liked that.
Further 'issues' around our order occurred- nothing big, but a bit of unnecessary kerfuffle , and twenty minutes between courses, seemingly being missed ! What seemed like 'kookiness' the first night, became a bit full on , from one waiter. The other waiter seemed quite sensible. My seafood spaghetti had ,I hate to say , a slightly dish watery taste- and was far inferior to spaghetti vongole I've eaten in Britain. My husband's spaghetti bolognese was tasteless and very dissappointing The chocolate mousse tasted like 'virol', to my husband . Much was made of the previous evenings mistake , including compensatory port- it was all a bit weird, and the holding open of the door for us on leaving , was not comfortable- and we hadn't complained at all!! We didn't go back the 3rd night - wish we had found Taska- looked far more authentic and low key !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor quality and VERY expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been here twice, and not willingly either time. The first was a group visit with a conference party, while this second time my daughter had been charmed into booking a table in the afternoon by the outrageously flirtatious waiters. The food is extremely ordinary and actually the paella is quite horrid: think bachelors savoury rice! Fish is not as fresh as other establishments and ridiculously expensive. Puddings were awful - either very very sweet concoctions or overpriced under-ripe fruit. I will not under any circumstances be making a third visit here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Lively Evening Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the best affordable restaurant we found in Faro. The seafood is lovely, it comes fairly quickly, and the waiting staff are very charismatic. There's a tank of lobsters and crabs in the window which is entertaining - especially when the waiter took a few out to 'introduce' them to us! He was very attentive all evening and even gave us 2 glasses of complimentary port at the end. (We gave him a big tip afterwards, though!)

Like most restaurants in the Med, the furniture, decor and menus are a bit cheap and tacky, but it's still worth going for the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaklands87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante 2 Irmaos also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante 2 Irmaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing