We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience; but we missed fado night”

Restaurante Centenario
Ranked #25 of 351 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional restaurante and fish restaurante. Live music on friday
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were only in Faro for one Friday evening, and we didn't realise until too late that this establishment features fado that evening. We were disappointed to have missed it. However, we had a pleasant meal at their outdoor tables - an unprepossessing-looking area, as it's situated on the junction between two streets, but we were agreeable surprised. Very friendly& helpful staff, particularly our waiter (who had spent many years in Holland). Next time we're in Faro, we'll make sure to visit on a Friday evening!

1  Thank Fionamarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantecentenari, Proprietário at Restaurante Centenario, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Boa noite. Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário. Quanto às sobremesas são feitas no restaurante mas derivado a fiscalização temos que ter todos os doces embalados com datas de validade.
melhores cumprimentos. Até à próxima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 393 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed lunch on a Saturday afternoon at this restaurant where both the food and service was very good.

I paid €36 + tip for a nice lunch for two with wine. Only slight negative was the house wine which was a little disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantecentenari, Proprietário at Restaurante Centenario, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Boa noite obrigado pelo seu comentário. Até uma próxima vez
melhores cumprimentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent one night in Faro and dinned out Centenario. The shrimp and monkfish kebab was very nice and I really enjoyed it. My husband got Portuguese style tuna steak, which was a bit tasteless. We were sitting outside, however there is life music inside every friday. Staff was OK, but could be a bit more friendly. Prices OK. Generally nice food and place, but nothing outstanding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank loveholidaysAllWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantecentenari, Proprietário at Restaurante Centenario, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário, pois só assim podemos melhorar.
Obrigado pela visita
melhores cumprimentos
Filomena Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant during our stay in faro in August. To be sincere we do not recognize ourselves either in the harsh criticism or in the outstanding ratings of previous customers. Service was average or a little less like in many other restaurants in town at this time of the year and food kind of below expectations both for product freshness and processing. Not a disaster but it could certainly be a better experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ren62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantecentenari, Owner at Restaurante Centenario, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário.
Quanto ao momento da sua visita em Agosto, e um pouco confuso em todos os restaurante no Algarve, pois é na época de muito turismo, não nos é possível dar tanta atenção aos nossos clientes. Quanto á frescura do alimentos quer no meu restaurante quer em qualquer um dos restaurante no Algarve todos os produtos são fresquíssimos pois a rotatividade , de alimentos é muito grande , logo todos os dias adquirimos produtos frescos, eu e todos os meus colegas da Restauração.
mais uma vez muito obrigado, pelo seu comentário e estarei mais atento a alguns pormenores, volte sempre até á próxima vez.. numa próxima vez terá uma oferta.
melhores cumprimentos
Filomena Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

my friend and I were looking for somewhere nice to eat in faro, we found this restaurant under some trees in the centre of faro town ,only 3 minutes walk from the marina.
we were shown to our table by the owner, after he told us about the specials on the board that day, my friend had the steak platter, and I decided on the cream of fish soup, while we were waiting we were presented with a superb tray of olives, fresh goats cheese and sardine paste tapas, with hand baked crusty bread, it was a nice way to start the meal.
we ordered a half bottle of a Portuguese wine recommended by the waiter, and it was so good we had it on the second night we ate there !!,the meal arrived after a short wait and there was certainly plenty of it, and it was well presented and looked delicious, and looks did not deceive.
I had the steak on a rock, cooked by myself, at my table on a red hot stone, this was the best piece of steak I have ever had, it melted in my mouth, it came with 4 different sauces and various additives to cook it with, the flavour was out of this world.
my friend had one of the specials and was not disappointed, it was a huge plate of meat with a salad and chip accompaniment, he loved every mouthful, but couldn't finish it all so I had a piece of the steak and it was lovely.
if you want somewhere to eat in faro, I can recommend this restaurant, both meals and wine came to a total of 37.50 Euros, a total bargain I would say.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantecentenari, Owner at Restaurante Centenario, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário , muito agradecida por ter gostado do nosso Restaurante Volte sempre, até á próxima vez
melhores cumprimentos
Filomena Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Centenario also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Centenario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing